Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazzajtd 1 review from this member

Lovely friendly site, all facilities were clean. Our boys were able to play on the park and where we were situated there was a large playing field where they played football with other children. We had a day out as a treat for the boys to Lightwater valley which they loved, all round good time had by all. Friendly staff and the caravans and tents are situated side by side so you get to meet every type of camper.

Lots of space between pitches so you don't feel crowded.

The roads are a bit narrow to get to the site but if you follow the sites instructions to get there you'll be ok and I might see you there as I'll definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NuCampers 9 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to Woodhouse and the place was as good as our first visit.

The site was fairly quiet before the bank holiday (we went Tuesday to Friday) so there was lots of room.

The kids love it, especially with the wooden playground equipment for them all to play on.

The pitches are very big and you always seem to have plenty of room. The grounds and pitches are also very well kept.

The shower/toilet block was always immaculate and always a shower available when we went to wash, the sinks are adequate if a little small but not a problem.

We really like the location of the site as it seems to be in the middle of various places that we like to visit. Masham is about 7/8 miles away, Ripon is 5 miles away, Leyburn is about 15 miles away, Kirkby Malzeard is only 2 mile up the road (fantastic butchers in Kirkby).

The Barn is really nice too, perfect pint of Black Sheep and the food looked very good too.

We will definitely being visiting again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 4miffies 14 reviews from this member

Nicely back from a great weekend and can say we will be back. The facilities are so nice. Toilets spotless, games room for kids, flat level spacious pitches, and the Barn was lovely for a drink. We didn't eat at the Barn but had a go at quiz night and the following night raised the roof on the karaoke. It made our evening when the DJ asked our daughter to sing Warwick Avenue twice she was so good. The atmosphere was fantastic. Ripon is close by with nice shopping, and we also went to Lightwater Valley theme park which was close by too.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed here, this time staying 5 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend.

Very quick and efficient check in as well as friendly. We were pitched in the far paddock, which is probably the furthest away from the facilities but it's literally a 2 minute walk and personally I prefer this field. The toilets although very busy were always clean and provided you didn't go at 'rush hour' there were never any queues.

Obviously being the bank holiday, the site was busy but somehow it doesn't feel crowded, you seem to get a sense of space here and don't feel like you have been crammed in, furthermore it is by far the most friendliest site we have ever visited. Don't know if its just coincidence but both times we have visited we have met an abundance of wonderful, chatty, friendly campers, everyone seems to chat to each other and the kids all seem to play really well together, sharing toys, games and food!

We had 2 meals in The Barn and both times they were delicious, although please book in advance as it does get busy although the landlord does his very best to try squeeze you in.

We love it here, great things to do nearby, I would recommend Brimham Rocks, Fountains Abbey and The Forbidden Corner - very unusual place!

We have never considered a seasonal pitch but out of all the sites we have visited, we would consider this one, if for nothing else but the sheer friendliness and relaxed atmosphere here.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shotgun682 7 reviews from this member

Hi Just returned home today (29-8-11) after a 6 night stay at Woodhouse farm.

We had 2 teenage girls with us and they found it hard to find anything too do. The site is first class for people with younger kids.

The site is well run and kept clean and tidy at all times, the shower block was never too busy to say how large the site is.

The Barn bar was well run with beers and larger on draught at reasonable prices, the food looked good and well presented. The only thing I have to say is the bar was overrun with young kids all night, it would have been nice if the kids were to leave by 9pm so you could go for an adult drink.

The pitch was of a good size but very few were level, so take plenty of wood packers for your legs and levelling chocks, we saw some vans using rocks as packers.

The roads to the site are narrow, hilly and twisty but we had no problems but care is needed.

Would we go back? Yes, but not in school holidays

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: McNally Family 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back a few days ago, after a 7 night stay at Woodhouse Farm and where we had a truly fantastic time.

We found all the staff to be warm and friendly, polite and helpful and very hardworking. The site is set in a beautiful location with excellent facilities.

We found the pitches very large and although we noted that some pitches are on a slope, we were lucky and had a nice flat one. The shower and toilet facilities were excellent, they were cleaned regularly to a high standard, I never had to wait for a free shower or toilet even though the campsite was very busy and they never run out of hand towels or toilet paper. The showers all have a stool and 2 large hooks for all your belongings and fast flowing hot water which is not always the case on a lot of other sites.

The shop stocks all the basics you might need and is good value and not overpriced.

