Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ethan0796 16 reviews from this member

Just returned after spending an extended bank holiday at the site. Have mixed feelings about the site. Will mention good and bad. But I guess it's personal preference.

When completing the booking I requested a large pitch that was in a quiet area near to facilities. The pitch we were allocated was 94- large pitch but not the greatest- huge tractor wheel divets in the middle of the pitch, which we couldn't avoid. Other pitches around us appeared ok though.

Large area in front of the pitch for children to play ball games etc- great idea as the area is huge and this avoids children being told off for hitting vans & tents etc. My children really enjoyed joining in with football & rugby, all children appeared well behaved and very friendly unlike some sites- where children who have seasonal pitches have been known to be nasty to children just visiting for the weekend. For me the pitch was too far away from the amenities and would have preferred to have been allocated a pitch closer to the facilities block.

New pub has a cosy and relaxing feel to it, but I thought the cost of the food & drinks was expensive. We ordered fish & chips and pizza for the children and it was horrid. I actually felt sick after eating the fish and the chips were huge and hard. The pizza came in a little takeout box so was expecting a lovely homemade pizza. What we got was a cheap nasty frozen tomato pizza with a light sprinkle of cheese that my husband noticed them get from the freezer. Just round the corner there are lovely pubs serving some lovely fresh food- We went to the Galphey Inn just 10min away and the food was excellent for the same cost, so I would highly recommend The Galphey instead.

The shower/toilet facilities are cold and need heating but this didn't help with having the windows open all the time, day and night. But they always appeared clean. But who wants to get undressed when the building is like a fridge! The toilet tissue dispensers are rubbish and the paper falls out everywhere. Resulting in the floor always having toilet tissue in the cubicles- this must be a nightmare for the cleaners. The showers are push button and this drove me mad. I had to push the button over 30 times just to have a shower and wash my hair. Yes I have long hair. But it was also frustrating whilst I showered my youngest son. We even counted to see how long before we had to push the button again. 10 seconds. Which is ridiculous! My husband & eldest son also mentioned how disgusting the gents smelt. My son eventually refused to go in and opted to use the single toilet near reception. But this wasn't always possible as it was locked. Knowing my son. This may have been because someone was in there! My hubby said it smelt terrible all the time we were there. And if I had been aware of this I would have mentioned this to staff, but my son only mentioned it on the way home.

The washing up area is fine with plenty of sinks, but again push button tap which I hate.

The reception staff I felt were a little hostile which I was surprised at due to the friendly tone in the emails when making the booking.

The children's activities are great as they have indoor and outdoor activities including badminton and table tennis- where you need to purchase the bats. Not hire. So the site does cater for our lovely British weather, so this got a huge thumbs up from us.

The shop in reception is poor and very small with very little to purchase-this really needs to be extended to cater for the site.

Overall we had a nice break, but I wouldn't return to this site for the reasons mentioned above. We also had our dog with us and the majority of local attractions except Fountain Abbey. Don't allow dogs, so again this is a deciding factor for us as a family, when choosing a site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helenrory 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights mid- week in the school holidays with husband and 2 primary age children.

Advantages

*Very spacious. Large pitches (non electric). The electric tent pitches were up near the main buildings and seemed more cramped however

*pub with takeaway and pre- orderable breakfasts. We didn't use this service but the food sounded great (British fayre)

*Clean and tidy shower / toilet blocks. The cleaner was in there in the mornings and was very thorough. There is even a small bath in a cubicle within the ladies.

*You could go for a decent length walk within the campsite perimeter through woods, around lakes

* Very friendly and professional staff.

*A couple of small playgrounds. The one for older kids was ideal for my 6 and 9 year old girls however it was a bit muddy under foot.

*Recycling was collected from your tent every morning. This was great as it meant fewer trips to the refuse points.

*Although the site is only about 5 miles from Ripon, it is quite remote. This was great at night for seeing the stars and listening to the owls hooting at each other.

*There is so much room for children to run around.

* All the children seemed to be very well- behaved and considerate, as were the parents.

*you don' t feel like you are on top of other pitches.

Disadvantages

Can't really list any major issues

A great campsite which seems to be managed really well with all necessary facilities. We can't wait to come back again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

We visited the site as Part of Yorkshire Camping group meet.

The site is a large ish site and has a small shop, well stocked and a pub on site which is reasonably priced and severing lovely hot food (didn't sample it but saw many dishes coming out). There is also a barn which the group used for its main evening but in general use it has free games (table tennis etc. ) and space for the kids to play in during poor weather.

The EHU was spot on and unlike many sites well spaced so you got a nice big pitch. The only negative was it was (where we pitched) a fair old walk to the toilets etc. These were kept clean and ideal.

Whilst the site does slope it's gentle enough to find a nice flat pitch and it is kept to a high standard.

The site owners and staff are on hand and do everything they can to make your stay a positive as possible and we wished ever site could be as positive.

There is lots of outdoor space for children to run around and play but the outdoor play area is a little basic. The site is in the process of improving.

