Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davysav 1 review from this member

Lovely site clean and good sized pitches. Lovely play area for children. Nice pub on site with good food and good selection of beers. Shower block and toilets were always clean.

Nice site for visiting surrounding areas staff on site pleasant and helpful. Ripon Thirsk and Harrogate within easy reach and there is also a bus service to Ripon times are posted on notice board.

Two ponds on site for fishing. Largest pond has some nice fish in it and it is very pretty. Dog walk through wooded area. Will definitely visit again

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LR2007 19 reviews from this member

Access not the best for larger units down a winding country road. Booked in on arrival and barrier access to the site which we always find a good addition. Booked a hardstanding which was basically a concrete strip surrounded by grass so not truly hard standing.

Booked this site as my husband fishes, however an awful long walk to go with a fishing trolley. The lake itself is now surrounded by an otter proof fence and looks a little unused, fishing pegs needing attention etc. No site WiFi other than by the pub we were told.

The facilities are in need of painting/updating. Cleaner visited once on our 3 day stay. Showers were sprayed not ‘cleaned’ and no bin in the ladies toilet apart from a large outside bin with general household rubbish in it which was never emptied in three days. No signage to display that cleaning was taking place either. Health & safety requirement?

The shop isn’t ‘well stocked’ as advertised so don’t get caught out with that one. On a positive note the Barn Pub on site is brilliant. Friendly welcome, lovely food and allows well behaved dogs in too. Attached undercover play area which would be good for families. Now for the high negative.

We were on pitch no 12 opposite a gentleman in a caravan who may have thought it was a naturist site? Spoke to the management who seemed to be aware but said they would speak to him. His behaviour continued on a daily basis so they obviously weren’t bothered by our concerns. We found this totally unacceptable and wouldn’t return for this reason.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

May 2018. Fishing & simple site review.

Very pleasant, little to add to other reports. Pleasant stay. Busy weekends but quiet site & area off peak times. Barrier access.

Undulating ground on most touring & tent pitches. Some gravel unit pitch pads with grass access so not truly hardstanding.

Bit of a winding road from Ripon and do check the access details to get to the site initially as some of the signposted minor roads to site are narrow with little passing places for larger units.

Fair number of seasonal tourers, some of mixed condition & presentation, throughout the well tended site with feature aged large trees. Expanding Static areas.

Very good dog walking on site / woodland with decent off lead area, some animals in fields. Free range hens (eggs for sale) wander freely around site some days.

Fishing. Two lakes, both a fair walk from pitches - suggest a trolley or travel light ! No real car parking closeby. Small lake is clear water and seems just a wildlife friendly feature now.

Both Lakes reported as fully Otter'd out of all established fish stock about 7 years ago. Decent Otter fence now installed to large lake only and lake re-stocked and perhaps over cleared of trees & undergrowth. Un-finished fishing platforms, just the stakes, generally a bit souless and raw at the moment. Reasonable stock of fish but lack of aeration to muddy cloudy water was worrying. No bait in modest shop. Tickets in advance from shop only. Catches reasonable mixed species. Not actively fished by many on site during our stay - most pegs never seemingly fished. Should improve as an attractive feature if owners seek to actively or professionally manage.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

We love camping at Woodhouse Farm. Its one of our favourite sites and we try to return every 2-3 years. The camping pitches are large and there is loads of space for the kids to play ball games etc. There are great outdoor play areas and an indoor play barn with table tennis etc. Theres a fishing lake and a dog walk. The on-site bar/restaurant has been extended and refurbished since our last visit and we were really impressed. The menu was varied and the food was really tasty and well priced. The toilet blocks are always impeccably clean. There are plenty of showers and rarely a queue. We have camped at lots of different sites all over the uk and I think the facilities block at Woodhouse Farm are among the best. The site is a bit more expensive than others but its such a great site we feel its worth it. My only gripe would be that our basic tent pitch in the field was priced the same as our friends serviced caravan pitch, which we found unfair. You would assume that the cost involved in providing hard standing, electricity and water supply to the caravan pitches would be reflected in the pricing and a piece of grass a fair walk from the facilities would be the cheaper option!

There are lots of pretty towns / villages and tourist attractions nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Artic 13 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to this site as our grandson loves it, as there is lots of room to play.

Security is a Coded barrier which is given on arrival.

The staff are excellent and friendly.

Toilet facilities are very clean, showers are push button, but plenty of hot water. For those of you with small children there is a bath in separate room.

Recyclable rubbish is collected very morning, but there are plenty of bins around the site.

We had two meals in the restaurant, and a takeaway all which where very good. It is recommended that you book for the restaurant as it gets very busy.

We would definitely recommend this site and are looking forward to going again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KathP29 16 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend at this site for our first visit.

Roads are narrow when near to the site but it is well sign posted. On arrival, reception was friendly and quick and easy to deal with.

Pitches were very spacious and ours was flat. Toilets always clean, plenty of hot water, pot wash area is good. Plenty of bins which were emptied regularly and lots of water taps.

Great place for dogs and the dog walk on site is brilliant. Plenty of places off site but be warned not many dog friendly stiles if you have a big dog who can't jump.

We ate 2 lunches at the barn and really enjoyed the food.

