Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Victoriaharry 1 review from this member

Just come home from our first ever camping experience, the site was fantastic, cant praise it enough, the only problem now being other parks may not be up to this standard. The showers were spotless and the staff so friendly. We will definitely be returning.

The shop was extremely well stocked and no more expensive than the other local shops, our teenage children amused themselves well in the adventure area. We also took our two dogs with us and there were some very nice well marked walks around the campsite.

The weather was fantastic and we honestly feel like we have had a long relaxing break, cant wait to go again

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SueSpeight 1 review from this member

We stayed at Park Foot for four nights; the weather was great, although it was very cold at night! Only to be expected in early April!

The campsite itself has great facilities: a lovely little grocery shop, which has very reasonable prices. We have stayed on lots of campsites, and this is by far the most reasonable in terms of how much they charge for everyday items. The shops sells groceries, fresh bread, dairy, fresh (and high quality) meats for bbqs, as well as barbecues, sleeping bags, etc.

The Country Club serves breakfasts & evening meals and has a very reasonably-priced bar - no inflated prices for pints here! The take-away was very good too.

The showers, toilets are the cleanest and most well-kept I have ever experienced on a campsite and really cannot be faulted!

I would highly recommend this campsite, as it offers excellent value for money, a wonderful setting, and very friendly helpful staff.

We shall definitely be going back! :o)

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gailybailey 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights, 3 families, 3 tents.

Excellent site.

Loads of showers and toilets, never had to queue. Have to pay 20p for a shower, but not a problem at all, as it lasts for 6 mins, which is plenty, even when I took my daughter in with me.

We had 4 children in our group and they were kept busy with the two playgrounds.

Shop is very well stocked and you could probably just turn up with a tent and buy everything else required!

We had a drink and a meal in the restaurant on our last night (thought we had better visit it!) Good food and reasonable prices. There was no 'entertainment' on in the club house, but not our thing, so no problem there either.

We all agreed we would all definitely visit again.

Good base for getting around and visiting.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Piratecamper 1 review from this member

Visited for first time with our new tent and brought along some new campers with us, they were hooked immediately.

Nice clean site, was very busy on arrival on the Saturday but a lot of visitors just weekend guests by Sunday dinner there was only 6 outfits left on the Airbeck field by the lake. We had a partial lake view too. Nice facilities and a well stocked shop too, got up early most mornings to get warm pain au chocolat from shop. Went in the bar a couple of nights which always seamed busy.

It was quite noisy on the Saturday night but we weren't too bothered as we sat up anyway having been a very sunny day. There was a large school type camp in the corner of the field, we were woken quite early by teenagers going to the toilet and washing up at around 7.30am but the instructors kept them in check on the evenings during the week and the site was usually quite for around 11pm.

Apart from that enjoyed a lovely week away except the usual lakes weather 2 days of sun, 4 of torrential rain!

Would recommend it to people that don't want to rough it too much and don't mind it being a bit busy, with a jovical atmosphere.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emeraldpixie 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site Tue - Fri and were situated on Aikbeck field in 2 tents. This site is really big and not really what we were hoping for but we were struggling to book elsewhere. The receptionist was friendly and the booking system seems really organised, we were sorted in 5 mins with directions and info provided to where we had booked.

Our pitch was near the little stream with a view of the lake which is pretty but unfortunately we chose a bit of a thoroughfare so vehicles passing and people going back and forth en route to the shower block. The toilets and showers were alright but could have done with cleaning more often but it is difficult with mud being traipsed in after lots of rain. Wash up area is outside the toilet block under cover with plenty hot water. If you are not into dogs then be warned: there were a lot of them around and inevitably barking, and a couple of inconsiderate owners had then off their lead. Also someone kind enough to leave dog poo on the main path - there's always one!

Weather got nasty so it became pretty muddy and some areas of the field were quite water logged but our pitch remained fairly okay and we were fine. I would recommend an extra tarp or big mat for outside your front door to save tramping mud into your tent.

We had our 4 boys with us ages 7, 8, 12 and 14. The eldest two enjoyed visiting the shop as it was well stocked with lots of different stuff. They also like the idea of the takeaway with chips, pizza etc! The downside for them was that the 'older' play area became a bit intimidating in the evening with lots of older children about being territorial and creating an unfriendly atmosphere so they decided to steer clear. The younger two enjoyed the smaller play area which was great which lots to play on with soft floor but it was amazing how many small kids were left to their own devices. Evening entertainment for those who want it but it wasn't our bag and not what we were after but that is a personal choice. Site could get a bit noisy but our field wasn't that bad, just the odd time when curfew was ignored.

We walked into Pooley Bridge which is not far and is a small village with a few shops. We then took the walk to the lake which we followed around the shore and it brought us out to the entrance back into our field on the site. Picnic benches on the shore overlooking the lake, this is a nice area to just sit and watch.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay for what it was but doubt that we would return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktc45 2 reviews from this member

Had a very pleasant stay at this site in early July 2009. Situated in a quiet location very near on the shore of Lake Ullswater. Electric pitch was on a gravel area near the shop and despite the torrential rain a couple of days we remained bone dry. Sites facilities were very good, short walk uphill to toilet/shower block which was immaculate. Shop, bar/clubroom, amusements, tennis courts and play areas for the kids ensured that time spent on the site was enjoyable. There was a cafe and carry out which was only open on certain days during our stay although brochure stated open during school holidays. (Assume that means the ENGLISH school holidays which I find bizarre as it's only just over the border and was busy with Scottish families).

