Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 519 reviews from this member

Parkfoot is a huge camp site which caters for tents, caravans, motorhomes and statics. It's in a great location and makes a good base for Ullswater and surrounding fells. Lots of entertainment, if that's what you're looking for on a site (we're not!): clubhouse, playparks, pony trekking, kids entertainment and the like. For its size, the site will well kept and managed. Excellent shop on site.

Overall, not the type of place I'd usually use but, in terms of what they do, they do it well!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 68 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights. Where we were pitched on the ehu caravan pitches seems miles from amenities. The showers and the elsan point were uphill so not great.

The showers are 20p for 6 minutes but are so powerful that your clothes wet. Perhaps if they were angled better that would help.

The shop was well stocked for all your camping needs which was the best I'd seen.

Location is very nice overlooking the lake.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ractrips76 1 review from this member

We spent a week here at Park Foot with our family and again it did not disappoint. We camped on the quieter Sandal field (away from the busier shop field one) on an electric pitch. The pitches are great, spacious and the views of the lake are amazing! There is a great bar and restaurant on site and although the prices are a little on the high side (expected in the lakes) the quality is very good and there is a wide variety. The site also has a takeaway which is a great idea if you don't feel up to cooking. On site is a fantastic shop which is like an Alladin's cave! Don't worry if you forget anything, I'm sure they stock it for you. The campsite was particularly quiet which was a bonus due to Easter holidays being different. This meant that the children had ample space to play by the little stream, on the adventure playground and on the field. My only gripe were the showers. Despite being very clean (lady works hard) unfortunately I had to complain 3 times about the temperature. The Sandal field showers were unbearably cold and the other 2 shower blocks were far too hot which were not good for children. (I heard other parents complaining too) At 1. 20 per day you would expect a decent temperature. Pooley Bridge is only 10 minutes away by foot. If you cut through the Airbeck field the views of the lake/mountains are hard to put into words. 3 local pubs serving great food, (The Crown being the better option)and a cracking tea rooms and local cafe serving excellent food and drink for lunch. All in all we had a lovely time - especially when the sun finally appeared with 3 days to go! I can imagine it would get busier/noisier in the summer as we did hear a couple of drunken arguments in the early hours at the weekend but were lucky enough to be camping away from rowdier groups. We will visit again in the future, just sort out the showers!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulw170 2 reviews from this member

This was our second camping experience in the UK and how lucky we were! The area around Pooley Bridge is simply breathtaking. The Lake is a short walk less than 5 minutes from our tent.

The site was excellent and very clean, My kids enjoyed the adventure play ground with the Zip line. We also went in the club house for a beer and the staff were excellent.

The showers and toilets were cleaned regularly, no queues although I did go for a shower about 10:00 pm, so it was probably busier earlier on.

Thought the tariff was very reasonable as we have a large tent and some sites charge extra for a bit more space!

Excellent site, we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EmRobo 8 reviews from this member

I booked to stay here with my BIL/SIL and Nieces plus my husband, two children, dog and cousin. BIL had been before and it was a half way meeting point for us all.

When pricing it up online, I thought it was a little bit more expensive than what we usually pay, but always happy to try new places.

When driving in I was shocked at how many tents there were in the field and how big it was, especially then as we drove into the reception area. It was a big site! We checked in and could pitch any where we wanted on Aibeck field - except the pitches with numbers (for EHU)

We found level ground and pitched up. The scenery was lovely, hills and ullswater in the distance.

Toilet facilities were always in use but never queued and always clean, sanitary bins didn't seem to be emptied daily but nothing major there. There were always available showers and two private cubicle washrooms as well as sinks. Plenty of plug sockets and mirrors for hair dryers and straighteners if you wanted to take them.

We took a walk to the lake each day, no more than five minutes walk, it was lovely down there.

Site facilities were good, on site shop very reasonable, opening times could be a little later.

Didn't visit the clubhouse, and the kids enjoyed the park and beck.

We took a drive around Ullswater and to Aira falls which was stunning and worth the visit! Car parking a little pricey but then you don't pay an entrance fee.

I was a little worried with reviews about noise, no noise after 12pm. Aibeck is the family field and I did notice the odd tent or two with no families, but there was no noise, the warden even told us when we were playing cards after midnight the time it was and the noise policy, felt like we had been a little naughty but I know it was just to let us know the time etc and to keep noise down.

The kids also went over and used the bouncy castle, 1 for as long as they liked to use both bouncy castles which was good. They could pay 3. 50 to do several activities and I believe there was a kids club too

We also popped into Pooley Bridge, they welcome dogs in most of the pubs there, we ate in the Jennings and then the kids went to feed the ducks and swans.

Overall I would go back at some point and we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baboonbum 5 reviews from this member

This site has been very planned out from its inception, to the position of club, shop, toilets, showers everything and all well landscaped at the same time, I think we got there just at the right time it was pretty quite as we went during Scottish school holidays, come the 18th July I think it be different, lots of showers and toilets all immaculate, we were lucky to have the dog walk area close by with only a few 'dog owners' not clearing mess usually big dogs with big business are left to the flies. The shop is well stocked and reasonable and bar prices the same. Pooley bridge is a short walk away but tip is go through the camping field on your left on way it's a safer nicer lake side walk about 25 mins, there is boat trips near by which take you to the top of the lake worth it on a nice day, if I was in that area again I would go back without doubt

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingwithstyle 2 reviews from this member

The site is very pretty, clean and tidy and it is in a perfect location, right next to Ullswater Lake. We camped in the Aikbeck field right next to the lake which I was able to catch a distant glimpse of. You can access the lake right from the Aikbeck field which was very handy as it was lovely to stroll around it and take pictures.

