Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayelms1 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 nights at park foot for 28, absolute bargain the place is great. Very clean site and well looked after by the cleaner witch I seen every morning doing a great job. The shop was well stocked and priced very reasonably. We had a problem with the washing machine witch was sorted right away and refunded our money the staff are helpful and always willing to stop and chat, I will certainly be returning to this site later in the year even maybe next month.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LickeyEndBlues 4 reviews from this member

We opted for Park Foot as we were struggling to find a site with vacancies for the Easter weekend. I was impressed at the way they returned our call and went ahead with the booking. We didn't book electric at first as a) it was 10 pn and b) it was minimum 4 nights at Easter. 40 for electric! At 28 we felt it was a pretty hefty charge.

As the weather had turned really cold we asked about changing to electric on arrival. There was no issue about this or only staying 3 nights. So we ended up paying 38pn!

Location : What is not to like about the location. Short walk to Pooley Bridge where 3 pubs offer great selections on food and beer.

Site facilities : Showers and toilets tired and 20p a shower. Shop excellent. Food below average. Excellent children's indoor play area which also doubled up as a restaurant.

Value for money. Erm. No.

Customer service : Efficient check in, friendly shop staff but no one telling parents to look after their kids in public indoor areas

Child friendliness : Kids could run around to their hearts content

We shan't be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johno17 2 reviews from this member

Tried this site after the family decided they fancied a break in the lakes. So we went for a long weekend. Breath taking place although we did encounter the lakes weather with the rain. As for the campsite we pitched in the lower site near the river and all in all very impressed shower blocks were clean and warm ( stock up on the twenty pieces ) and good washing facilities if you don't mind unblocking the sink through a few inconsiderate campers on the main site the clubhouse does fill up quickly good little playground for the kids and quite a lot of on site activities for the kids. Site shop quite reasonably priced and well stocked. Pooley bridge is only a 5 min walk away. Looking forward to going back this year and was really impressed with the site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JacquiD4 3 reviews from this member

Park Foot came to our rescue on a very wet Bank Holiday Monday when the campsite we had booked to stay on didn't meet up to our expectations and we needed to find another site quick.

We stayed at Park Foot for 5 nights with our 3 children and dog. We were pitched on the main camping field at the top overlooking the lake on an electric pitch. Park Foot has excellent facilities, the shop is the best I have seen and very reasonably priced with friendly staff. There are 2 dog walks where the dogs can be let off safely.

There are two playgrounds which our children loved however they are taken over by older children on an evening so we needed to take the little ones out.

The toilets and showers are excellent, we didn't have to queue at all and each time we found them very clean, the showers are 20p which I feel is a small price to pay for a hot, clean shower.

The clubhouse has a children's disco each evening which our children loved, the only downside (which I don't understand why) is that dogs aren't allowed in the bar area which meant my husband had to sit outside with the dog.

This site is in a great location, a short walk to Pooley Bridge which has a great tea-room and lovely pubs which serve food and allow dogs in!

The only downside is that despite the 'noise deposit' that groups are required to pay, the final night of our stay was quite noisy in to the early hours.

A great site for families. This site would have got a 10 out of 10 but loses a point for not allowing dogs in the bar area!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainfollowsus 2 reviews from this member

My partner and I visited this site with our baby son during the busy bank holiday weekend.

The location was stunning and the stonework buildings looked beautiful. We were situated in the lower field which became incredibly muddy due to the very wet weather. I have to admit that I regretted our decision to stay in the field without electric hook-up, as the main area seemed much more appealing.

I found the other residents quite noisy, but I can honestly say that everyone we spoke to were very friendly. I wasn't keen on the washing up area, I thought the sinks were very primitive and they got blocked very easily. I also found the shower blocks quite dirty, but I feel that this was due to the sheer volume of people using them, and so we decided to shower later at night, when it was quieter.

We only visited the clubhouse once and it was so busy, we left after a few short minutes. There were children running around everywhere and it was too much.

The shop was fantastic! They had an impressive stock of groceries and camping equipment, and I should imagine they sold out of wellies that weekend. I really enjoyed our holiday at Park foot, but if we were to visit again, I would stay in the main field.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely bank holiday weekend at Park Foot. The site is pricey compared to others but you pay for the facilities and the clubroom is a great asset especially when faced with such a bleak bank holiday forecast! In the end the weather wasn't as bad as predicted so we only spent one evening in there, but the peace of mind in knowing that there is somewhere to go if you need to take shelter from the weather was very important to us. We have spent too many wet weekends hiding inside the tent listening to the rain pounding down on us!

The food in the clubhouse was great, massive portions and at very reasonable prices. The kids also enjoyed being able to go and order their own milkshakes and popcorn at pocket money prices, and boogied the night away at the disco.

