Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 20 reviews from this member

My partner & I were lucky to spend 4 fantastic nights on this campsite. The weather was sensational making the views even more glorious. This is a large campsite divided by the road. We were pitched at the lower end with fab views of the Lake. We spent our days walking in the area, using the ferry & bus. I thought the shower facility was ok, free & warm, with a small area to sit or place your clothes. The 15min walk into Pooley Bridge is fine, there are 3 pubs, but due to the incredible no of people partaking of liquid & food refreshment we did not eat at any of them. It was obvious the glorious weather had drawn many people to the area. We returned to the site on Friday after walking in Patterdale only to find that all camping fields were filling up with tents, in fact I thought it resembled a refugee camp. There didn't seem to be any form of warden control & people were virtually doing just as they liked. The same old story that some thoughtless so & so's thought it was ok not to clear up after their dogs (& there were many dogs, which I don't have a problem with as I have 3). Signs saying dogs to be kept on leads were ignored (mind you some children needed keeping on a lead). It did seem at times that all & sundry had access to the private footpath down to the lake. Had it not been for the good weather I would have been very disappointed. It was not a site for me & it is highly unlikely that we would visit again, which is a shame because it is in a great location

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

No wonder this site has won the award for best campsite of the year. Lovely grassed area's but hard standing where required. There is a shop, bar and recreation area but Pooley Bridge is only 3/4mile away where there are more shops and nice pubs. The walk is very pleasant as the path runs along the embankment of the lake. Most places around the lake are well accessible by path or road albeit narrow ones in a lot of places. The only down side for us was that the tents not too far away were a bit noisy and they didn't adhere to the camp rules of reduced noise after 11pm. Prices without electric were very good at £15 per night

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pinkfloyd 19 reviews from this member

Re-visited this caravan and tenting park after approx 15 years since last visit. Sad to say little has changed apart from the huge price increases. Still using the same ‘Portaloos’ we had all those years ago, for £30 a night at Weekend this was way too much to pay. Pitches are just the same as always were, no improvement on site as far as we could see. Food ‘Take away’ costs for a tiny offering of chips was unbelievably expensive, staff need to learn how to accept money from paying customers, not grab it out of your hand without a Thanks. Not impressed by manageress who seemed to think our complaints were ‘funny’ by laughing at us! Very disappointed overall with this site, not helped by rather amateurish staff on the phone dealing with people who had genuine reasons for concern. Only 1 Elsan point in very large caravan/camping field too. Come on Parkfoot, you can do better than this for the money! Won’t be back here in a hurry!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Astral weeks 6 reviews from this member

Just got back after a 3 day stay. It does help that the weather was so perfect. As many others have stated it is a large site and after paying our £60 for 2 nights, (it being a bank holiday), were directed to the field known as lake view. We got a bit lost luckily and found a superb pitch by the stream. You wouldn't want to be in lake view. It's on the top of a hill and the showers and lavatories are at the bottom of the hill. There are few level pitches available and the 'Lake View' is only possible by peering through the trees!

We had great neighbours who had left us all plenty of room. We did the fell walk to Howtown, got sunburnt and can hardly move today with aching muscles. Got the steamer back to Pooley Bridge. Went to the social club where they had live entertainment which was an utter hoot, like something out of Phoenix Nights.

We loved the whole weekend and aim to return at some stage.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TourTom 3 reviews from this member

First impressions were the size and how busy the place was. This was not a problem, but a vast majority of Clientele were walking around with cans of Stella in hand, when they were taking there kids to the park, etc, at lunchtime, and for the remainder of the Saturday, so there was no wonder that a Punch Up ensued that evening outside the Clubhouse!

The Park has rules displayed on boards, but unfortunately no rules are enforced. An Example of this being the amount of Dogs roaming around, defecating all over, without there owners acknowledging or picking up. This was observed on numerous occasions!

My party decided this was due to the busyness and it being a Bank holiday weekend, so we'd not right it off yet. The park is in a lovely setting, and easy access to the Lake.

There appeared only 1 Elsan disposal, and 1 shower/toilet block, which was less than adequate for the size of park.

