Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Addvic 8 reviews from this member

* Had a great time here, especially as the weather was hot.

* we had a great pitch, tucked down the slope in the corner, so very peaceful.

* lots of space and three play grounds for the kids to enjoy. Had a go at table tennis, (bats & balls can be hired from the shop).

* It was very busy, but as it so big and spaced out didn't feel that way.

* Shower facilites ok, though I think they could have been cleaned a little more often as there was always stuff on the floor, I am an early bird showers 6-6.30 so not as if they had been used by lots of people before I went in. There is a keypad to get into the toilets which makes you feel safer, especially late at night.

* Visited Lightwater Valley which we really enjoyed, though we had cheap tickets which helped and take your own food as the prices are a little steep for food and drinks £2.35 for a slush puppy. £6.50 for a small hot dog, chips and soft drink.

* Found a geat place for light eating in Ripon in the Park. All home made cakes and very resonably priced 70p for a piece of cake. The scones with jam and cream are delicious. Offers other activties i.E. Pitch and putt.

* Had a meal in the pub, (don't take credit/debit cards), the owners were really nice, the food was good and reasonably priced, (its not open on a Tuesday), we went for lunch on the Wed when leaving so not so busy. I would expect at the weekend and on an evening you would need to book, as it isn't very big.

I would visit again especially if we got the same pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phildi 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a most enjoyable weekend at woodhouse farm, toilets and showers are very clean, even when the weather was bad. The kids loved all three play parks especially the big yellow elephant which was right next to the washing up facilities.
The owners/wardens are extremely friendly and helpful. The shop was small but sold most basic items. There is also a bar and restaurant which we didn't visit so can't comment. Overall a nice site which we will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisyhill 2 reviews from this member

Stayed with a group of friends for a weekend in May. A good campsite with excellent facilities - lovely warm, clean showers and toilets. Lots of space. Kids really enjoyed the playground. Good location for Brimham Rocks, Fountains Abbey and brewery tours at Masham. Beautiful countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilly 05 5 reviews from this member

This is a great site, very clean grass kept neat, staff friendly. Play areas very good, we had kids with us 2 - 10 and there was something for everyone including a big grass area for ball games.
Pub on site good, you need to book and take cash as they have no card facilities. Lovely area recommend the forbidden corner, but you do need to book first.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Valliam 1 review from this member

We always use this website to check out camp sites and chose this one for the good reviews (and location) so time for our one! We stayed at this excellent site for a week at the start of July (great weather) and found the owners to be helpful and accommodating on arrival. The shop had a good range and was very reasonable (more so than many shops at home). Our pitch though slightly sloping was very suitable for us as the owner suggested we should be able to see our kids (3 & 7) playing across at the park and would be able to relax as we watched!

The site itself was very friendly and was nice and quiet at the start of our week, though it busied up at the weekend significantly, to the point of being almost too busy. Having said that, the toilets were still clean and there was only a short wait for a shower on one morning, which I think is only to be expected. The showers were kept clean and there was a bucket and mop to encourage peole to clean up after use, which I have to say worked very well. The kitchen facilities were fine, though again busy at the weekend and there was a handy slide and swings behind the sinks so the kids could keep themselves amused under a watchful eye. The facilities for the kids were very good, with there being a larger play area at the centre of the main field, the area behind the kitchen area and another slide at the top of the main field. There was an indoor area with a pool table, TV and large chess set but we didn't use this as we were lucky with the weather. The pub on site was great, very reasonably priced and did brilliant home made Yorkshire food. (I stuffed myself on our last night and could hardly move after).

The owners were very relaxed about the individual pitches, and it wasn't a problem for the kids to play round about the tent and in the middle of the field. It was a lovely peaceful and relaxing site and quite possibly the best holiday we've ever had!

There's so much to do in the area that we could easily have stayed for 2 weeks - if only we had no work to go home for! Even walking round about the surrounding fields (loads of rabbits!) was pleasant and everything we visited was within a 10 mile radius - good for petrol consumption! We will hopefully be back next year to discover what else the area has to offer!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah_A 2 reviews from this member

We booked for 2 nights at Woodhouse Farm for our first ever camping trip! After trying to cram everything into the car and then having to make an emergency roof box purchase, we had set off later than we had wanted so arrived when it was just turning dark (not ideal for the first time we pitched a tent), it was raining and cold but luckily my Father had met us there to give us a hand to pitch.

