Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 24 reviews from this member

The site I think was full but didn't feel too cramped. The play areas are very impressive and my children were happy and it felt safe. There was a barrier to get in and out and each car had a code to enter.

The dog walking area was large and my dog had a great time.

There is a cycle path that the kids enjoyed.

The washing sinks were small but manageable.

The toilets were cleaned regularly although again the bins got full fast and paper towels ended up all over the floor at times but this was due to our fellow campers.

The area was beautiful. We tended to go to Masham which was about a 10 minute drive and had some nice pubs. Ripon is very close.

I would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rhinosimon 3 reviews from this member

We last visited in 2007 and the owners have significantly invested in the facilities since then. The toilet and showers were clean and provision is good for the pitch numbers with no waiting. Showers are push button type but are hot and free so OK by me. There are also several washing up sinks with hot water. The sinks are a little small and there is not much space between to hold dirty and clean crockery but this is a small niggle.

The reception and pitching process was great with friendly informative staff and the site looked well kept with short grass and clearly marked and numbered pitches.

There are 2 play areas for the kids, fishing lakes and dog walks provided and the bar on site is very friendly with well kept Ale ( being almost within sight of Theakstons brewery it should be!). We ate Sunday lunch in the bar before leaving for home and the food was very good and the portions were yorkshireman compliment, we do like to feel that we have secured value for money.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area and a vist to Thorpe Perrow Arboretum and Falconry is highly recommended. A family ticket for 2adults and 3 children was 23.00 and provided a full day out with gardens, falconry displays, woodland walks, play area and plant sales all included.

Just a note of caution, follow the directions to the site carefully and do not try to take a caravan via Winksley. The lane is very very narrow and you won't pass. Come in via Grantley or Kirby Malzard and you will be fine.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda1 4 reviews from this member

Nice site but not near anywhere, because we went when it was quiet, the bar didn't open everynight (fair enough), but when we went for a drive out to find a pub we drove round for ages before we could find anything suitable.

There are 2 great playgrounds for the children and they loved looking at the hens and lambs in the field.

My only bug bear was the cleanliness of the toilets. We visited at a quiet time but the toilets were not cleaned for days, and even though there were not a lot of people using them I still felt they should have been cleaned everyday.

The staff were great and really helpful.

If you like the country you will love this site but unfortunately it was too far out for us to visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robd1 6 reviews from this member

Large site, but divided up well so it doesn't feel like it. Great location for plenty of attractions and places to go. Restaurant was great. Kids liked the playground and space in the middle of the field. Staff very friendly on check in, but never saw anyone else again around site, so whilst we were given a list of rules on arrival no-one seemed to bothered about whether anyone kept to them.

Sinks at washing up facilities waste of time as they're far too small and could do with some cold taps. Toilet block got very muddy after a day of heavy rain, which is understandable but there was no great rush to clean them, and they ran out of bog roll in the toilets. Rubbish was over flowing all the bins all the time when we were there.

To be honest, OK place but doubt we'd go back.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Glampers 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this site twice now and will be going again. The staff are friendly and the toilet block and showers always clean with lots of hot water.

There is a fishing lake and dog walking areas around the site. Lots of play areas for the kids and open space for ball games kite flying etc.

Limited electric hook ups for tents so book early if you want one. There is a great little bar/ pub on the site it is very small though, it also serves great food at reasonable prices but again you need to pre-book at busy times due to the limited space.

There is also a small shop for basics. Would recommend the local pub the Halfmoon at Fellbeck short drive away (great food).

Lots to do locally Ripon, Studley Royal, Pateley Bridge and Harrogate all within easy reach.

Will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jules134 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site with friendly staff. Lots of room for the kids to run around without disturbing anyone. Lovely playground clean and safe for the kids.

Bar/restaurant does lovely homemade food, but be warned gets busy so you need to book. Was freezing the weekend we were there so we used the television room upstairs in the barn which also had some games for the kids to play with.

Toilets and showers immaculate and central to the whole staff. Reasonably priced and set in a gorgeous location with lots to do, we visited forbidden corner which is an absolute must, Ripon was lovely with the cathedral and James Herriots home town was also worth a visit really interactive whci kept my 4 and 7 year old amused.

Will definitely be going back to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gerard + Karen 6 reviews from this member

We have visited this site many times over the years. The owner / staff are just as friendly and helpful as they have always been. The toilet blocks are kept clean and tidy.

There were some changes since the our last visit. The most noticeable is the introduction of barriers to control access to the pitches. You are given a code number to operate the barriers. These barriers do not operate between 11:30pm and 8am. If you need use of your car between these times, you have to park in the car park at the entrance and walk to / from your pitch.

There still seems to be a drainage problem on the site. When we arrived it hadn't rained for almost a week but the ground was still sodden. The time it took to unhitch the caravan was long enough to let the car sink into the grass. We need help to get the car out again. Despite a couple of days of sunshine we couldn't get the caravan off the pitch without assistance.

Ignoring the problems with the sodden pitches, it is nice site with helpful staff and is well worth visiting.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blitzz 1 review from this member

I visited this campsite the Back end of August, it was one of many visits, I have been going to this lovely campsite for 5 years.

The pub/restaurant is good, the food cannot be faulted, it was delicious. There is a converted barn with a pool table downstairs, then upstairs there is a TV, some games and also a huge chess board, it is a good place for the kids when it is raining.

There is a laundry room with Washing machines, Dryers and ironing board, the washing-up area could do with more sinks. The toilet block is outstandingly clean, the showers are normally warm, but they would be good if they stayed on instead of having to keep pressing the button, there are plenty of sinks. There is a hair dryer and two hand dryers.

The shop/reception is brilliant and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

There are lots of walks and lots of places to visit, we have visited Brimham Rocks, Forbidden Corner, Aysgarth Falls, Ripon Races, lightwater Valley Theme park, Wensleydale Cheese Factory, Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal. There is a lovely pub/Restaurant called The Queen's in Kirby Malzeard, where they do lovely Curries.

All in all I think this is a marvellous site, I would recommend this site to anybody, specifically Families. I will definitely be returning very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richard1578 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful place stayed for 1 night very tidy and lovely people nice people to deal with we stayed on as a break from driving on our way home from Thriftwood holiday park in Kent (Please look that place up) Bach to here. We arrived a little late but was not a problem for them they was very understanding.

The next morning we had to leave early but was not a problem for them.

If your looking for a nice campsite for a break away then this is a really god place to go

Great local amenities and easy to find we will be staying again

Great Campsite

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coffee18 5 reviews from this member

We returned to Woodhouse bringing friends with us and everything was as good as it was on our earlier visit.The children loved it with plenty of space for them to run around and play safe on the climbing frames.
We prebooked a table at the restaurant for the 12 of us (remembering how busy it gets)we were not disappointed with the food or service,in fact they went out of their way to accommodate one of the party who's request was not on the menu,very reasonably priced and good quality food.
The toilet and showers were kept very clean,always plenty of hot water,the only drawback is only have a small pot wash station,so we used our sinks.
We never ventured of site as we did it last time. We shall definitely be back and recommend the site to anyone

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019