Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mgarland 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 4 days in July and had a fantastic time. The weather was great so we were able to do lots of things in this beautiful part of Britain. We went for walks round Ullswater and the children played in the water, we walked to Pooley Bridge a nice village with a few shops, we went on a boat on the lake at Keswick whcih I would recommend.

The site is suitable for all ages and has a well stocked shop and entertainment.

You can walk from the top of the site onto the fells there is a waterfall half way up, well worth the walk for the fantastic views over Ullswater.

This is definitely a site we will be visiting again and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deightweetabix 1 review from this member

2nd visit to this site over a few years.

Good Points:

Great facilities including a take away, bike hire, large pub, beer garden and large shop.

Generally well kept site, clean and with great views on the higher pitches and a stream running through it.

Great location only a short lakeside walk to Pooley Bridge for 3 pubs/food, shops and the Lake Steamer to Glenridding.

Not-so-good points:

The capacity of the pub does not match the capacity of the site at peaks times i. E. Overcrowded and very noisy. The only site I've been to with bouncers on the door.

Lakeview field has a dingy trailer as it's closest WC block. Functional but not worth the price.

It's a 'Chav's site' really, friendly yes, but be warned if it's not what you're looking for. Fantastic for kids.

Lower field can be noisy at night away from the prying eyes of the wardens.

Claims to be dog friendly but none are allowed in the bar.

Overall the site is excellent, just the people that can let it down a bit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DonnaSimon 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here in July and had a brilliant time, the walks/countryside and the little village of Pooley Bridge are beautiful. The toilet/shower block were clean and tidy, 20p for a shower.

The on site family pub has great entertainment for the kids and is very relaxing to enjoy a drink. Pooley Bridge is very much child orientated so please be aware that there are a lot of children on this site - lots of things for them to do. The pitch we had was private which I think is much better than tents being on top of each other.

Pooley Bridge holds a place in our hearts in anyway as we have visited here for years but staying in B&Bs - so it was a nice change to be camping, I would definitely go back and up to now Pooley Bridge would be my first choice anywhere

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Localknoxville 2 reviews from this member

Great campsite, we stayed here just for 1 night as we were just trying out the new tent.

We stayed on the overfill site, just over the road from the main site, we pitched the tent so it was overlooking the Lake, which looked amazing in the sunshine.

Showers/toilet blocks are very good, clean and tidy.

Pooley Bridge is just a short walk and is a lovely little place.

The shop is excellent and has loads of things that you'll need if you forget things, it's not a rip offer, the same as my local corner shop really.

We will defo stay here again but for longer next time

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simsterxx 1 review from this member

Just back from 14 nights at Park Foot - a stay that be best described as the good, the bad and the ugly!

The good - the facilities are first class, well maintained, and the staff could not have been more helpful during our stay. The location is perfect, the shop has everything, and the clubhouse, grounds and amenities are maintained to a very high standard. Pooley Bridge is minutes away, and we found the north end of Ullswater to be an excellent base from which to see explore this area of the Lake District.

The bad - whilst it is clearly detailed that the noise 'curfew' is midnight, in reality it is about 2am at weekends in the lower (lake) field. The security staff did their best to enforce it, but when their first round is 12. 45am and the second one is 1. 30am. It meant that we were quite disturbed at weekends. This may not be a problem for some, but be aware that Park Foot is 2 very different campsites - weekday versus weekend!

The ugly - following on from the above, I remain speechless at the inconsiderate attitude of some people. Granted they are a minority, but their behaviour at the weekend was a sight to behold. In hindsight, we would definitely have preferred Waterside (next site along) - simply because the continual swearing and general volume late at night at weekends was unbearable at times.

In summary, a fabulous site let down to an extent by their commercial exploitation of the great unwashed element within our society. If they rigidly enforced their midnight noise curfew, and clamped down on inconsiderate behaviour by a few idiots, this site would be immeasurably improved.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sally973 5 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site, looking forward to going back next year. It is perhaps the nicest site I have visited. I am normally put off by large camps, as they have a habit of attracting rough elements. However this was not the case.

The showering and toilet facilities were incredibly clean, even the showers at 11 am were clean, and there was plenty of hot water. Same with the washing up facilities can not find fault.

I liked the fact that there were 2 playgrounds so that the small children were not taken over by the pre-teens.

Reception were helpful and efficient - my only complaint was being given the wrong directions to the area we were staying.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

A beautiful site located on the shores of Ullswater.

The site staff were helpful and courteous at all times, even helping to move people's tents when they weren't there to stop them being washed away in the extreme weather!

The facilities were all clean and well maintained but remember to take a supply of 20 pence pieces for the showers (20p for six minutes (timings vary between shower cubicles)) and a few pound coins for the laundry (2 per wash, 2 per tumble dry).

The only downside that we saw at this site was that it claimed to be dog friendly only to find that dogs were not allowed in the club house. This meant that if we wanted to have a couple of drinks we would have to sit outside under the smoking shelter in the cold, and that we couldn't use the on site restaurant.