The site itself was noisy, in fact, one of the noisiest and busiest sites we have ever stayed at. A campsite in July is bound to be busy of course, but most schools hadn't even broken up for the summer yet when we visited. Whilst noise and hustle and bustle is of course expected, we did find it excessive there and the rules (keep noise down after 12pm and before 8am, dogs to be kept on leads etc) were not enforced during our stay.

If you can arrive early and get one of the few pitches under the trees close to the stream then, that would be a lovely location for a small tent. We arrived at 8pm on a Friday night however and ended up pitched in the middle of the field, so we felt a bit like we were in a goldfish bowl!

We went for scenery and relaxation, and whilst we definitely got scenery, it was impossible to relax or enjoy it, the site was just far too noisy and busy.

Kids were continually kicking footballs into our tent and hitting tennis balls off my car windows. This of course isn't the fault of Park Foot, but the inconsiderate campers we encountered there really didn't add to our enjoyment of the site.

From our point of view, having a massive CCTV camera and signage didn't put our minds at rest either, it made us paranoid that our camping gear wasn't safe, so every night we felt obliged to bring everything inside the tent just in case.

Onsite facilities were good, the shop was well stocked and well priced. The toilet blocks were clean but messy and busy (queues for the ladies in the Aikbeck field) and there is also a bar and fast food takeaway on site.

Kids are well catered to here with a lovely play park, woodland areas to play in and discos at the weekend. There is also bike hire and pony trekking available on site.

If you are a family and want somewhere for lots of noise and action, then this would be a great site, but for a couple or anyone who is seeking relaxation, this is not the site to visit.

You can find lots of pictures of the site on my blog.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

The site is easily located using the postcode and local signposts. Arrival is straight forward and you are pointed to reception to check in. Take your booking reference number as it will make life much easier! We had ours and were checked in quickly whereas the person next to me didn't and they had to search for it. The receptionist pointed out our pitch on the map and told us the basic site layout. The pitch was easily located had I actually listened properly after missing the turn and heading back to the exit!

The pitch we had was hard standing and was located on what was called the shop field. On the electrical tower is also a water tap which was handy. The pitch sizes are ok but it would have been a bit of a squeeze to get the car and awning on if we had taken the caravan. I had to use ramps to get the motorhome level. Wandering around the site this looked to be a common thing. Note that if you are in a tent then the pitches are far from level.

On site there were some good facilities. There was a bar which also served food. We didn't sample any of the wares so cannot comment but looked ok from the outside. For convenience there was a take away serving chips, pizzas, etc. Not the best of quality or price but passable. Toilets and showers weren't bad but I seem to remember it was 20p for 6 minutes for the shower and that you had to tuck your clothes out of the way to stop them getting wet. Fixed head and temperature.

The on site shop was a complete surprise. Far from the usually poorly stocked over priced camp shop. The shop was very well stocked with all the everyday items plus virtually everything else! Forgot your pegs, sleeping bags, BBQ, fluid, coals, food? No panic as they had it all! Prices are what I would call good, even exceptional for a camp shop.

Overall the site is kept very clean with plenty of bins and water points. Several kids play parks. Motorhome service point. Several outdoor spaces with seating and parasols for eating or drinking at. The site was pretty packed when we were there yet the facilities didn't seem to be over stretched. The location is spot on. Couple of minutes stroll and you are at the lake. From a lot of places on site you can see the lake in the background. The local village which has a small store, pubs and outdoor shop is picturesque and only a short walk along the lakeside.

I guess my only gripe about the site is that the noise rule leaves a lot to be desired. No noise between 12pm and 8am. Fine except that people push the limits and there was plenty of noise at gone 1am and nothing done about it.

Overall a good site in a cracking location with good family facilities. When busy, it really is busy! I lost count of the camping fields being used! Not necessarily for the retired couple looking for a quiet getaway, but would be fantastic for families and groups.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sheba66 3 reviews from this member

The campsite was very good and in a spectacular location. The toilet and Showers were very good our first night was very good and peaceful. On the Friday we went out for a few hours and when we got back it was no longer peaceful as there was a group of 5 cars had arrived with quite a few young people who were drinking and playing loud music which made it impossible for us to stay for the second night we had booked for so we packed up and left. It proved that you don't do checks around the campsite otherwise they would have put a stop to it. Otherwise the campsite was very good.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrbungle72 4 reviews from this member

We come here quite often.

Fantastic facilities across the whole site.

Loads of clean showers.

Onsite shop which stocks everything but beer.

Pub/Clubhouse/food on site all of which are very good.

Any noisy people are quickly moved on to the top field out the way or asked to leave.

Onsite security walk the grounds at night too which is a really nice touch.

Check for events / clubs that have booked at weekends though.

One time the HotRods and Hills Club were there and the bottom field was packed with American muscle cars and hot rods. Fine by me, but not every ones taste.

Site next to the lake so plenty to do and good walks to be had.

Just wish less people knew about this place :-)

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019