Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sara72golf 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite!

We arrived to a friendly reception and were given a map and directions to our pitch.

We were pitched in the bottom field next to the children play area, there was nobody else in this field for the first 2 nights, so it was peaceful, apart from the children who came to play on the equipment for a few hours at night, but they soon went about 9pm/ dark.

Found the top field (electric hook up) very busy and much closer pitched together than other fields.

A short walk up hill to the facilities but exercise is good for us!

Loved the pub on site, had a meal there and found it good. Although felt drinks prices a little expensive.

Shower blocks were fine, no queues, warm water, fairly clean, however shame to see some users not cleaning up after themselves. There is a mop and bucket to use after showering.

Games room kept 2 12year olds entertained!

Visited Fountains Abbey, Pateley Bridge (oldest sweet shop in England) Coldstone cut (quarry) and generally lazed at the campsite watching the world go by!

Kids enjoyed morning rubbish collection, by man on tractor and trailer around the campsite.

Overall we enjoyed the stay at Woodhouse Farm, but as we left we did wonder if we would want to be so close to the kids play area on our return, especially if it was a busy period.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missym00 2 reviews from this member

Wonderfully clean site, including the dog walking meadow. Kids loved the games room, plenty to do. Shower/toilet block very clean & cleaned on a regular basis, plenty of hot water. Plenty of drinking water taps around. Lovely little pub and good priced shop. All staff friendly/helpful & the recycling system is great. Pitch sizes are great, best I've been on & have already recommended this site to friends. We felt very safe on the site and stayed in the top paddock, where I will stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PSNH 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite made very welcome. Good play ground to keep my daughter entertained. Clean toilet facilities very good disabled facilities. Would recommend this site and will go back. Good flat pitches with lots of space. Handy shop and bar on site. Good washing up area. Code to get in and out of site made it feel safe. Went round lots of villages with great shops. The site does really well by going around and collecting all your recycling.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janex 7 reviews from this member

Visited this campsite with 2 other families over the Whit weekend. We all have pretty big tents but this was not a problem. There was plenty of room in the over-flow field. The campsite is well maintained and managed. The toilet block was clean and tidy although there were often queues for the showers in the morning.

The surrounding area has plenty to offer and we were never bored. I would recommend this site to friends and family.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loobywoof 7 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip and it was painless. I was impressed straight away by Woodhouse Farm when my enquiry was dealt with extremely promptly and efficiently.

Check in was quick and easy and although it was half term and we had a reserved pitch we were also given a choice - pretty much told to choose but then let them know where we'd ended up.

Camping was around the edges of the paddocks with play equipment in the middle and plenty of space for children's games. Pitches were large, ground was manageable and pitches drained quickly even with 3-4 days solid rain.

Toilet blocks were really nice. In 5 days I never encountered a lack of soap or toilet paper. Despite the constant rain the floors were kept clean and there was a mop and bucket on hand for the shower area. Showers were a perfect temperature and had adequate water pressure.

There were three different outdoor play area for the kids and also an indoor area with football table, table tennis, pool table and a bouldering wall! This was very welcome in the rain.

The laundry room also housed a freezer which could be used free for ice packs and even contained some campsite owned ones that could be borrowed if necessary.

There's plenty of recycling points around the park and even a daily tractor run which comes around the pitches collecting any recycling.

We didn't use the Barn Restaurant but it looked welcoming.

The pot wash area was undercover and the water plentiful and hot. The sinks were rather small and close together which was difficult but made for a very sociable area where the days activities were discussed and ideas for entertaining children in the rain were shared. The play area for the very youngest children was right by the pot wash which many found useful.

I would certainly return to this site as we have still to visit many local attractions due to the inclement weather during our stay.

This campsite is extremely well placed for Fountains Abbey, Brimham Rocks, Light Water Valley, The Forbidden Corner and The Black Sheep Brewery.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Topshelf 12 reviews from this member

Very good staff. Large field for the kids to play on, ample room for football, that can be easily viewed from your pitch. Nice little play area in the barn. Close to Fountains Abbey, spent a very good 3/4 day in there and a full day in Lightwater Valley,

Take note of the directions on the web site, do not follow your sat nav down the very tight road.

