Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rlk1972 2 reviews from this member

Had our very 1st family camping trip here in July. Enjoyed the site but it was a bit too busy for our taste.

Went to the kids disco, again surprised that they felt the need to have bouncers on duty! Especially as there was a good atmosphere both nights.

Feel that the site is successful because of it's fantastic position, rather than because it's well run. Additionally we were kept awake until 1am by youngsters having a party which the site did nothing to stop.

Finally the welcome was weak, I was left standing for ages to check in and was treated like a nuisance, which was irritating as it's by no means a budget site.

On the plus side their brand new toilet block opened the day we arrived, it's nice and clean although they don't trust you to set the temperature yourself!

All in all we won't return here

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coll26 10 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for 2 nights as 1st time campers and can highly recommend! Pitched our tents, checked in without fuss or wait (friday teatime).

Currently 2 shower/loo blocks and both I never had to wait to use, there is another block which is built but don't think its connected up. Everything we needed from shop, clubhouse, playground and a gorgeous stream running through. Location fab, lake views and had a super walk to pooley bridge with lunch in beer garden at local pub.

Only downside would be cost-it is a bit more expensive than a lot of other sites we look at but other side is it does offer a lot too. Shop on site and restaurant is also a bit pricey.

As camping virgins we thought this was great though for our first time and our 3year old had a cracking time too so no complaints here. Lovely clean site, staff seemed helpful and friendly and facilities all spot on.

We will def return!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluecar7 2 reviews from this member

Recently arrived home after 4 days at park foot.

Situated in a lovely area next to ullswater, but that is good as it got, on arrival we thought we had turned up at a pop festival, their was tents in every nook and cranny. At reception we were told to pitch were ever we liked [if you could find any space].

A great site for kids left to run wild as seemed the case, screaming children and noisy teenagers from 7 a. M until well after midnight, toilet blocks very clean and well maintained but at peak times queueing

20 deep in the female toilets, security seen on site which was a good plus.

Sadly will not be returning to this site but ideal for anyone liking lots of noise and camping on top of each other

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma x 1 review from this member

Me my husband and 3 year old daughter stayed at park foot over the weekend.

What a beautiful place.

When we arrived at reception the staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us all the information we needed about the site. There is a shop on site which I thought was reasonably priced. There is also a take away on site but we never used it as we had BBQ's. The club house was great, disco and entertainment for the children and Karaoke for adults. The restaurant was quiet nice too.

The views of the lake are amazing, only a short walk from pooley bridge village and 10 minute drive to penrith where there is a super market.

Over all we had a brilliant time, can't fault park foot one bit. We will be definitely be returning very soon

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stubcov 5 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site for three nights during whit week with my partner and two friends and there 1 year old.

Upon arrival we booked in and were directed towards which field we had booked (the field closet to lake - one of many fields) This field was close to the water but across from the main site on the other side of the road, we pitched our tents nearest to the lake which sheep are fenced off in (if camping in this field id recommend not pitching there as the sheep can be noisy and wind from lake was very strong one night - however the field is big enough to pitch elsewhere),

the toilet block on the site was modern and clean (20p per shower however like other reviews the place where you stand to get changed gets wet) this field is large and you can pitch where you like, and come about 2230 when it was dark it was quiet.

The main part of the site looked really good, we used the takeaway for pizza which wasn't the best, didn't use the restaurant, used bar for a drink and sat outside with it, little bit pricey.

There are two separate play areas for kids which we used and were very good. The other fields for camping at the site look very good and all seem to have plenty of room, the other fields up the hill towards the top of the site looked like they gave a lovely view of the lake etc however for us would have been to far away from toilet facilities etc.

The location of the site is nice, on the top of the site there is a pony trekking centre and behind this a pike which we climbed and got an amazing view of the lake. The site itself is about 1 mile from Pooley Bridge. There isn't much there at all, a few cafe's and newsagent and where you can hire/enjoy a boat ride.

Penrith is about 10-15 minuets away, which we dint really like to be honest, we drove to keswick and much preferred there for the day.

This site is very dog friendly with lots of dog owners using the field we stayed in. Would we recommend this site? definitely, however I wouldn't stop there again as I prefer not to stay at same place twice, next time we visit the lakes would go to windermere or somewhere around keswick instead.

The site is very family friendly and would be ideal for families with kids or younger/older campers etc.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heatherj26 4 reviews from this member

Booked to go to Park Foot for the Bank Holiday weekend. The site on booking only took a deposit as we would only lose our deposit should we not turn up. Thought that made sense.

