Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Walker Rambler 6 reviews from this member

I stopped for 3 nights and apart from the noise from other site users during the night, I thought the site was excellent. The toilets were always clean. I thought the showers for 20p for 6 minutes was excellent, probably the best showers on lakeland campsites. The shop was well stocked with a good variety of stuff. The clubhouse was good and did a good variety of food, either takeaway or eat in.

The only complaint I had was the noise during the night from other site users. I realise that this is a family site where people come to enjoy a drink and barbecues etc. But as I do a lot of walking and enjoy a good night's sleep, I realise that in future it will be best to use the site on weekdays instead of weekends. This is not a complaint, just a passing comment as I have used the site previously and know what to expect.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

Hellish Weekend at Parkfoot! Booked on this site as a last resort for the Bank Holiday weekend. The site is much larger and more commercial than we usually go to. The toilet blocks were not sufficient to cope with the capacity of visitors. The shower block warranted a 10-15 minute queue if you could even get in the door for people with hairdryers and teenagers with hair straighteners plugged in next to all the hand washing sinks.

We were unfortunate to have a large party of 18 - 25 year olds next to us. They were still going strong at 3am, drinking, singing, playing guitars, shouting, swearing and peeing up against peoples tents! We complained after the first night and were told that security would deal with it.A bit late by then! Anyway, the scene was played out again on saturday night and the sunday night. Despite getting up at midnight and finding a campsite staff member, nothing changed. I feel very annoyed that the campsite boasts its noise policy but does not enforce it. We were given a full refund of the weekends fees (approx 150 for a tent!) but only after 30 minutes 'discussion' with the staff on the site.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GillyR 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the fourth time recently and we love it. It was probably the soggiest weekend of the year, but park Foot is such a great place, even mud and rain can't get you down. Park facilities are excellent, with two play grounds, a shop which is open from 8-8pm, and everything else you can think of: clubhouse, takeaway, laundry room etc. Toilets and showers are excellent and very clean.

Probably the best I have visited for kids and dogs. There is a wonderful dog walking area which goes right round the site.

The village of Pooley Bridge is about a mile away, and it's lovely. There is a great dog friendly pub which has nice ales and serves food (I think it's called The Crown). Would definitely recommend to families and couples who don't mind a bit of noise now and then. This is one of those places where you could have a BBQ with your friends without people whinging! It's all quiet from 12 midnight to 8am, and this has always been pretty much adheared to when we have been.

Over all, and excellent choice!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 32 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend and site was very busy. Lovely site with great views. Situated just outside Pooly Bridge which is a lovely little village with three pubs and a couple of small shops.

Park has its own shop which stocks most items you may need. Great pub and takeaway on site.

Plenty of showers but still had to queue most mornings but always kept very clean.

Although we didnt get the best of weather we thoroughly enjoyed here and hope to return soon.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neithete 2 reviews from this member

My husband, daughter and I go camping at Parkfoot at least 3 times a year! The site has everything you could possibly think of for family camping.
I have noticed a few comments saying there are only 3 sinks for dishwashing, there are more sinks behind the wall where these sinks are and there are also sinks located by the shower block. I think about 9 in all.
The shower blocks are always clean and warm, and 20p for a 6 minute shower is more than long enough.

The top field gives a lovely view down over the lake and although it is on a slight slope, we have never found this to be a problem. We also enjoy camping by the beck. Its lovely to see children playing and fishing there, and its also a must for sitting with your feet in it on a hot summers evening with a nice glass of wine.
The site shop is by far the best I have ever found, Peter is very frendly and always willing to help or advise you where to go if he doesn't have something in that you need. The clubhouse is nice and friendly but the bar is a bit expensive. Food is good, and take away is very handy if you want a hot supper. Lots of stuff for the kids to do in holiday time, pony trekking and archery etc. There are lots of lakeland walks for those who like to go adventuring.

