Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laineyc 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just spent a lovely 4 night caravan holiday at Park Foot and were very pleased with the site. It was very quiet as the school holidays have not started so the facilities were not stretched, but a lovely clean site. We did not try the restaurant, but we did use the takeaway which was really good and we did not feel it was overpriced. We were lucky to have really good weather and did some walking ( there are loads of walks in the area ) so we were not on site too much, we used it as a base. I would like thank the person who handed my purse into reception after I had unknowingly dropped it by the lake, Thank You!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamBaines 1 review from this member

We have just been to park foot for 2 nights 3 days! and it was lovely we stayed in the airbek field which had a brilliant view of the lake. The toilet and shower facilities wear very clean and very well stocked and was near our pitch. The camp site had a disco which was good and we also went pony trekking, there up the hills which had realy great views and was nice and relaxing. Park foot is in a great location as you can go for walks up the hills and it right next to the lake to to walk around. Would book as it was very busy, we are booking to go again we liked it that much.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jorjabram 1 review from this member

This was our 1st time camping we have two kids one is 4 and one is 11, they both enjoyed it. There was lots to do including two children's parks one for younger kids and one for the older kids. The showers and toilets were immaculate couldn't fault them at all. There was clean running drinking water and a laundry room which had your washer, dryer and irons they came in very handy after it had rained.

The camp shop supplied everything you could think off. The boating lake was great if you enjoy scenic walks. There was also a disco at night which was fun for all the family all in all it was a great place I would recommend it to anyone and we will definitely be going again thanks parkfoot.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karensmalley 3 reviews from this member

A beautiful, well maintained, family run site. It has everything you could ask for- stunning views over Ullswater, shop, takeaway, Bar / restaurant, Play areas for the kids, brilliant. We went for the bank holiday weekend a party of nine (5 adults /4 kids) in tents. The campsite is vast to say the least we were put in the lake side view camping field which was without electric hook up ; you could pitch were you wished which was great cause all our party wanted to be next to each other, which we were.

The only glitch was that this field didn't have a proper toilet / shower block. But a purpose built portaloo. With running water. It was the only downside as all the other fields had concrete toilet / shower blocks; It was only a 2min walk to the main showers and other amenities so we didn't bother too much. It has a little stream running through the middle of the campsite and is only a short walk, next to the lake to the local village Pooley Bridge.

I would highly recommend this site and will be definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dtimmiss 1 review from this member

I'm a first time camper and I couldn't have chosen a better place to go. I went with my friend and our 2 toddlers. The playpark was great- kids just wanted to play there all the time.

The toilets were very clean, the clubhouse was great- although the kids disco started late which was a shame and the shop was very handy and well stocked. We stayed near the facilities and everyone was really friendly.

There was a request that people were quiet between 12 and 8am and in the area we were staying that was followed. There was access to the lake where we sat for ages whilst the kids happily plodged in the lake. We walked to Pooley Bridge and went on a very pleasant steamer cruise to Howtown and back again, then walked back along a lakeside path which took us straight back to the campsite.

Overall a superb stay and my only regret is that it wasn't for longer. Would definitely recommend this site for families with small children.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Akela6th 1 review from this member

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a large group and as an experienced camper with the Scouts I was most disappointed. For the price, I was expecting a luxury campsite but found it to be adequate but nothing special.

We camped on the lower field which very quickly became waterlogged after a few showers of rain, I was impressed by the washing up facilities but found the water to be too cold to wash dishes which meant going back and forth with a kettle.

The shower blocks were relatively clean, the floor was obviously cleaned of mud regularly but the wash basins often had hairs and make-up wipes strewn around them. Only one bin for the entire block.

I was very cross to find that (after getting ready for a shower!) they charged 20p for 6 minutes. No advance warning of this and most annoying having to hunt for 20p pieces whilst half dressed. Oh, and they cut out after your 6 minutes is up, you can't put more than one coin in at at time so you have to step into the communal area naked and covered in soap to insert another 20p piece!

