Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsbmw 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights after a recommendation from friends. We were not disappointed. A lovely big site with smashing facilities. The toilet and shower block were very clean as was the whole site. A small shop to buy the essentials and a very nice restaurant and bar. Not too far from Ripon and surrounding attractions meant you could go off for the day without too much travelling. All in all a very nice place to stay. We shall certainly visit again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

Fabulous site!

We spent 3 nights here with our young family and had a great time.

It is quite a large site with several nice play areas for the children. Our 3 had a fab time making lots of new little friends.

The toilets/shower rooms were spotlessly clean.

The washing up area is good with plenty of sinks and another little play area for the kids while they are waiting!

There is a fishing lake and big dog exercise field.

There is a bar/restaurant and although we just had a drink the food did look nice. There is also a games room which occupied the kids when the weather wasn't so good.

The area is lovely and there is lots to see and do.

We also thought that this site was great value for money. We paid less than we have at other sites with half the facilities. We'll definitely be going back next year.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crossfire 15 reviews from this member

Just stayed for 2 nights at Woodhouse with the wife and 2 kids 6 and 3 years old. Site large with a mix of tents, tourers and some statics. We had a pitch on the family field. We went with another 2 couples and there children, we were given pitches next to each other which was good but this was at the furthest point away from the showers and wash up area so it was a bit of a trek.
We had planned to eat in the pub the first night and weren't aware you could reserve a table. By the time we got in there it was fully booked and so we had to rush off into Ripon to find a Take away. Pappa Joes Pizza Take away very nice would recommend. It is the first one you come to when driving round the one way system in Ripon.
Campsite ideal for a visit to Fountains Abbey as it about 2 mile away. The toilets were clean and the showers hot all the time.
Only one criticism was the lack of washing facilities, 3 sinks for a '54 acre site' is a little on the thin side.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marshalldd 20 reviews from this member

This was our visit to this site over the bank holiday weekend. We have read all the reviews and we were not disappointed.

We had two adjoining pitches which were huge on the bottom field.The play area was great and allowed the youngest of our party (5 and 8) to have some freedom.

You will find all the facilities you need and all at a high standard.

The staff in reception and the shop were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The campsite has a small bar which was cosy and the staff where very polite. We don't normally go to sites with a bar but this one was fab just small enough and no quizzes or family entertainment. You can also eat in the bar we didn't but the food we saw looked and smelled fab.

There is a indoor barn next to the bar with a pool table, TV and a variety of games which meant our four older boys were happy.

The fishing lake is lovely although a little overgrown but it is a lovely setting.

We took a dog and there are a lot of walking areas on the site. We wondered around the fishing lake, the cycle track and there is also a field that they run in.

We visited Lightwater vally which is about 15 minutes away. There is a kennels in winksley which we used for the day so if you are taking a dog this is ideal.

The verdict of all the children (we had six, two girls and four boys) was this was the best site they had visited.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ceejaypb 1 review from this member

I can highly recommend this site. It was peaceful, spacious (with huge pitch sizes), superb play areas for the kids, pleasant and helpful staff, the location was perfect, the Barn (the on site pub / restaurant) served fantastic food and the toilet block was clean and pleasant to use. We didn't really use the shop very much but it had the basics.

My one and only gripe is that the toilet block was a long way from our pitch which, if you need the loo in the middle of the night, is pretty inconvenient. I would have thought that there should be another toilet block as the site is plenty big enough to justify it.