Pooley bridge is a great little place and has everything you'd expect. Great pub grub, post office/off licence, camping store, tea rooms, and tourist information. Ullswater Steamers have cruises every day but check timetables as it's a long walk back from glenridding! I know we will Definitely be going back to see Mrs Allen and all at parkfoot again. Wouldn't go anywhere else.!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wormy 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in April 2007. This site is absolutely outstanding! The pitch was clean and level, we were pitched right next to the beck that runs through the site, lovely! The onsite shop was well stocked with fresh bread, fruit and veg on a daily basis. It also had camping equipment and gas, gifts and loads of stuff for the kids, everything was reasonably priced. The toilets and shower blocks were spotless and cleaned LOTS! There were mirrors and electric points for every sink. The club house looked really good and lots of other campers frequented it, but we chose to stay at our tent and have a BBQ. Pooley Bridge is lovely and the pubs are great, lots of shops to browse. There is a steamer that tours the lakes but we didnt have time to go on it! We are definitely booking up for next year! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben McDougall 1 review from this member

We found the Park Foot campsite the perfect site for us, as beginner(ish) campers.

We pitched our tent in the lake site field which was quiet (it was later September), had great views of the lake and a small beck running through it. The main field looked very pleasant too.

Staff where helpful, very well stocked on-site shop with food and camping kit, excellent and clean wash and shower facilities. We didn't try the club house but went to the local town (10 mins walk) for pub grub which was very nice.

We would definitely go again so we can continue exploring the walks around the lake and its surrounding hills.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonnyrev 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week during our summer holidays. It was a lovely park, only downside for us was hard standing for the awning. (Not good when you have a 1 year old) The scenery surrounding it was brilliant. The club house was ok but packed every night, could be slightly larger for the people they accomodate on site. The shop was excellent, with everything you need. There were 2 childrens play area's, both were ok. The shower block was a bit of a walk but always clean and plenty of them. Would go back but not for a long time but only due to distance travelled. A lovely site.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alkaz 10 reviews from this member

Husband and me stayed here for a long weekend. We last stayed 10 years ago when kids were whingeingteens. Today It cost us 18 a night that included elec,awning & aerial hookup. When we booked we asked for a pitch with the best TV reception, these are pitches 1-5 and are on a hard standing area with a bit of grass, they were also next to a stream which was quite pleasant and the area very quiet.

You do have to pay for the showers but 20p goes a long way and we did'nt begrudge paying it. The touring area lower down near to the road was a bit busy with a lot of weekenders so I can't comment on whether it was noisy at night or not.

Out of season it is quite good value especially for 2 adults but with kids etc and Aug bank holiday I noticed it was over 30 a night, at that price I would expect free showers!

The shop on site was very good and had anything you needed.

The lakeside walk from Howtown to Glenridding was done (6.5 miles) this finished us off for the day, although a group of cyclists made me laugh as one of them was going to negotiate the rough terrain with a shopper bike. After having lunch at the Travellers Rest pub(wonderful view when you get there) we boarded the steamer (9.00 for 2) for our return to Howtown, as we disembarked the 3 cyclists were boarding, I would have liked to ask how much walking they did WITH their bikes as some of the terrain wasn't suitable for a bike at all.

I would definitely visit this site again but not on a Bank Holiday or in season and would ask for pitches 1 -5.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vangogogo 7 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights in the middle of August and it was brilliant, wanted to stay longer.

Main toilet block was spotless but didn't think much of the portaloo at the bottom of the site, dirty and full of moths, even my husband wouldn't use it. Only other thing I didn't like was there was only one area for washing dishes which was quiet a trek with a basin full of dirty dishes.

Club house was good, food was excellent, drink a little expensive.

Shop was the best stocked site shop I've seen so far and very reasonable.

Next to lake Ullswater which my kids loved, could have spent all day there with the dinghy.

Will return next year for longer but will go without EHU and pitch in the bottom field right next to the lake.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4351 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019