The local town (Pooley Bridge) is extremely dog friendly and we would highly recommend The Crown as a place to enjoy a meal and a pint (or two!). The staff were welcoming and before we had the chance to order a drink, a bowl of water was placed on the floor for our 2 dogs.

There is plenty to do and see in the area, even if it's chucking it down and there are leaflets available at all tourist information offices for dog friendly wet weather attractions.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Southnessie 2 reviews from this member

When we arrived at parkfoot first impressions the buildings were lovely it was very clean looking a great play area for the kids.

The toilet block was spotless and huge, the showers worked well plenty hot water for your 20pence for 6mins which after rushing the first shower realised 6mins is plenty long enough. There are washing machines which are great and the shop is lovely and very very well priced.

When in the campsite office paying for our pitches (went with family) I was a little disappointed in the manner in which we were served, don't get me wrong the lady was not at all rude just lack of interest. It was our first weekend away this year I really don't ask for much but her approach down graded the place for me there was no smile, no how's your day been nothing and as to me the office is the place that is first and foremost sells the idea to you I was disheartened, such a shame because if we had got someone else on a good day our opinion may have been very different.

When we followed the map to our pitch was disappointed to say the least yes we did pitch and never asked to be moved as prob on reflection would have been the ideal thing to do, it was pouring with rain we just wanted pitched. The look of the place lovely yet again but then we had dogs barking a few times over the weekend, especially in the morning, children kicking balls into our tent time and time again.

From the Sunday afternoon most people had left and we still had another night the sun came out, it was a much more pleasant place to be.

I think I just enjoy the smaller campsites much more.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustywatt 4 reviews from this member

Second visit to Park Foot and was not disappointed again. Site has everything you need including what can only be described as a tardis of a shop. Has everything you need.

Opted for the Main field this time around near the stream and easy reach of the reception area, toilets, washing up area. Only downside this time was that the main field toilets were closed. Thankfully we were pitched within easy reach of the toilet block in the Aikbeck field.

Classed as mid season price so it worked out as 40 for 2 adults, 1 child, 1 dog staying for 2 nights. No designated pitch and there were only a couple of other people in that field so was very quiet.

So much to do on the doorstep. Pooley Bridge has a few good pubs. For the more adventurous, a longer walk back towards the A66 then turning off to Dacre (signposted 18th century inn) bears a little gem of a pub. Makeshift pond with some ducks is different but very entertaining. Stopped for a quick drink but would like to go back for food.

Another fantastic stay and will no doubt return again and do some more walking round Glenridding and Patterdale. Thank you Park Foot

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KateB1975 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Park Foot for three nights over the May bank holiday weekend. We opted to stay on the Aikbeck Field, which is across the road from the main site, as we didn't need hook up and wanted to be on the quieter part of the site. There were 9 of us plus 2 dogs, staying in 3 separate tents.

The site was never crowded, although I think the forecast of freezing cold weather may have put some people off! We had ample space for all three tents and four cars, and as there are no marked pitches on this field we were able to arrange the tents around a central area for sitting and eating, talking etc.

We pitched the tent without any problem, a couple of tough spots but we got the rock pegs in. The field is nice and level and was in excellent condition despite a spell of wet weather prior to our trip.

The site itself has excellent facilities. We didn't use the club house as we had the dogs with us, but the on site shop sells everything you might need and I enjoyed a stroll over there every morning to get papers and a nice warm croissant or pain au chocolat. The toilets and showers were fine, showers were 20p for 6 minutes which was ample time for me. The only thing is, you have to be very careful about where you put your clothes to make sure they don't get soaked! A couple of the showers were out of order for some of the time we were there, but the maintenance people were on the ball and got everything sorted very quickly. There are sockets in the toilets for hairdryers etc. And there are also two private wash cubicles which were great for getting dressed in as it was so cold in the tent first thing in the morning!

Wardens came round every day to check the tickets on your tents. There were quite a lot of groups on our field, and on one night in particular, the quiet after 12 rule was blatantly ignored - no loud music, just a lot of talking and laughing until the early hours. Didn't bother us that much but just worth noting that they don't seem to enforce that particular rule too much on the Aikbeck Field. Washing up facilities were good, plenty of hot water - a couple of the sinks got blocked up but again, were very quickly sorted out by the maintenance team.

Pooley Bridge was a gentle 20 minute stroll along a lakeside path which was great with the dogs and the three children who were with us, as you could relax and not worry about traffic. There are a few little gift shops, and Morrisons in Penrith is very handy for a bigger food shop. There are three pubs, we visited them all for liquid refreshment, all accepted dogs and children and were very welcoming. We ate twice in The Crown - good pub food at very reasonable prices. We also had an evening meal at Granny Dowbekin's which was lovely, and again, welcomed dogs. We went on a trip on the lake to Glenridding which was lovely although a little chilly!

All in all a very good site which I am sure we will return to as it is very easy for us to get to.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4101 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019