Most pitches looked level. Good selection of ale in the pub

Clean toilets and other facilities.

Will be booking again

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizkjohnson 4 reviews from this member

Woodhouse Farm is a lovely campsite to visit which is set in a beautiful rural area on the outskirts of Ripon.

This quiet, family friendly site has many positive features:

Staff are very friendly at Reception with a little shop selling basic provisions and reasonable kids' toys;

Adequate dish washing, shower and toilet facilities;

A good family room offering a large bath, child sized sink and adult sink, toilet, hairdryer and chair for 2;

A small toddler bathing room in the ladies toilet which is free of charge;

A barn pub called 'the barn' which offers reasonable priced hot food and sunday lunches. I cannot really comment on the quality or atmosphere as we didn't visit it, but it seemed very busy.

An open play barn with a ping-pong table, pool table, play tables with snakes and ladders and a corner of the barn dedicated to a climbing wall, and picnic tables placed in here too.

The size of the pitch was very spacious. There was ample space for a large awning, a car and a caravan.

There was a great space for children to play in a bottom field where kids were happily playing football, cricket and a climbing frame down there.

Adjacent to the dishwashing facilities, there was a smaller play area for younger children which was excellent.

Chickens would aimlessly roam the site which was also lovely to see.

The overall campsite is undulating and would recommend that anyone visiting it with a caravan or motorhome may want to ensure they have plenty of chocks or wheel ramps to level the van. We didn't have the wheel ramps and it didn't affect our enjoyment of this site as this is a minor point about this site.

Overall, Woodhouse Farm has given us a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this campsite and would visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparky69 20 reviews from this member

Stayed here over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed the site, shower block benefits from under floor heating which was appreciated as this was a cold period. Our 8 year old daughter enjoyed feeding the spring lambs ad chickens with the owners and had at least 3 play areas to choose from. Found the food served in the Barn of very good quality and reasonable cost (you get what you pay for). A good location for visiting the Dales and surrounding area, Pately Bridge was cold but enjoyable with a little sandwich shop well worth a visit. Fountains Abbey is always a must for us and a full day tired us all out including our little puppy. All in all would recommend this site to families and couples wanting a serene site.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dirksdonuts 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one week at the children's half term at the end of October. Children aged 6 and 10.

This campsite is in a fantastic setting and the pitches are well laid out with lots of room between vans. The wash block was warm and clean even though it was cold outside.

Nice small shop on site that stocked the basics which was great.

The staff were really nice offering us advice on the local attractions and their knowledge of the area was invaluable. Sadly we had to leave as we could of stayed much longer. Didn't realise what a fantastic area we were staying in until we drove around.

Even though it was the end of October and cold we found so much we could do. I bet this place is full in the summer.

The only downside to the whole place was the bar/restaurant. Great for a beer but sadly the food was overpriced for for the standard being offered. Good pubs within a short cycle or drive one in Grately, which we visited and the food was very good.

Hope to return again soon !

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VinnynDoob 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, a little difficult to find but well worth the effort. The only minor criticism is the lack of lighting at night: we were in the top paddock right by the toilet block but it was very difficult to find your way to the toilet block in the middle of the night. Not sure how campers further afield would cope.

That apart it was a truly fantastic site, our two girls (10 & 8) were never away from the park or the indoor barn (housing a climbing wall, table tennis table and other games) and it felt very safe (not least because of security barrier although we were so far into the country it probably wasn't necessary!).

We ate at 'the barn' on site, which was very nice if a little over-priced. Toilet block was spotless, showers wonderful (spacious, plenty of hooks for towels etc, and even a stool which I used for my toiletry bag). We were there out of peak season so never queued for loos, showers etc, which was great. I would definitely recommend this site - fantastic!

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019