We arrived on a beautiful day, the site was very clean and the grounds fab. We could walk to Ullswater through the site and the kids were delighted with the two play areas. There was entertainment for all, with a take away bar and restaurant. The food was very good, had a more home cooked taste than mass produced.

We were told which field we could pitch in and as we had arrived later we had to find the best position. We probably didn't chose the best spot as we were up high up and the plot not so level. Also it was very windy so we got well blasted.

On inspection of the site, there were some lovely pitches further up the site. These were tree lined with level grass areas. I would definitely go for this plot in future.

Overall, a fab site and location with new toilet blocks being built. It had everything we needed and the kids loved it. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkMcC87 1 review from this member

My partner and I spent the bank holiday weekend at Park Foot. This was our first ever camping experience together and we loved it.

Park Foot is a large family run campsite which has loads of room so we did not feel squashed up at any time. From the moment we arrived the staff at the reception were great and very polite. We stayed in the 'lake side camp site' and in my opinion I am glad we did instead of the 'club house campsite', simply because on the 'club house' side there is a lot going on. For example you have the shop, kids park, take out, club house etc etc, where as the 'lake side' is just fields.

Ullswater lake is a really nice place to chill out and the village of pooley bridge (a 5 minute walk) is a really cute little village with some good pubs and cafe's. The town of Penrith is only a short drive away so is ideal for stocking up on supplies.

The only downside in my opinion to Park Foot is the price. Given that we stayed on a bank holiday weekend we new it would be more expensive, but I feel 84 was a little steep just to pitch a tent, considering how much money we spent in the pub and shop.

Overall I would recommend this site and will certainly be camping here again

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Damo H 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 days over the Bank holiday weekend. Check-in was easy enough, I was given a map and told I could pitch anywhere I liked in the Main field. I would advise having a walk round to find a flat pitch as there are a lot of slopes.

Cannot fault the cleanliness of the site especially as it was busy. Showers were busy at peak times, but only had to wait 10 minutes.

Kids (8yr & 9yr olds) loved the playground and fishing in the stream.

Good to see security walking round at night, plus warden driving round a few times each night to ensure the no noise after midnight rule is adhered to.

Shop on site isn't cheap, we found an Aldi store in Penrith, (on the other side of J40 M6 - 15mins drive) which was ideal for beer & bbq food.

Nice area to stay with great views all round, would definitely return here & recommend the site for family's.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Giddy camper 2 reviews from this member

We have just arrived home from our first ever camping experience, 3 nights at Park Foot. We are complete novices so I shall review as we found it.

Had to queue when we arrived to check in but this was to be expected at lunchtime on a bank holiday. Only information provided to us was a map of the site and a route to our pitch, although the receptionist asked if we'd stayed at Park Foot before and we did respond saying 'we've never camped before' but no other advice was offered.

One of my prerequisites when looking for somewhere to stay was cleanliness and I had no concerns with the toilets and showers, which were always clean. I did visit the showers early morning before they were well used, from 8am onwards long queues formed. As previous posters have said the cost of a shower is 20p for 6 minutes, the water was hot but there was no where to change after.

The EHU pitch was on gravel, which we weren't keen on and as it was our first time we didn't realise we were on an incline until we'd pitched the tent (it didn't look that steep!)

The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced.

Our kids loved the two large play areas (one for aged 8 and below and one for aged 8 upwards.)

A short walk into Pooley Bridge although there is no footpath and the road is busy and narrow in places. We had a nice roast dinner in The Sun which was reasonably priced and there was a play area for the kids.

We only ventured into the site pub to watch football on the Sunday afternoon and they charged average pub prices.

The site was very busy and at times noisy but around 11pm onwards it quietened down and I was relieved to see on a midnight call to the toilets security guards patrolling the site.

Overall a nice place and the weather was great so made for a very enjoyable experience. We may re-visit Park Foot again in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1982 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here on Easter bank holiday, just the Sunday evening, arriving late afternoon with our 3 children, ages 3, 2 and 9 months, leaving Monday morning.

The road to the site from Pooley Bridge was very busy and we hadn't booked - so I was quite worried.

Got to site and it was busy. Struggled to park at reception and went it - very helpful and no worries in getting us on a pitch, where-ever we liked, which is good as others from our family were already there.

Camping areas seemed very good condition. Toilets and showers clean and in good condition (20p for 6 mins), and there was a toilet trailer on the field we were on to save any late night hikes!

Facilities very good - which I thought wouldn't be good with having young kids, but worked well as those who were there to party could do so in the club/bar, rather than near the tents where the kids were trying to sleep.

Views great too, and kids play areas good as well. Also a shop and car wash on site!

Highly recommended.

Only downside was that it was quite expensive - 28 for the night.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019