Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
Howtown Road
Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 191 Reviews
                8/10 from 191 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bright 1 review from this member

 I cannot fault this site. Everything you need is at hand. A fully stocked shop, takeaway and restaurant.

The site is immaculate, showers and toilets are spotless.

Pooley Bridge is a pleasant 10 minute stroll away.

Well done to all staff who work there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amym28 1 review from this member

 Fantastic week away at Park Foot. The site is very well organised, play parks well equipped and suitable for all ages, kids loved it!

Shower/toilet facilities Very clean and well monitored.

The staff in the office and all around the camp site were extremely helpful, friendly and professional, listening to our needs and taking their time to support us as a family.

A short walk into the village and to the lake where you can use your own water equipment, go fishing or just throw stones into the water.

I have been coming to this campsite since I myself was 7 years old, 20 years on I am now bringing my family and will continue to do so. We just LOVE IT! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Shazza murphy 1 review from this member

 Lovely and clean, restaurant was delicious.

Everything well maintained.

Dog friendly.

Staff all very welcoming.

Toilets and showers were nice and clean 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 562 reviews from this member

 Huge campsite on the shores of Ullswater.

There are several areas, but we used Aikbeck which is closest to the lake and Pooley bridge.

Club house and entertainment provided on site.

Well stocked shopping.

Facilities modern and well maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Telbuoy 1 review from this member

 A site with lovely views of Ullswater, spoilt by its massive size, overcrowding, tiny packed in pitches & badly run by teenagers.

So if you’re loud, brash with a shed load of kids & couldn’t give a monkeys you’ll love it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jusbluey 25 reviews from this member

 My partner & I were lucky to spend 4 fantastic nights on this campsite. The weather was sensational making the views even more glorious. This is a large campsite divided by the road.

We were pitched at the lower end with fab views of the Lake. We spent our days walking in the area, using the ferry & bus. I thought the shower facility was ok, free & warm, with a small area to sit or place your clothes.

The 15min walk into Pooley Bridge is fine, there are 3 pubs, but due to the incredible no of people partaking of liquid & food refreshment we did not eat at any of them.

It was obvious the glorious weather had drawn many people to the area. We returned to the site on Friday after walking in Patterdale only to find that all camping fields were filling up with tents, in fact I thought it resembled a refugee camp.

There didn't seem to be any form of warden control & people were virtually doing just as they liked. The same old story that some thoughtless so & so's thought it was ok not to clear up after their dogs (& there were many dogs, which I don't have a problem with as I have 3).

Signs saying dogs to be kept on leads were ignored (mind you some children needed keeping on a lead). It did seem at times that all & sundry had access to the private footpath down to the lake.

Had it not been for the good weather I would have been very disappointed.

It was not a site for me & it is highly unlikely that we would visit again, which is a shame because it is in a great location 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

 No wonder this site has won the award for best campsite of the year. Lovely grassed area's but hard standing where required.

There is a shop, bar and recreation area but Pooley Bridge is only 3/4mile away where there are more shops and nice pubs.

The walk is very pleasant as the path runs along the embankment of the lake. Most places around the lake are well accessible by path or road albeit narrow ones in a lot of places.

The only down side for us was that the tents not too far away were a bit noisy and they didn't adhere to the camp rules of reduced noise after 11pm.

Prices without electric were very good at £15 per night 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pinkfloyd 19 reviews from this member

 Re-visited this caravan and tenting park after approx 15 years since last visit. Sad to say little has changed apart from the huge price increases.

Still using the same ‘Portaloos’ we had all those years ago, for £30 a night at Weekend this was way too much to pay.

Pitches are just the same as always were, no improvement on site as far as we could see. Food ‘Take away’ costs for a tiny offering of chips was unbelievably expensive, staff need to learn how to accept money from paying customers, not grab it out of your hand without a Thanks.

Not impressed by manageress who seemed to think our complaints were ‘funny’ by laughing at us! Very disappointed overall with this site, not helped by rather amateurish staff on the phone dealing with people who had genuine reasons for concern.

Only 1 Elsan point in very large caravan/camping field too. Come on Parkfoot, you can do better than this for the money! Won’t be back here in a hurry! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 Just got back after a 3 day stay. It does help that the weather was so perfect. As many others have stated it is a large site and after paying our £60 for 2 nights, (it being a bank holiday), were directed to the field known as lake view. We got a bit lost luckily and found a superb pitch by the stream. You wouldn't want to be in lake view.

It's on the top of a hill and the showers and lavatories are at the bottom of the hill. There are few level pitches available and the 'Lake View' is only possible by peering through the trees!

We had great neighbours who had left us all plenty of room. We did the fell walk to Howtown, got sunburnt and can hardly move today with aching muscles.

Got the steamer back to Pooley Bridge. Went to the social club where they had live entertainment which was an utter hoot, like something out of Phoenix Nights.

We loved the whole weekend and aim to return at some stage. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TourTom 3 reviews from this member

 First impressions were the size and how busy the place was. This was not a problem, but a vast majority of Clientele were walking around with cans of Stella in hand, when they were taking there kids to the park, etc, at lunchtime, and for the remainder of the Saturday, so there was no wonder that a Punch Up ensued that evening outside the Clubhouse!

The Park has rules displayed on boards, but unfortunately no rules are enforced. An Example of this being the amount of Dogs roaming around, defecating all over, without there owners acknowledging or picking up. This was observed on numerous occasions!

My party decided this was due to the busyness and it being a Bank holiday weekend, so we'd not right it off yet. The park is in a lovely setting, and easy access to the Lake.

There appeared only 1 Elsan disposal, and 1 shower/toilet block, which was less than adequate for the size of park.

The site quietened down after the weekend, and we were in a great EHU spot (Pitches A-O)

The final nail in the coffin came on our last day/night when a family consisting of 6 Tents and additional camper vans rocked up. They persisted on playing Cricket on the grass in the middle of the pitches, but without any consideration for others, thought they were playing the Ashes by blasting the ball all over, so if you cherish your Car or Van, you would be returning home with additional dents! They also had 3 dogs roaming freely, and pestering our friends tied up Puppy and Dog. 1 of there dogs crapped behind the tents, and when there second performed the same Act, I informed the party of 20+. I was initially blanked and ignored, it was only the second complaint, that they went looking to picking them up.

A friend of ours informed security of there behaviour, and it took them over 20 minutes to arrive, as they were dealing with another incident. However, the dogs were continuing to roam free, so whatever was discussed had no impact.

The site was also very expensive and you did not really get value for money.

This place is not a friendly place to visit, and it seems to attract a certain type of individual. I must stress, however, that there were also a lot of respectable types, but we will most certainly not be going back. 


Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2122 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement