Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave71 6 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just stayed two nights at this site. It is a large commercial site with 2 main areas, one having all the main facilities including shop, club house, take away, reception etc.(All very cleanand tidy) the other being a field with toilet/shower block

We opted for the field as the main site does appear to be rather cramped and busy.

The area we stayed in was large and flat. The toilet block was in good condition and cleaned on a regular basis.

The siting of tents was totally unorganised and to be honest on a very busy weekend would be very cramped.

The site has a strict rule on noise between 12pm and 8 am. With larger groups they insist on a £10 'noise deposit' per person. However they did not appear to monitor the site. We experienced some people partying until 3 am then kids running round shouting and screaming at 7am.

Pooley Bridge is a 15 minute walk and has everything you need, good pubs shop and cafe.

If its a quiet weekend getaway you're after then this site is not for you. If its a week with the family with everything on your doorstep its perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jefflad 4 reviews from this member

Arrived after a weekends rain and the ground was very soggy! However once pitched it was fine. I would class this type of site in the same category of Haven - Clubhouse which everyone gathers in an evening to drink and be merry, through the day they are kids activities and also an excellent on site shop.
We never used the clubhouse or activities so can't comment, our impressions of the site are its very very big and a lot of people camp there over the weekends, quieter through the week. Shower block with more than enough showers / toilets / sinks and great washing up facilities for your dirty dishes.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seanus 3 reviews from this member

I last camped as a teenager and my wife had never had the experience beyond the tent in the back garden as a kid.  My kids (8 and 13) too, had their first taste.  We will all be back and doing it again, although admittedly we had the advantage of perfect warm sunny weather for our first few days away.
 
The site is flat and stone free.  We chose the pitches by the lake side.  The facilities were nipping clean (shower 20p for six minutes) and a short walk away.  Ullswater itself was a short walk from the tent (2 mins) as was the camp shop and clubhouse.  We didn't use the clubhouse but had a shifty inside and it looked well set out and organised - which was our general impression of the whole site.  A lot of activity from staff cleaning the area and maintaining it.
 
Camp store was well stocked and prices didn't seem to be too inflationary for a captive audience.
 
A nice beck runs through parts of the site so the kids can play and fish in it.  Pony trecking available from the site which our two did and we walked along side with the dog.  At £20 each for an hour it wasn't something we will do every time we stay there!  But I don't know that that is something to do with the site itself - in its defence the pony trecking was as well organised as the rest of the site.
 
A good policy, without being heavy handed, of asking everyone to pipe down by midnight.  This was policed as there was a chap who asked a nearby tent to pipe down at 12 midnight.  Makes it sound like a noisy site, but it wasn't.
 
Pooley Bridge itself was only a short walk of 15 minutes (at childs pace) away by the lakeside.  We had our border terrier with us and all of the pubs were dog friendly with a good range of real ale and food available.
 
We will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carole95 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a weeks stay with the kids, the site was very spacious, unfortunately if you have electric the size of pitch can be very limited.  The shop was fantastic very well stocked with food and camping equipment, the play park was brilliant kids spend most of there time there especially as the weather was terrific.
Shower/Toilet block was good even though it was 20p for 6 mins but they were warm and clean.  The only few things that didn't impress me was the washing amenities for the dishes as there was only 3 sinks and they were based up at the top of the park a fair bit to walk if you were on the bottom site. 
The club also wasn't very impressive for the size of the site as it was pretty small and cramped especially if they where having a show on.  There was a small games room with a few machines etc and the take away was good and so was the times they were open ideal if the kids got a bit hungry later at night.  Overall it was a good holiday and would consider going back. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Serafina100 1 review from this member

Having just returned from a long weekend at park foot I would recommend this site, this is however our first experience with camping and not really experienced enough to make judgment's.
 
The location of the site was beautiful we had our tent pitched beside the lake and couldn't of wished for a more perfect spot. We did find the camp site a little over crowded and noisy last thing at night and we seemed to be pitched next to very early risers at 7am!
 
We were a little horrified to find some campers with quad bikes riding these machines around the site when there was many children playing close by, however these individuals disappeared as fast as they arrived and we presumed they had been kicked out .
 
The site shop was always fully stocked however we found certain items well over priced, fresh baked products were always gone within the first hour of shop opening.
 
Sites showers were 20p for 6mins, toilet blocks were always full of teenagers morning and night, to which I felt a little uncomfortable with my two 7 year old trying to wash. The weekend we were there they had heavy rain and due to this the toilets and shower blocks were very muddy.
 
Other then this we had a very nice weekend, this is the only site I have been to and I'm sure I will experience worse sites.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Docwat 1 review from this member

Just spent a long weekend here and can honestly say its one of the best I have visited. Took my 12yo son with me, who loved the kid's club activities on offer each day (football,archery,tennis etc.).
The site has a well stocked shop & the showers/toilets are 1st rate. The site is within walking distance of the local village & the staff were friendly & extremely helpful. Would recommend this site to anyone & I intend to return next year with all the family for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tammy Hughes 1 review from this member

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a few days and although it was busy at the weekend, it was a lot quieter during the week.  It does get rather packed, but if you don't mind that, its a great site.  There was a shop open all day and the takeaway was handy as we ran out of gas on our last night.  There is a bar/games room/restaurant which is a good size and great for all ages.  There is a play area for the kids and a very high quality toilet/shower block.
The surrounding area is beautiful as always, you can see the lake from the lower field and has access to the lake.  There are one or two pubs around, but apart from the horse riding on site, there isn't much else.  Although the lake is amazing, again, there isn't much else to it.  Short drives out take you to some great walks and hikes. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen246 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, we arrived in torrential rain and it stayed that way all night. However, the 12 children had a fab time playing in the stream, playground and spending their pocket at the very well stocked and friendly on site shop. The shower/toilet block is the best we have come across, 20p for 6mins in the shower and free power for your hairdryer! The club was very family friendly, great music for the children to dance too. All in all a well run, clean, modern site with every facility you could wish for.
Recommend without hesitation.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Lants 8 reviews from this member

Visited the site for a weekend in June of this year. Excellent well ran site split into two separate areas. The bottom field (over the road) is for tents and the top area for caravans and tourers.
cant really comment on top site as was staying on bottom field, but it appeared a little crowded and most tents appeared to be pitched on slopes!
Take away on top site also which is handy if arriving a little later than expected On the bottom field is a very good clean and spacious shower/toilet block etc (20p for showers which lasts 6 minutes)
plenty space for washing dishes etc. Pitch sizes were ample, we had two 12 man tents and still plenty of room between pitches.

Excellent access to lakeside walks and walks around barton fell.
great walk down into howtown then get the ferry back up to pooley bridge or over to glenn ridding. Midges were a problem so make sure got pletny of jungle formula or insect burner oil lamp things.

Oh, great shop on site which was very well stocked with everything from food to toys, boats, canoes, clothes camping gear. Great time, def go back in future

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chell1967 2 reviews from this member

We arrived on site midweek. First impressions were fantastic. The site was relativley quiet and we had very good choice of pitches. We have just been introduced to camping and have a three man dome tent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent. A well stocked shop that sells absolutely everything, a restaurant and clubhouse which although we did not visit always looked very busy. We did try the take away on our last night which was great. The toilet block and washing facilities were all very clean and well maintained. 20p gets you 6 Min's of shower which is more than ample. There are two play areas and a steam runs through the middle of the site. Ideal for children. All in all a fantastic stay would definitely recommend. Cant wait for a return visit.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019