The showers were warm but uncontrollable, the water shot out over the cubicle and soaked your towels and clothes. I ended up carting a camp chair in with me to leave my clothes at a safe distance. As the cubicle was soaking wet, I changed in the communal area as it was empty, I was mortified to find out later on that someone had spotted a security camera in there, pointing directly at the showers. No warning of this at all.

There are also no seats (other than in the shower cubicle) so take your own if you want to sit to put on shoes, socks etc!

The club house was very basic and aimed at a certain type of family, not one that I would choose to mix with. We held a group event that was in an area that was reserved for us but we were constantly hampered by misbehaving children.

We didn't eat at the clubhouse as the menu was typical 'brits on tour' e.G scampi, chips, lasagne etc. You also couldn't get a hot drink in the clubhouse and if you chose to shelter there during the day, the temperature was lower than the tent!

If you intend to take a gas bottle, make sure you get it exchanged before you arrive. We struggled to find many places open in the evening and as such paid a 100% mark-up for an exchange at the campsite.

As part of a large group, we felt quite limited when they put families in the field with us (totally unnecessary when the other field was only half full) The bar at the club house shut at 11pm on the dot (clearly they haven't caught on to the new laws in this country) but we felt like naughty schoolchildren for socialising around our tents at 11.30pm. Bearing in mind, we had pre-arranged this group event some months in advance!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueste 4 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this fab site -there are gorgeous views from pitches .Ours was electric, and since going last year was now on gravel which was great. Toilets and showers always clean and loads of them. Kids played for hours on the 2 new play areas and in little stream that runs through site. Shop was great - had lots of camping gear as well if you forget anything. Little take-away was handy.

We loved to walk down side of lake to Pooley Bridge , lovely village with three pubs - all with beer gardens , and a handful of shops, ice-cream parlour etc.

We all love this site and cant wait to go back!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B.VINCENT 2 reviews from this member

First and long lasting impression was excellent. Very clean toilet and showering facilities. The main area to the site is quite neatly compact and hilly, but in high season would probably be quite packed. Very good stocked shop. Staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful.
Hard standing pitches were clean and spacious with easy access. Though we don't have young children I thought the children's play areas were well used and maintenance and safety checks were visible. The over 8s section was relatively new with a zip wire and large swing which would be good if your child had a disability.

Club house was good. The village was pretty with good eating places, but make sure you book as even in April one of the pubs was fully booked. It is a very large site and would probably be overwhelming with tents. But a great site in lower season. I would give the site 8/10 and defo go back out of the main season.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steph55 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite. We have been to Parkfoot twice in the last 6 months. The initial price is a tad bit expensive, but as the saying goes, 'you get what you pay for'.

There are two play parks for the children. One for the older and one for the younger. I did notice they have both been updated since we came in October. There is a club house you can visit in the evening and a takeaway food bar. The cmapsite shop is fully stocked and prices are very good.I have never seen so many toilets and showers. 20p gets you 6 mins in the showers, which is plenty of time. Water always at a nice temperature. The staff at the campsite are all very helpful and friendly. It is a family campsite, and out of respect for other campers noise has to be kept to a minimum after midnight, which is great.( and I`m not a person that would say no to a few glasses of wine of an evening). The views from the campsite are quite picteresque. There are some fabulous walks to be taken in. We did one at Aira Force which was fab.My little girl very much enjoyed the adventure. Close by ,there is the small village of Pooley Bridge.The Crown is worth a visit as you can sit by the river enjoying a beer or two. Or you can sit and have a coffee and relax.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jpark 1 review from this member

Great Site, great views and good pitch. Kids enjoyed the play area very much. Plenty of showers and very warm, bit of a rip off at 20p a go!. Very disappointed with the noise around 11.30pm when everyone left the clubhouse and decided to play on the swings (yes, the adults!).
Think the play areas should be locked up for this reason! Probably a bit quieter through the week. y.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3288 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019