Lovely relaxed site, very attractive and we will use again

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 18 reviews from this member

Just returned form a lovely weekend, first visit to Woodhouse Farm it was a gem of a find. Pitches are large and marked out on the ground around the edge of the field for no electric pitches, the grass was not to long or short and of a generous size so not to crowded. The field for electric hookup seemed a bit crowded but to be expected with large family tents and family groups. But were-ever you were you were not tripping over guys due to the generous size.

One day a guy came round at about breakfast time and collected the recyclable rubbish. Plenty of rubbish bins around the site, re-cycle bins by reception.

The site facility's are very good clean showers and toilets, the reception staff were very helpful, as mentioned before the shop could be better stocked! Security is very good in that there is a coded barrier onto the site-you are issued with a unique code from reception.

Though we have no children the facility's for them seem very good with a couple of play areas and play barn and plenty of space to run around fly kites etc.

There are plenty of walks through the woods and around the lakes as well as the local area the roads are quiet for bike rides.

The main fishing lake has been otter fenced and restocked with carp of about 3-5lb by the look of them at one point I counted in excess of 40, apparently there are also tench, roach etc cost £5 per day. Could do with some oxygenates running in the summer as fish seemed stressed. Feed pellets can be obtained from the reception.

The barn bar was very good reasonably priced drinks, don't know about food!

Main supermarkets are in Ripon as are other shops for a small market town, Brimham rocks are worth a visit and good to let the children climb over, for more sedate time Fountains Abbey.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davros18 1 review from this member

I returned to this site numerous times over the past few years and it never fails to impress. The staff are excellent, friendly and always happy to help when needed.

The extension and refurbishment of the Bar is excellent and really enhances the already fantastic facilities.

Will definitely return and would highly recommend Woodhouse Farm to others.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NuCampers 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend's camping and the site looks fantastic. 3rd visit but haven't been for a few years and the changes are great.

The pitches are huge, we camped in the middle field within easy distance of the barn, shop, toilet blocks and kids playground.

The biggest change to the site is the barn. Brand new for this year as all the work was done over winter and looks amazing, great bar and really good food (take away available too).

All in all the site is fantastic, the kids loved it and we had a great time - we will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ethan0796 16 reviews from this member

Just returned after spending an extended bank holiday at the site. Have mixed feelings about the site. Will mention good and bad. But I guess it's personal preference.

When completing the booking I requested a large pitch that was in a quiet area near to facilities. The pitch we were allocated was 94- large pitch but not the greatest- huge tractor wheel divets in the middle of the pitch, which we couldn't avoid. Other pitches around us appeared ok though.

Large area in front of the pitch for children to play ball games etc- great idea as the area is huge and this avoids children being told off for hitting vans & tents etc. My children really enjoyed joining in with football & rugby, all children appeared well behaved and very friendly unlike some sites- where children who have seasonal pitches have been known to be nasty to children just visiting for the weekend. For me the pitch was too far away from the amenities and would have preferred to have been allocated a pitch closer to the facilities block.

New pub has a cosy and relaxing feel to it, but I thought the cost of the food & drinks was expensive. We ordered fish & chips and pizza for the children and it was horrid. I actually felt sick after eating the fish and the chips were huge and hard. The pizza came in a little takeout box so was expecting a lovely homemade pizza. What we got was a cheap nasty frozen tomato pizza with a light sprinkle of cheese that my husband noticed them get from the freezer. Just round the corner there are lovely pubs serving some lovely fresh food- We went to the Galphey Inn just 10min away and the food was excellent for the same cost, so I would highly recommend The Galphey instead.

The shower/toilet facilities are cold and need heating but this didn't help with having the windows open all the time, day and night. But they always appeared clean. But who wants to get undressed when the building is like a fridge! The toilet tissue dispensers are rubbish and the paper falls out everywhere. Resulting in the floor always having toilet tissue in the cubicles- this must be a nightmare for the cleaners. The showers are push button and this drove me mad. I had to push the button over 30 times just to have a shower and wash my hair. Yes I have long hair. But it was also frustrating whilst I showered my youngest son. We even counted to see how long before we had to push the button again. 10 seconds. Which is ridiculous! My husband & eldest son also mentioned how disgusting the gents smelt. My son eventually refused to go in and opted to use the single toilet near reception. But this wasn't always possible as it was locked. Knowing my son. This may have been because someone was in there! My hubby said it smelt terrible all the time we were there. And if I had been aware of this I would have mentioned this to staff, but my son only mentioned it on the way home.

The washing up area is fine with plenty of sinks, but again push button tap which I hate.

The reception staff I felt were a little hostile which I was surprised at due to the friendly tone in the emails when making the booking.

The children's activities are great as they have indoor and outdoor activities including badminton and table tennis- where you need to purchase the bats. Not hire. So the site does cater for our lovely British weather, so this got a huge thumbs up from us.

The shop in reception is poor and very small with very little to purchase-this really needs to be extended to cater for the site.

Overall we had a nice break, but I wouldn't return to this site for the reasons mentioned above. We also had our dog with us and the majority of local attractions except Fountain Abbey. Don't allow dogs, so again this is a deciding factor for us as a family, when choosing a site.

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019