The site is large and can be busy but showers and toilets are plentiful and there was never a queue. The staff were helpful. We went along to reception to ask if there were any local shows or fairs taking place over the bank holiday and the girl behind the desk offered to have a look on the internet for us, and recommended a couple of things.

We chose to head to Grasmere for their show on the Sunday and had a great day out there! The play areas are good and there was plenty of space where we were pitched (shop bottom field) for the kids to run free and have lots of fun.

There is also a handy static unit housing sinks, toilets and pot washing in this field which saves the short trek up to the main block (especially handy for those evening toilet trips!) There's a nice dog walk right around the site so even the furrier members of our family were kept very happy.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samb1 2 reviews from this member

The staff were helpful and it was a quick and easy booking in service. The toilets in the bottom field were clean when we arrived but because it was so busy and the weather bad became very dirty quickly, also the pot washing area became blocked and we had to walk a long way to the next ones available.

This campsite is in a great position, and a short walk to Pooley bridge with pubs and shops. Great access to many walks.

We have just returned back from the Bank Holiday weekend and have to say the lack of respect from most of the campers re noise and booming music from their car stereos was appalling luckily we were down in the bottom field and were away from most of it although there were plenty there too.

This is a beautiful campsite but seems definitely more of a chav site if you want heavy drinking, clubhouse, lots of noise and unsupervised children everywhere then this could be perfect for you. Shame really as its in a good position.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nikkiburg07 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Park foot. We had great weather over the six days, just a few little showers. The site was not that crowded when we arrived but filled up a lot the day we left and got very noisy and crowded, it was over the bank holiday period so maybe that's why it got so full.

Our party consisted of two adults, 10 yr old daughter, daughter's friend and one dog. We were in a large tent on the bottom section of the main site.

Overall we were happy during our stay, the kids had a fab time and were off playing all day long. The site is in a beautiful, relaxing setting, within walking distance to Ullswater Lake. The lake is great for the kids to play and splash about in.

It's a short, easy 15 min walk into Pooley Bridge where there are some great pubs serving food & drinks all day, even dog's are welcome in some of the pubs.

The site has great facilities catering for all ages. Great play areas, kids club [we did not use]. There is a little steam running through the site and many kids were playing in there and having a fab time.

There is a pony trekking centre within the grounds [private owned]. The girls had a ride costing 35 each for an hour and half, they enjoyed it I think but as they ride regular at home they found the slow walking pace of the horses a little boring.

The toilet & shower facilities are excellent, some blocks were new and very modern. Showers are 20p for 6 mins but this means there are no queues as most people only had 6 mins and were straight out.

The night entertainment is quite good too but the club house is too small for the amount of people on the site, no seats if you were not in early.

The site shop is the best I have seen, it sells almost everything, food, clothes, camping equipment etc and prices were reasonable too.

There are some things the site could improve on. There are no dog bins for dog waste. The WiFi was difficult to connect to at times. The elsan disposal points were situated in areas close to the public [play area & shower block] and were very smelly. The site needs more gravel pitches as when we arrived on our electric pitch it was very wet & boggy!. More electric pitches are also needed as there are not many on this site.

Overall this site is great and I am sure we will return next summer.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janethardman 1 review from this member

Stayed at Parkfoot on Bottom Paddock the weekend, had the most amazing time, it is right by all the amenities, shop, clubhouse and playareas.

There was a toilet and dishwashing facilities in the field too the shower block is just up by the reception.

We got a dingy and the whole family swam and sailed in the Ullswater lake just across the road from the site.

Seriously if you want a fab place and area and scenery you couldn't ask for more honestly.

Will definitely be visiting Parkfoot again and again and again. The Pooley village is a short stroll and lovely for a pub lunch and drink too.

Very Impressed and well done Parkfoot!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aristoc 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend on the Aikbeck field. The concept of being able to pitch where you like is great especially for large groups.

Checking in was like being part of a production line, functional but not terribly informative or personal.

Whilst there are a number of site rules, these weren't pointed out so people didn't adhere to them at all. The one about keeping dogs on leads is not reiterated and consequently there were dogs loose a lot of the time and not always in control. We hadn't taken our dog as we weren't sure if it would be ok, and I am glad we didn't after what we saw.

It was very noisy, even between the hours of 12 midnight and 8am, which is when it is supposed to be quiet. Noise started at 6:30am with people playing swing ball.

The shop is well stocked and for non food items, well priced.

Facilities on the main site looked excellent, although we didn't use them.

The toilet block on Aikbeck is not big enough for the number of people on the field when it is busy. The ladies was ok but the gents was overflowing and filthy.

Pooley Bridge is a lovely little town but very busy.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3526 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019