Short walk into Pooley Bridge which is lovely and has a few pubs which serve food and a couple of other shops. But, the highlight must be a trip on the steamers down Ullswater.A fantastic day out.

All in all an excellent site in an excellent location. Busy but quiet enough to recharge your batteries

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a weekend at this site. It was a last minute booking and the only site with availability in the area. I have to say I was extremely pleased with it.

The location of this site is EXCELLENT. When we booked we were asked if we would like to be close to the clubhouse or the lake, we chose the lake. We were directed to the field which was very close to the lake and were allowed pitch where we chose, which we liked. The field was an overflow field but had toilets and water close to hand.

On arriving at the site we wondered whether or not we had made a bad choice, it was over run with children, noisy families, loud music and people dressed up as if they were on a night out in the city but once in the field and being given a chance to pitch where we liked we were away from most of the noise. The 2 fields close to the clubhouse are like a family holiday park, very busy and noisy. If it is peace and quiet you are after then you would need to be further away from the clubhouse.

All in all a good site in an excellent location with good facilities. It is only a short walk down the lake to Pooley Bridge which is a lovely village with plenty of atmosphere and places to eat and drink. There is also plenty of space to picnic or BBQ down by the lake and there are a number of picnic tables there too.

In Pooley Bridge we chose to have lunch in the Tea Rooms as this looked attractive from the outside but the service was appalling and was very chaotic. Four of us ordered lunch 2 meals came and we waited and waited for the other 2 but no sign of any staff so we had no choice but to start after about 10 mins we chased the other 2 meals and were told they were coming, 5 mins later they arrived but were of a poor standard, panini with cheese hardly melted and a chicken sandwich with hardly any chicken in!

A site which we will certainly use again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clairechris 13 reviews from this member

Try and plump for the lowest field in high season without kids it was too hectic for us but would go again. Toilets excellent, chippy steep but handy, super facilities for kids, beautiful scenery.

You can pitch next to a stream on lower field and are nearer to the lake.

In august it was very busy you have been warned

Cant comment on pub as didn't try.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Llewisp 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip and we weren't disappointed. There were 6 adults and 5 children (aged 8-12) in our party in 3 tents and we managed to find space to pitch our tents together easily despite the site being fairly busy when we arrived(Fri p.M). We paid 26/night for 4 of us.

The weather was good so there wasn't much mud around and were able to park next to the tents. The toilets and shower blocks were very clean. The showers were hot, costing 20p for 6 minutes. If you weren't at the showers by around 8.30am, queues started to form despite there being at least 10-12 showers. (female)

The shop was good and reasonable. A somerfield store is 6 miles away. We didn't visit the club house in the evening, instead chosing to have a drink near to the tents to allow the children to continue playing. Beware of the midgets though as we all got bitten several times. My husband did visit the bar area to watch the football though.

The children loved playing in the small stream and also on the playground. There was also room for them to play some ball games etc.

We walked to the lake which was lovely and the children were able to swim there. We also walked into Pooley Bridge along a lake path which took around 15 mins. There were some nice shops and at least 3 pubs. One stopped serving food at 6pm and another was very busy so we had a takeaway back at the campsite which cost 30+ for the 4 of us which seemed a bit steep for pizza!. Was nice though.

Security patrolled the site.

We visited a rare bird place (approx 7 miles away) which was good. The site has lots of leaflets detailing nearby attractions.

Overall we all enjoyed our stay and would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheCockwills 1 review from this member

This was my first (not my husbands) camping trip ever and we found the site facilities ideal for our stay. Food available from 8am, shop open 8 - 8 fully stocked with everything you may have forgotten and they bake fresh croissants every morning. Good clean hot showers (20p for 6 mins). Electric points for the important hair straightners and mobile phone charging. Good washing up facilities and water tap never far away from your tent. Childrens play area was small but adequate for children from about 4 year old. Kids disco was good but in the height of the season, the club house was too small so keeping a close eye on our 2 was hard work (age 3 1/2 and 2) Food was reasonably price and very nice. Security comes around the site at midnight to check everyone has their music off and I heard them again at 12.45am tell people to switch lights off.

Two negative comments - 1. We were there at height of season and the strict 3m rule between tents was not adhered to. 2. Dogs were not kept on leads.

Having said that, I am sure if we had said something to reception, they would have dealt with the dog situation. We did mention the noise issue after midnight on our first night there and they assured us security would keep a check that night, then 30 mins later I saw security have a word with the group - so if you do go and do find your neighbours not adhering to the rules, the staff will do something about it.

In summary, a very good, clean camp site, well ran and we would return there, though probably at a quieter time in the summer.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5371 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019