Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
                9/10 from 171 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gerard + Karen 6 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site many times over the years. The owner / staff are just as friendly and helpful as they have always been. The toilet blocks are kept clean and tidy.

There were some changes since the our last visit. The most noticeable is the introduction of barriers to control access to the pitches. You are given a code number to operate the barriers. These barriers do not operate between 11:30pm and 8am. If you need use of your car between these times, you have to park in the car park at the entrance and walk to / from your pitch.

There still seems to be a drainage problem on the site. When we arrived it hadn't rained for almost a week but the ground was still sodden. The time it took to unhitch the caravan was long enough to let the car sink into the grass. We need help to get the car out again. Despite a couple of days of sunshine we couldn't get the caravan off the pitch without assistance.

Ignoring the problems with the sodden pitches, it is nice site with helpful staff and is well worth visiting. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blitzz 1 review from this member

 I visited this campsite the Back end of August, it was one of many visits, I have been going to this lovely campsite for 5 years.

The pub/restaurant is good, the food cannot be faulted, it was delicious. There is a converted barn with a pool table downstairs, then upstairs there is a TV, some games and also a huge chess board, it is a good place for the kids when it is raining.

There is a laundry room with Washing machines, Dryers and ironing board, the washing-up area could do with more sinks. The toilet block is outstandingly clean, the showers are normally warm, but they would be good if they stayed on instead of having to keep pressing the button, there are plenty of sinks. There is a hair dryer and two hand dryers.

The shop/reception is brilliant and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

There are lots of walks and lots of places to visit, we have visited Brimham Rocks, Forbidden Corner, Aysgarth Falls, Ripon Races, lightwater Valley Theme park, Wensleydale Cheese Factory, Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal. There is a lovely pub/Restaurant called The Queen's in Kirby Malzeard, where they do lovely Curries.

All in all I think this is a marvellous site, I would recommend this site to anybody, specifically Families. I will definitely be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richard1578 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful place stayed for 1 night very tidy and lovely people nice people to deal with we stayed on as a break from driving on our way home from Thriftwood holiday park in Kent (Please look that place up) Bach to here. We arrived a little late but was not a problem for them they was very understanding.

The next morning we had to leave early but was not a problem for them.

If your looking for a nice campsite for a break away then this is a really god place to go

Great local amenities and easy to find we will be staying again

Great Campsite 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coffee18 5 reviews from this member

 We returned to Woodhouse bringing friends with us and everything was as good as it was on our earlier visit.The children loved it with plenty of space for them to run around and play safe on the climbing frames.
We prebooked a table at the restaurant for the 12 of us (remembering how busy it gets)we were not disappointed with the food or service,in fact they went out of their way to accommodate one of the party who's request was not on the menu,very reasonably priced and good quality food.
The toilet and showers were kept very clean,always plenty of hot water,the only drawback is only have a small pot wash station,so we used our sinks.
We never ventured of site as we did it last time. We shall definitely be back and recommend the site to anyone  


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debsbmw 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights after a recommendation from friends. We were not disappointed. A lovely big site with smashing facilities. The toilet and shower block were very clean as was the whole site. A small shop to buy the essentials and a very nice restaurant and bar. Not too far from Ripon and surrounding attractions meant you could go off for the day without too much travelling. All in all a very nice place to stay. We shall certainly visit again next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 11 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site!

We spent 3 nights here with our young family and had a great time.

It is quite a large site with several nice play areas for the children. Our 3 had a fab time making lots of new little friends.

The toilets/shower rooms were spotlessly clean.

The washing up area is good with plenty of sinks and another little play area for the kids while they are waiting!

There is a fishing lake and big dog exercise field.

There is a bar/restaurant and although we just had a drink the food did look nice. There is also a games room which occupied the kids when the weather wasn't so good.

The area is lovely and there is lots to see and do.

We also thought that this site was great value for money. We paid less than we have at other sites with half the facilities. We'll definitely be going back next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crossfire 18 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for 2 nights at Woodhouse with the wife and 2 kids 6 and 3 years old. Site large with a mix of tents, tourers and some statics. We had a pitch on the family field. We went with another 2 couples and there children, we were given pitches next to each other which was good but this was at the furthest point away from the showers and wash up area so it was a bit of a trek.
We had planned to eat in the pub the first night and weren't aware you could reserve a table. By the time we got in there it was fully booked and so we had to rush off into Ripon to find a Take away. Pappa Joes Pizza Take away very nice would recommend. It is the first one you come to when driving round the one way system in Ripon.
Campsite ideal for a visit to Fountains Abbey as it about 2 mile away. The toilets were clean and the showers hot all the time.
Only one criticism was the lack of washing facilities, 3 sinks for a '54 acre site' is a little on the thin side.  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marshalldd 20 reviews from this member

 This was our visit to this site over the bank holiday weekend. We have read all the reviews and we were not disappointed.

We had two adjoining pitches which were huge on the bottom field.The play area was great and allowed the youngest of our party (5 and 8) to have some freedom.

You will find all the facilities you need and all at a high standard.

The staff in reception and the shop were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The campsite has a small bar which was cosy and the staff where very polite. We don't normally go to sites with a bar but this one was fab just small enough and no quizzes or family entertainment. You can also eat in the bar we didn't but the food we saw looked and smelled fab.

There is a indoor barn next to the bar with a pool table, TV and a variety of games which meant our four older boys were happy.

The fishing lake is lovely although a little overgrown but it is a lovely setting.

We took a dog and there are a lot of walking areas on the site. We wondered around the fishing lake, the cycle track and there is also a field that they run in.

We visited Lightwater vally which is about 15 minutes away. There is a kennels in winksley which we used for the day so if you are taking a dog this is ideal.

The verdict of all the children (we had six, two girls and four boys) was this was the best site they had visited. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ceejaypb 1 review from this member

 I can highly recommend this site. It was peaceful, spacious (with huge pitch sizes), superb play areas for the kids, pleasant and helpful staff, the location was perfect, the Barn (the on site pub / restaurant) served fantastic food and the toilet block was clean and pleasant to use. We didn't really use the shop very much but it had the basics.

My one and only gripe is that the toilet block was a long way from our pitch which, if you need the loo in the middle of the night, is pretty inconvenient. I would have thought that there should be another toilet block as the site is plenty big enough to justify it.

We are definitely considering going back to Woodhouse Farm next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LOLA09 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site.
Lovely warm welcome, we were shown to our pitches despite torrential rain on arrival.
Great facilities on site, plenty of warm showers and toilets in a very clean block.
Launderette with iron, washer and dryers.
Great playground and games area, tv room for the kids.
Lovely very well stocked shop with everything youi would need.
The barn pub is lovely. We had a great Sunday lunch here, which you need to book for as it is quite small.
All in all great site, we will definitely return. 


Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2283 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December