It's lots of fun at the washing up area as the sinks are very, very small however this means that there are more of them and we never had to queue up, also if you wear flipflops to wash up you will get very wet feet as a few of the taps leak quite a lot and water runs off the drainers onto your feet but lets be honest this is all part of the outdoor experience.

All the children on the site seemed to thoroughly enjoy the playground on the bottom paddock and although at times it was very noisy, it gives the adults a break and helped the children make friends easily.

A day out at Brimham Rocks is highly recommended and not to be missed, and at a cost of only 5. 00 for the whole family its a much cheaper option than many other activities, our children who are 12 and 10 enjoyed it so much that they asked to go back again a few days later and to add insult to injury added that they had a better time at the rocks than at Lightwater Valley that had cost us 100!

To sum up we would highly recommend this site and will definitely look forward to returning next season.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dilbert1968 5 reviews from this member

I have very mixed views about this site. It's clean, it's well specified and the staff were friendly. There is a decent enough pub on the site, a chap comes each morning to take your recycling and there is a shop selling essentials.

It also has a list of the usual rules (i. E. No noise after 10. 30, no commercial vehicles, no groups, no fires and no gazebos).

All this sounds fine until a chap in a 3. 5tonne Ford pickup turned up with a double gazebo (including patio heater!), gathered his clan from far and wide, lit a fire and began partying till 2am. I complained in the morning to the recycling chap (they finally went quiet at 2am but then woke at 5am to all have a good noisy laugh over someone snoring nearby!) and I got a gushing apology with a comment that the situation would be monitored. Unfortunately, the bloke I spoke to seemed to have forgotten and off it went again at 10pm - joined in sympathy by another group (3 tents, one family) who decided to compete in the bonfire & noise making competition!

Thankfully my prayers were answered and the heavens opened at midnight and it (literally) put a dampener on their partying.

The groups disappeared back to their caves the following day and so the 3rd night was beautifully peaceful, giving way to a lovely sunny Monday morning. It could have been a different planet.

In summary then, it's an OK site (flat in places, decent toilets and showers and a great play area for the children) but if you don't sleep for 2 nights, it's difficult to see the positives.

Ripon and Pately Bridge are 10 minutes away (both worth a trip) and so while I will visit the area again, I won't be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairymcclary 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a few days at this site. Received a warm welcome by the staff on reception and the site is in a beautiful area. We were pitched in what is called the Far Paddock with electric hook up, please be warned that this area is located quite a long way from the showers/toilets/pot washing so it was a bit of a trek, I would suggest that you check before booking where you will be located if the distance is an issue as it became a pain for us.

We found tent pitches to be quite close together compared to other sites we have been to.

We visited The Barn pub and thought it could have been more comfortable in there, also the food although nicely presented and tasty, the portion sizes were very small, we spent nearly 30 on meals for 3 and were still hungry!

Also they appeared to have Guinness on draught ( pulled by pump) but what I actually got was a can of Guinness- a minor gripe- but I think the bar man should have mentioned this when we ordered.

A pleasant stay in nice surroundings, but don't think we will be returning to this site

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TracieT 2 reviews from this member

We were part of a group of four tents/families. Check in was efficient and quick. Pitches were very adequate for our 9 man tent. We were in the bottom paddock. Lots of room for ball games/bike riding in the field.

Toilet block was clean [even found it being cleaned at 11pm at night. ] Noise was minimal, even with a large number of groups around.

3 separate playgrounds. Lovely wooden one in our field, however, the children loved finding 'dens' to hide in.

Took a lovely walk to Galphray, about 45 minute walk with kids. Lovely pub with lovely food. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Langham45 6 reviews from this member

What a fab family camp site. Friendly welcome with good clear instructions and map to find your pitch, and what a huge EHU pitch we had. Close to all the facilities.

Our two girls (aged 8 & 9)loved the games room and the play areas, in fact we never saw them for hours on end knowing they were safe made us able to relax too. Great recycling service too, every morning they come round to pick up your cans, bottles, paper etc.

Had Sunday lunch at the on site restaurant, it was delicious so can recommend but you must book in advance. Well stocked shop with all your essentials and daily newspapers.

Lovely clean facilities, loved the fact the girls good have a bath for a good soak as well as a shower. Loved Ripon, lovely Spa Gardens with crazy golf, pitch & putt for kids whilst you have a cuppa at the cafe. Spent a fab day at Brinham Rocks & Knaresborough.

Had a lovely 3 course meal at The Grantley Arms great quality food. Forgot to mention our dog enjoyed himself too in the exercise field and the woodland walks.

We would certainly return to this value for money lovely country site.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019