Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 263 Reviews
                9/10 from 263 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Buckle31981dlq 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site, really well kept.

Added bonus having a bar and restaurant on site, lovely food and great friendly staff.

I would highly recommend this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davysav 1 review from this member

 Lovely site clean and good sized pitches. Lovely play area for children. Nice pub on site with good food and good selection of beers. Shower block and toilets were always clean.

Nice site for visiting surrounding areas staff on site pleasant and helpful. Ripon Thirsk and Harrogate within easy reach and there is also a bus service to Ripon times are posted on notice board.

Two ponds on site for fishing. Largest pond has some nice fish in it and it is very pretty. Dog walk through wooded area. Will definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SUMMEROF63 9 reviews from this member

 Camped twice at this location previously site evolving all the time, stayed in a camping pod this time round, nice setting in a clearing of trees,

Site was very busy due to Eater bank holiday but I had booked a meal before hand in the newly refurbished barn restaurant so we were ok on the sunday night!

Site does get busy but as anywhere if you pick your times for showering / washing up etc no real issues.

Only real gripe if there has to be one is that for some people the object of the exercise is to commandeer the tables outside the Barn restaurant and sit there for most of the day soaking up the sun and the local beverage!

We had a lovely day out at lightwater valley right on the door step! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LR2007 23 reviews from this member

 Access not the best for larger units down a winding country road. Booked in on arrival and barrier access to the site which we always find a good addition. Booked a hardstanding which was basically a concrete strip surrounded by grass so not truly hard standing.

Booked this site as my husband fishes, however an awful long walk to go with a fishing trolley. The lake itself is now surrounded by an otter proof fence and looks a little unused, fishing pegs needing attention etc. No site WiFi other than by the pub we were told.

The facilities are in need of painting/updating. Cleaner visited once on our 3 day stay. Showers were sprayed not ‘cleaned’ and no bin in the ladies toilet apart from a large outside bin with general household rubbish in it which was never emptied in three days. No signage to display that cleaning was taking place either. Health & safety requirement?

The shop isn’t ‘well stocked’ as advertised so don’t get caught out with that one. On a positive note the Barn Pub on site is brilliant. Friendly welcome, lovely food and allows well behaved dogs in too. Attached undercover play area which would be good for families. Now for the high negative.

We were on pitch no 12 opposite a gentleman in a caravan who may have thought it was a naturist site? Spoke to the management who seemed to be aware but said they would speak to him. His behaviour continued on a daily basis so they obviously weren’t bothered by our concerns. We found this totally unacceptable and wouldn’t return for this reason. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

 May 2018. Fishing & simple site review.

Very pleasant, little to add to other reports. Pleasant stay. Busy weekends but quiet site & area off peak times. Barrier access.

Undulating ground on most touring & tent pitches. Some gravel unit pitch pads with grass access so not truly hardstanding.

Bit of a winding road from Ripon and do check the access details to get to the site initially as some of the signposted minor roads to site are narrow with little passing places for larger units.

Fair number of seasonal tourers, some of mixed condition & presentation, throughout the well tended site with feature aged large trees. Expanding Static areas.

Very good dog walking on site / woodland with decent off lead area, some animals in fields. Free range hens (eggs for sale) wander freely around site some days.

Fishing. Two lakes, both a fair walk from pitches - suggest a trolley or travel light ! No real car parking closeby. Small lake is clear water and seems just a wildlife friendly feature now.