Overall a really nice site and one we hope to return to and see the improvements, thank you and well done Woodhouse.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newodyssee 6 reviews from this member

Large pitches, well maintained grounds. Toilets could have done with more regular cleaning, though we did have rain while we were there so the floor became wet and muddy quickly. Big positive was the barn for children, which included a table tennis table, snooker table, table football and a climbing wall. This was very popular with our children on wet days. Good outdoor play equipment as well for all ages. Didn't use 'The Barn' restaurant but it looked popular. Night warden who asked us to be quiet at 10. 30pm- fair enough as we have young kids ourselves and appreciate campsites need to be quiet after dark. However, he could have done with doing another round as a tent close to us was noisy until the early hours- somewhat annoying as we had followed instructions. Excellent places to visit nearby- Fountain Abbey was beautiful, plenty to do in Ripon itself on a rainy day.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hotch 6 reviews from this member

This is my third visit to Woodhouse Farm.

Easy to find just 3. 5 miles from Ripon. Booking was easy, we stayed with friends in a tent and were able to pitch next to each other, us hardstanding and them on grass. All pitches are VERY generous and there is a lot of space around the site. The field we were in, has pitches on the outer edge and large space in the middle for kids to play. There are 2 play areas, one near the restaurant/pub suitable for young children then another in one of the fields suitable for older kids. There is also an indoor play area with, large chess, pool table, table tennis, a climbing wall and some mini tractors for little kids. The shop is small but has essentials.

Showers are good, clean and hot. Toilets are again clean and always had plenty of toilet roll. My only negative would be that depending on where you are pitched you could be quite a walk to the shower/toilet block and the elsan/grey water point. I wouldn't let this put you off though as this is a gem of a site.

There is a bike ride route round the fishing lake suitable for little ones.

A great afternoon out for the kids would be a visit to Brimham Rocks which is a 15 min drive away.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lollipop16 4 reviews from this member

Had a lovely long weekend stay at this site with friends using a tent with electric.

The site has a number of seasonal pitches but also 2 large, open camping fields and a smaller one near the wash block, there was a school group pitched up near the office away from the main site but we didn't come across them at all. My only negative is in regard to other campers driving too fast around the site where there are children on bikes and playing, it didn't appear to be monitored but neither did we bring it to anyone's attention during our stay.

We were pitched in the far paddock which was fab, the whole field slopped very slightly but most pitches are level. All pitches (mixed tents and caravans) are around the edge which left a huge space in the middle for the kids, brilliant! Very quiet, all the pitches were well kept and grassy.

The staff were really friendly, the kids could explore the whole site on their bikes and it has a large wooden climbing structure and a playbarn with table football, bouldering wall etc. We ate in the pub on site and the food was fresh, arrived with a smile and was reasonably priced. Can also recommend the Grantley Arms, a 5 min drive for Sunday lunch.

We live locally and will use this site again, lovely location, really near Fountains Abbey and gorgeous countryside, could have done with a little more sunshine but accept that is beyond anyone's control!

Would recommend a visit if you like a well run, reasonably ordered site with minimal and sensible rules, bathrooms, wash up were really clean and it was lovely and quiet.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Armstrmj 8 reviews from this member

Great! We have stayed here a number if times and even left the caravan for the week to save us towing it home. 1. 15 per night! Facilities are good, play parks, ponds, fishing, playing fields, pool table, table tennis, and a pub/restaurant. All good!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slander1 8 reviews from this member

Visited this site over the Easter Holidays. It's a site we've been meaning to visit since getting our van a few years ago.

We arrived following a bout of heavy rain which left the entire site waterlogged. The pitches were looking very tired and none of the fields ready for the season ahead bearing in mind the site had just opened its doors for the 2016 season.

The biggest disappointment was the fishing lake which was undergoing a major development and so you could not get anywhere near it let alone fish in it. The smaller accessible pond we were told was also void of fish due to the otters which had got them all.

This was one of the main reasons we booked this site and felt all those who booked should have received notification of this.

The water points around the site are sparse and the grey water and Elsan point a considerable walk from the field we were pitched in.

The journey to the site is off the beaten track and not for new or nervous caranvanners.

Will we return again. Not a chance.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dragonsprisoner 4 reviews from this member

A quiet and relaxed site within easy travelling distance of Ripon.

After a very easy check in we were given a map, our barrier number and directed to our pitch. Pitches are of a good size -plenty of room for our Kalahari 10 and an estate car to fit.

Our son soon disappeared to check out the play forts and playbarn. A big thumbs up from him! The play barn games (table tennis etc) requires a small deposit (refundable if no damages) for bats etc.

Toilet block was clean and tidy. After a heavy downpour the floor was a bit dirty from muddy footwear but seemed to be cleaned promptly once the rain stopped.

The small bar/restaurant was nice with good customer service. Food was nice and reasonably priced.

Good places to visit nearby were Brimham Rocks (great for kids to burn off energy climbing rocks - be warned there is a 5 parking fee, though) and Middleham Castle.

The only downside we can see to this site is if you're pitched in the middle or bottom paddock there's a bit of a trek to the facilities and ground may get a little boggy if there's a lot of rainfall.

Would recommend and definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LEEMTAYLOR 1 review from this member

Visited this site and was impressed from the start.

The access was a bit tight on the final section getting but it was fine as I easily got my 2. 5mtr wide rig over the narrow bridge. The roads are narrow getting there but again fine.

The staff are friendly and the pitches are of good size and the site is well kept. The kids enjoyed the play area and the dog walking area is nice. The other weekend residents were pleasant and friendly.

The site facilities are clean and the staff attend to them constantly through the day.

All in all it is well worth a visit.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2206 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019