Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 15 reviews from this member

Just returned from Woodhouse Farm 3nts stay,

First time at this site.

The site is very clean well maintained, shower & toilet block spotless plenty hot water.

Pub on site serves meals(Bit Pricey)nice pint of John Smiths.

3 children's play areas.

The pitches are large.

Games room with football table, tennis table, pool table, climbing wall, TV.

The only downside is the narrow winding roads to the site, make sure you follow the instructions on the website.

All in all a good site very helpful staff will return.

Plenty to do around and about Ripon, Brimham Rocks, Fountains Abbey, ect ect.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustywatt 4 reviews from this member

Decided to book this site for a 2 night stay on the recommendation of some friends who have a caravan on site. Take heed of the directions given on the website. We were ok in a small car but for anyone with a caravan, some of the roads are a no go.

We camped in the middle paddock with a tent, 2 adults, 3 kids and a dog for 48 which was good. Have paid lots more at other sites.

Plenty of open places for the kids to play as well as 2 playground areas for the older kids.

Didn't eat in the restaurant as had our own things but the food is meant to be good.

As others have commented, the sinks are a bit on the small side which makes it tricky. Toilet block is great but could be cleaned a bit more regularly at busy times.

Plenty to do out and about nearby. Brimham Rocks is on the doorstep. We went to Druids Temple up in a village called Ilton. Great for young kids who like climbing and exploring.

All in all a great stay and will definitely be going back again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark1010 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for one week commencing on the Jubilee weekend. We found the site easily following the directions on the web site.

The site itself is impressive, surrounded by beautiful countryside, in a good location with no road noise and the staff were very helpful.

The site had its own shop but we travelled for fifteen minutes by car to Ripon where there is a Sainsburys supermarket.

We did use the bar on site and found the prices very reasonable. Being the Jubilee weekend the site was full and this unfortunately highlighted the two weaknesses of this site.

The nice new toilet block is not big enough to cope and queuing for the toilets and the showers was a daily occurrence. Also being the only toilet block on the site despite the staff being in there several times a day they struggled to keep them clean.

The second issue was the washing up facilities were also insufficient with the site being full and the sinks are too small.

Having paid 144 for six nights without electric hook up I expected adequate facilities.

Despite the terrible weather the pitches did not get too muddy and there was plenty to see and do nearby to take our minds off the constant rain.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will definitely return and would recommend the site but not on a bank holiday weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keith5637 12 reviews from this member

When approaching the campsite make sure you follow the instructions on the web site or you may struggle with the narrow lanes.

On arrival at the site we received a warm welcome and directed to our pitch. The staff where really helpful and placed our van on the pitch with her tractor as it had been raining really hard for the last couple of days. There is a coded barrier for security a shop which sells bread, milk etc. Showers/toilet block are warm with loads of hotwater modern and clean.

There are three areas for the kids to play a climbing frame, small park and a large park and playing fields and not to forget the games room with table tennis, TV, football table and pool table.

The Barn, Which is a small pub on site that also sells food (a little pricey).

There is a washing up area for campers and alike, laundry reasonable prices.

There are grass and hardstanding pitches

Most seem to be level with EHU.

Tv reception is good, phone signal not so good.

Overall this is a good site that I would recommend to family and friends.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+family 3 reviews from this member

Back from a cold May weekend in our family tent(older kids) with EHU at this lovely quiet site. Nice people and clearly they are making significant efforts to add facilities. The site is generally very flat and nicely grassed.

Toilets etc all very clean and modern, but one gripe is the washing up area. The sinks are the size of toilet hand wash basins, you can't even get a normal sized plate in. Only a small number as well, a site of this size and quality should have better.

The bar / restaurant is quite excellent but small & popular so you need to book. The food, whilst not cheap, is well above pub grub standard and served by cheery staff. Good value for money we thought.