Both Lakes reported as fully Otter'd out of all established fish stock about 7 years ago. Decent Otter fence now installed to large lake only and lake re-stocked and perhaps over cleared of trees & undergrowth. Un-finished fishing platforms, just the stakes, generally a bit souless and raw at the moment. Reasonable stock of fish but lack of aeration to muddy cloudy water was worrying. No bait in modest shop. Tickets in advance from shop only. Catches reasonable mixed species. Not actively fished by many on site during our stay - most pegs never seemingly fished. Should improve as an attractive feature if owners seek to actively or professionally manage. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

 We love camping at Woodhouse Farm. Its one of our favourite sites and we try to return every 2-3 years. The camping pitches are large and there is loads of space for the kids to play ball games etc. There are great outdoor play areas and an indoor play barn with table tennis etc. Theres a fishing lake and a dog walk. The on-site bar/restaurant has been extended and refurbished since our last visit and we were really impressed. The menu was varied and the food was really tasty and well priced. The toilet blocks are always impeccably clean. There are plenty of showers and rarely a queue. We have camped at lots of different sites all over the uk and I think the facilities block at Woodhouse Farm are among the best. The site is a bit more expensive than others but its such a great site we feel its worth it. My only gripe would be that our basic tent pitch in the field was priced the same as our friends serviced caravan pitch, which we found unfair. You would assume that the cost involved in providing hard standing, electricity and water supply to the caravan pitches would be reflected in the pricing and a piece of grass a fair walk from the facilities would be the cheaper option!

There are lots of pretty towns / villages and tourist attractions nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Artic 15 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site as our grandson loves it, as there is lots of room to play.

Security is a Coded barrier which is given on arrival.

The staff are excellent and friendly.

Toilet facilities are very clean, showers are push button, but plenty of hot water. For those of you with small children there is a bath in separate room.

Recyclable rubbish is collected very morning, but there are plenty of bins around the site.

We had two meals in the restaurant, and a takeaway all which where very good. It is recommended that you book for the restaurant as it gets very busy.

We would definitely recommend this site and are looking forward to going again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KathP29 19 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend at this site for our first visit.

Roads are narrow when near to the site but it is well sign posted. On arrival, reception was friendly and quick and easy to deal with.

Pitches were very spacious and ours was flat. Toilets always clean, plenty of hot water, pot wash area is good. Plenty of bins which were emptied regularly and lots of water taps.

Great place for dogs and the dog walk on site is brilliant. Plenty of places off site but be warned not many dog friendly stiles if you have a big dog who can't jump.

We ate 2 lunches at the barn and really enjoyed the food.

Lovely relaxed site, very attractive and we will use again 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J + J 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned form a lovely weekend, first visit to Woodhouse Farm it was a gem of a find. Pitches are large and marked out on the ground around the edge of the field for no electric pitches, the grass was not to long or short and of a generous size so not to crowded. The field for electric hookup seemed a bit crowded but to be expected with large family tents and family groups. But were-ever you were you were not tripping over guys due to the generous size.

One day a guy came round at about breakfast time and collected the recyclable rubbish. Plenty of rubbish bins around the site, re-cycle bins by reception.

The site facility's are very good clean showers and toilets, the reception staff were very helpful, as mentioned before the shop could be better stocked! Security is very good in that there is a coded barrier onto the site-you are issued with a unique code from reception.

Though we have no children the facility's for them seem very good with a couple of play areas and play barn and plenty of space to run around fly kites etc.

There are plenty of walks through the woods and around the lakes as well as the local area the roads are quiet for bike rides.

The main fishing lake has been otter fenced and restocked with carp of about 3-5lb by the look of them at one point I counted in excess of 40, apparently there are also tench, roach etc cost £5 per day. Could do with some oxygenates running in the summer as fish seemed stressed. Feed pellets can be obtained from the reception.

The barn bar was very good reasonably priced drinks, don't know about food!

Main supermarkets are in Ripon as are other shops for a small market town, Brimham rocks are worth a visit and good to let the children climb over, for more sedate time Fountains Abbey. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davros18 1 review from this member

 I returned to this site numerous times over the past few years and it never fails to impress. The staff are excellent, friendly and always happy to help when needed.

The extension and refurbishment of the Bar is excellent and really enhances the already fantastic facilities.

Will definitely return and would highly recommend Woodhouse Farm to others. 


Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1809 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020