Site was very quiet after 11.00pm (after we finally got the tent up and had blown up the airbeds), which was great as we didn't even bother unpacking the car apart from essentials as we were shattered! Flat pitch and not at all muddy considering the amount of rain.

Toilet/showerblock was VERY clean considering the amount of rain that was around.

Woke up to a lovely sunny morning, kids went straight onto the play area which was just opposite our tent, adequate for younger kids (5 and 6) but not so much for older kids although there is plenty of room to kick a football about.

Unfortunately at lunchtime we got a phone call to say my Father in Law had been taken seriously ill and was in Intensive Care so we had to pack up and leave straight away. The site owner couldn't have been more helpful. We had paid for 2 nights but as we only stayed the one she said they would leave the other nights fee on file as a credit for when we want to go back (they don't give refunds). We will go back as we never got to explore the surrounding area!

The shop was very basic but adequate and there was a Morrisons about 10 minutes drive away.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seanus 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here in June for a weekend and our initial impression when we arrived was good. The Friday night was pretty uneventful but the Saturday night was pretty noisy. A lot of shouting, loud behaviour and kids and juveniles running around until well after midnight.

I am not of the school that thinks there should be a complete noise curfew come 11.00 pm - but just like a bit of simple respect for others. The noise we could hear was coming from another of the sites fields (thatís how loud it was!) and had it been closer to us I might have been tempted to have a word.

The facilities were pretty good with decent toilet and shower block. There is a pub on site which as other reviewers have said gets busy for meals. We didnít try it but had a look inside it. It was ok but I prefer to visit the local pubs of which there are plenty in the area thought not easy walking distance.

Lately I have noticed a direct link between on site club house/pub and quite a lot of noise late on in the evening to early morning. So for my part I will not be looking for these kind of sites again. No criticism necessarily, just horse for courses.

I donít know if it is just me but I donít think that people have the same respect for each other anymore, thatís the problem. So not really a problem with the site, more a small minority on it and that could happen anywhere, though in theory think it is less likely on a site without club or pub facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slinkycat 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from our 1st trip to this site, and will definitely be going back. It rained most of the weekend, but that still didnt spoil our weekend. We had a pitch on the children's field in the bottom corner, and it was a perfect spot. Still only a minute away from the clean toilet block (water does come out in a dribble from the showers) and close enough to the park so that we could sit and relax and still be able to see our daughter playing. Enough space on the park for ball games, etc. We forgot to take alcohol, (I know, how could we!) and the pub kindly sold us a bottle of wine, and gave me glasses to take back to tent. Cant really think of any negatives about this park, the only one I could think of would be the shop was small and just kept the basics, (unfortunately didn't have either of the 2 things we were looking for, rice and gas for the stove). Reasonably priced at £34 for the weekend with EHU . Look forward to going again soon

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Songbird5314 2 reviews from this member

We picked this site because of the lovely reviews.

We arrived at a busy time, and I appreciate it must be difficult for the staff (who were friendly) but we were shown to our 'pitch' by a young boy around 12-14 yrs old who didn't seem to know where to put us. The pitches weren't numbered, and whilst we were starting to unpack our equipment another family were put next to us, but told to 'wait a few minutes, to see how much space we took up with our tent'. I think the tents were too close together for safety and the only information we were given about the site was from other campers.

The toilets were very clean and the showers were free (hairdryer 20p. There was a toilet code to open the door, which we thought a little unnecessary and awkward for 'desperate' children.

There was a pub onsite that we didn't use, but were told it was very nice. The site also featured a pleasant fishing lake and several small playing areas.

Our visit was spoiled by a large group of campers and children that played football till midnight and drunken loud behaviour till around 2am. We tried ringing the owners without success and complained in the morning. I was told that the owner always checks the site at midnight to curb any disturbances, but I truthfully did not see/hear any evidence of this. When the group demonstrated that their behaviour was going to be the same the next day, I am afraid that we packed up and left early.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joleecamping 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from staying at this site. Came home early due to rain and the site not being what we expected.

The pub food was nice and bar staff very friendly. The toilets/shower block were new and clean. The site for us with two children under 3 was not ideal. It was very noisy still after 11pm and the play areas were not geared at this age group, so not alot to do. Probably best suited if if travelling in a big group as there is a large field to get together and kids to run around. Oh yes and the drive in is a little akward, along very narrow lanes.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019