One issue (& not just for this site) is that sites who 'do not allow groups' seem happy to accept rowdy teenagers on DoE expeditions. Fine if you chose to do so - it is your business, but PLEASE PLEASE do site them away from families, especially those with young kids. It's fine having a noise policy but if it is not enforced there is no point!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trudywallace 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here on a very very cold May weekend, but have already rebooked we liked it that much. We were told where our pitch was, but this was already occupied, so the site booking system may need upgrading. Happy with the pitch we were allocated after a return to the office.

Site was very spacious, loved the fact that the tents were around the edges in the bottom two fields so lots of space in the middle for the kids to play but within your sight.

There are three kids play areas, a fort, a metal frame and a small play frame for younger kids, all in very good condition. There also appeared to be pool table, a TV and other things for them but it was too cold to stop out late at night to explore them.

The toilet blocks are clean, plentiful and warm. There was one hairdryer that was broken, so would have been nice to have an area with plug points for your own dryer.

The sinks for washing up were very small, not ideal for washing up in and very little space. On the plus site the water was always nice and hot.

We did not visit the pub as the meal looked pricey, but was assured that they were very good. My husband was tempted by the Black Sheep beer.

The little shop was opened a few hours a day and was ideal for kids to buy lots of sweets :)and emergency supplies.

We could not get to the lakes as the entrances were very muddy when we visited, but looking forward to exploring these when we return.

Although the site says they do not accept groups, there were several while we were there and they were all very noisy. Did point this out to the site staff who made a note and they would be careful about booking them again, not about asking them to be a little quieter after midnight !

The site is just around the corner from Fountains Abbey, Brimham Rocks is just 15 minutes away and Ripon is lovely for shopping. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area and willing to give lots of advice.

Take advice about the Sat Nav route is it very narrow and not suitable for caravans or larger cars.

Nice, clean site, with lots of facilities, kids looking forward to going back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scb2 10 reviews from this member

We camped here for 3 nights over the may bank holiday weekend with friends (3 tents in total)

The site was really clean and quiet and the children loved the play area and games room.

The showers were warm and we never had to wait although the site was busy. Within the ladies block was a room with a small child sized bath, sink and toilet. Fantastic for younger children who don't like showers.

We had an EHU pitch and on 2 of our nights the electric did cut out a few times but the owner and warden sorted it as soon as they were told, it was a bit frustrating but did seem to be only 2 electric towers that were new to the site and they were very apologetic, it certainly wouldn't put me off returning to this site.

We had a lovely day out to brimham rocks that was only about 15 minutes away by car.

There was a small bar/ restaurant on site which we didn't use so cannot comment but the site shop was stocked with the basics and reasonably priced.

The wash up area had warm water and there was also a launderette that we used to dry towels.

Will definitely return to this site x

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebaths 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great week here. This is our 3rd time this year and it was much quieter than usual - no tents. This meant less children for little one to play with but still we all had a good time.

The Halloween weekend was fabulous, great fun, from buggy racing to sheep racing, BBQ and karaoke in the bar at night. All the kid's made an effort to dress up, and some of the adults too. Many of the caravans were trimmed up and looked great.

We rounded the week up with a lovely roast in The Barn before setting off on the twisty roads home. Thanks to all the staff, will be back next year.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

2 x adults + 2 x dogs

Site is vast and spacious, enough toilets and showers and facilities are clean. Most pitches seemed level throughout the site. Excellent little pub on site and the food was delicious and surprisingly cheap. There is a designated dog walk/field for free running exercise.

We found this site to be in a beautiful setting, but found the country roads a little nerve racking getting to it and as we like to get out and about, they quickly became a pain driving around to get in/out each day, which is a shame.

Would I use this site again??. Probably not with the caravan, because of the roads, but without the caravan, I would travel to it just to eat at the pub.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey6776 1 review from this member

Spent the August bank holiday weekend here with another couple and we had a fantastic time! The site was full however there were plenty of toilets and warm showers so this wasn't a problem. The site is well maintained and the staff are very friendly. We booked a table for the Sat night and the 4 of us had a beautiful well cooked meal followed by bingo! Friday night was the quiz and Sunday was karaoke. We enjoyed it so much we are returning with our children.

Getting there-follow the directions on the website and you can't go wrong.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2251 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019