The site quietened down after the weekend, and we were in a great EHU spot (Pitches A-O)

The final nail in the coffin came on our last day/night when a family consisting of 6 Tents and additional camper vans rocked up. They persisted on playing Cricket on the grass in the middle of the pitches, but without any consideration for others, thought they were playing the Ashes by blasting the ball all over, so if you cherish your Car or Van, you would be returning home with additional dents! They also had 3 dogs roaming freely, and pestering our friends tied up Puppy and Dog. 1 of there dogs crapped behind the tents, and when there second performed the same Act, I informed the party of 20+. I was initially blanked and ignored, it was only the second complaint, that they went looking to picking them up.

A friend of ours informed security of there behaviour, and it took them over 20 minutes to arrive, as they were dealing with another incident. However, the dogs were continuing to roam free, so whatever was discussed had no impact.

The site was also very expensive and you did not really get value for money.

This place is not a friendly place to visit, and it seems to attract a certain type of individual. I must stress, however, that there were also a lot of respectable types, but we will most certainly not be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 16 reviews from this member

This isn't a bad site, but its run on a very commercial basis by young employees who don't really seem very interested in whether visitors have a good experience or not.

We were in the camping field near the lake so had a bit of a view (although the hardstanding pitches along the edge get the best view. ). Apart from the hardstanding pitches which are clearly marked, the rest of the field is a free for all, so there is always the risk of returning from a day out to find you've been surrounded by a large and noisy family group. The drainage on the field was terrible so it was beginning to turn into something of a quagmire.

It's a great location - a short walk into Pooley Bridge with a choice of pubs and a lovely tea-room. It also has a great independent village store open till 10 (pricey but with a lovely range of goodies). The scenery around the lake is stunning and there is loads to do, even in the inevitable wet weather.

I just didn't like the atmosphere of the site - its a holiday park for tents which is fine if that's what you want. I'm sure its great for big family groups. It is pricey though - £23 with no EHU and you still have to pay 20p for the showers! Not one I'd recommend unless you don't have a choice.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sans31 1 review from this member

We've stayed here quite a few times and have always enjoyed it but after this visit we won't be back.

We decided to take our grandchildren ( aged 2 and 5) camping for two nights. The first night was great- busy but still room for the kids to play. The second day went downhill. On arriving back from a day out we were greeted with blaring music and not a square foot spare for the kids to play. There were tents rammed in any available space. The tents next to us were at the most 3 foot away (I understand camping and caravan club recommend at least 6 meters).

Many were barbecuing and drinking which is fine as they all ended the night by 12 but the people next to us sat talking till half 3 in the morning swearing rather a lot. Bearing in mind we had two young children this was out of order. The night before wardens were visable patrolling but when they were needed no one!

So my concerns are the fire risk if one tent caught fire the lot would go up and the lack of segregation between large groups who want to party and those with young families who want space and a quieter life.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gdughan 1 review from this member

Being a bit worried after reading some earlier reviews Park Foot wasn't our first choice but other options weren't available. It really is a bit site but pitches were generous in size and the site was well kept and the facilities great. The staff were all polite and helpful and the shop seemed to have everything. Plenty on site for youngsters to play and access to the lake is good. Pooley Bridge is a 20 minute casual walk with numerous paddling diversions for the dogs.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littleonechris 1 review from this member

This is the second time I have been to the site. The first time I went with my children. They had a wonderful time. They spent all the time we were on site at the park and we enjoyed the entertainment available.

The second time it was just myself and my partner. When I arrived the receptionist didn't look like she wanted to be there. She was borderline rude and not very helpful. It is not difficult to make eye contact and a smile goes a long way.

The pitch was good, nice and close to the toilets and showers. The showers were lovely and warm and the pressure was good. My only problem with the showers is the payment box. It is located out of the cubicle which means you need to come out of the cubicle to insert the money. The water comes on instantly which means your towel or clothes end up wet as you come back in.

All in all I did like the site and pretty sure we will be back

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debbiemon 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights, with our dog, in our motorhome. We were a little wary as it is a big site and we don't usually like big sites but we just LOVED this site. It was a little busy over the weekend, but thinned out and was then very quiet. The actual site facilities were really good, clean toilets and showers, fab shop, and right next to the lake. It is an easy walk into Pooley Bridge, with its great pubs and cafe. We caught the steamer to Glenridding, and back, which was amazing. You can walk up to the fells at the back of the campsite, and view the lake and mountains. We will definitely be going back next year.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1526 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1519