We are definitely considering going back to Woodhouse Farm next year.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LOLA09 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site.
Lovely warm welcome, we were shown to our pitches despite torrential rain on arrival.
Great facilities on site, plenty of warm showers and toilets in a very clean block.
Launderette with iron, washer and dryers.
Great playground and games area, tv room for the kids.
Lovely very well stocked shop with everything youi would need.
The barn pub is lovely. We had a great Sunday lunch here, which you need to book for as it is quite small.
All in all great site, we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CazCam 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed at Woodhouse for 2 years running now. It is a very well run site with friendly owners and staff, nothing is too much trouble. The pitches are a good size, we pitched on the bottom field (pitch 009) and it was great as we could watch the kids on the new wooden playfort and relax. The site is well set up for the little ones and our two loved the 3 play areas and making dens in the bushes.
We never had to queue for showers as they don't take advantage (like some sites do) and overcrowd the site, there is always plenty of open space. I understand they are hoping to extend the on site pub / restaurant for next year and are building a new play barn for the children. We also used the family bathroom which you can book to use for 2 and it was very clean. There is so much to do in the area, wish we could have had another week there.
We booked tickets for the Forbidden Corner near Middleham which was the highlight of our holiday. Also visited Aysgarth Falls, Bolton Castle, Brimham Rocks, Ripon which has good shops including Sainsburys in the Market Square to stock up!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

We stayed in 2 pitches for 4 nights - 1 family of 2 adults 1 small child (6yrs), 1 family of 2 adults and 2 small children. The site was nice - very big, pitches were very big and accommodated our 8 berth tent, plus gazebo, etc. No problem. Staff were stern - but friendly enough.

Quite a few wasps knocking about - but its expected really at that time of year (take some sting cream as a few of us got stung).

Toilets and showers were clean - I didn't have to queue (but the site wasn't too busy) - we did have to queue for washing up every time we went because there were only 3 sinks which was probably my only gripe bearing in mind the size of the park.

At night, there was also an owl hooting away and lots of other strange animal noises - all part of the rural location.

There were 3 play areas for kids - all in different areas and they always seemed popular. Plenty of space for playing games such as cricket etc. There were 2 fishing lakes and I had a couple of hours on them - no bites whatsoever and the general feedback was pretty much the same.

There is a barrier system that you get a code for.

The barn bar and restaurant seemed nice - didn't really use it other than to buy bottles of wine when we ran out - 8.50 a bottle - not too bad a price really - better than going out in the car to the nearest shop.

There is also a kids play room near the bar but we didn't use it so don't know what it was like.

There is a small shop on site that was open 9.00am - 5.00pm ish. Not big but it sold beer, and all the usual requirements - sausages, papers, toys, bbq coal etc.

No pubs within walking distance, ripon town doesn't offer much for families, Pateley Bridge was nice - play area for kids, a river, nice pub called the crown which did decent food with excellent service, harrogate is 1/2 hour away, again there didn't seem much to do for kids (apart from decent sweet shop).

All in all, the site is large enough to spend your day there.

The weather wasn't the best when we were there and it rained quite a lot. Drainage was good though, and it didn't get too windy as we were sheltered near some trees.

Would we go again? Yes definitely - the area is very nice - but hopefully we will go again when the sun is out.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iantib 3 reviews from this member

This is a good campsite & we enjoyed our visit. We had a pitch down by the bottom kids playground. Good pitch although the previous tent's had killed off the grass completely so we were partly on a mud patch. Our kids loved it & we struggled to get them to go off site.

The pot washing facilities were good. The shower block was clean although the showers were push button type ones so you couldn't change the temperature & they weren't as hot as I would have preferred.

The barn was good although not utilised enough. Nice beer though & the food was good.

We would definitely book again. The roads leading to the site are a bit narrow so take care.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bridgfordposse 3 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip in about 20 years and the main difference was the addition of two small and extremely excited little boys. The reception staff were very friendly but they seemed a bit disorganised- they may have been training new staff. We were shown to a lovely flat pitch near the play area at the bottom of the tent field.
It was a short walk uphill to the toilets and showers and the facilities were ok- not as clean as they might have been, but we did have torrential rain one night which created a few muddy puddles which didn't help.
I wouldn't recommend the area we were in to anyone who wants to put little ones to bed as it was very noisy with both children and parents playing until 11pm. It may have been quieter elsewhere on the site.
We didn't use the restaurant because we were too busy playing with our new pots and pans! Nearby Fountains Abbey is beautiful with loads of space for picnics and Brimham Rocks are amazing and a must if you have any budding rock climbers with you.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019