Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site. What a perfect weekend we had. Pitched tent facing the lake, lovely unobstructed views. Weather was great,woke early to sunshine and sheep baaing, lambs were cute too. Facilities very good, have separate washing cubicle if you like a bit of privacy.
Walk to Pooley Bridge from campsite, visited each pub in turn and the small shops for momentos. Enjoyed the village very much, quite bustly, everyone lapping up good weather. Strolled back to site and visited on-site bar across the road. Snacks and meals not over priced. Children allowed in. We were leaving on the monday and it was really quiet then, sorry to go. Oh and they don't rush you off as some sites do. I am looking forward to spending more time here this year. Hope the weather doesnt let us down. 5 stars.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minx9904 4 reviews from this member

Me and my partner visited this site on 6 June 2008 and we stayed for 5 nights, we have to say that the view was beautiful, we had a pitch with electric hook up, but really didnt need it as the shower blocks had electric in them. The site throughout the week was really quiet but on weekends alot of families come here and the toilet blocks are full of teenagers with straightners and hairdryers but they have catered for this and there are still enough showers and toilet to go around.
The site was very clean and tidy. The on shop site sold everything needed and probably a bit more, we can also find camping equipment in the shop. We did not try the resturant. We had pitch number 19. It was small in comparision to others but the view was priceless we overlooked the lake and pitched our tent so it faced the lake.
The nearby town of pooley bridge was small and had a few selection of shops, and if I can remember right three public houses and one tea room. This is a quieter lake than windermere and we much prefered this, you can higher a boat from pooley bridge to go down the lake, and it costs approx 35 for an hour but we found that if you took a trip around the lake to Glenridding the boat hire is cheaper and you can even rent it for a half a day or full day if you so wished.
There are lots of little walking areas around and we found it easy to get to the nearby towns of bowness on windermere, kiswick and kendal all in all, I would book this site again, but maybe in the week instead of including a weekend for a moer quieter time.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Lants 8 reviews from this member

This is the 2nd time we have stopped at this site and still found it as great as the first time. It has already been said and I will also agree, the facilities are excellent. The toilet / shower bock is first class and exceptionally clean and tidy. 20p for 6 minutes in the shower, carefull though, it gets hot. So make sure you stock up on 20p pieces.

What we really like is the private boat/kayak launch from the bottom field which is over the road from the main site. We use a kayak and find this a really excellent place to get onto ullswater.

Through the main site, follow the site road up to the pony stables and through the gate and you find yourself on barton fell. Turn right and head up the hill for truely amazing views. It's not scarfell or hellvelyn, but it will get the heart rate up a bit.

This is only one of the brilliant walks in and around ullswater. If you wanted to, you could go back onto the a66, head towards keswick which is prob 20 minutes away,if that. You pass blencathra and sharp edge on the right if you have the bottle to do it!

My only issue this time round was the stupid muppets pitched not too far away who didn't seem to understand the conception of a 'family' site and decided to drink until the wee hours then start having a go at one another. Idiots spoil it for others. I only hope they were charged the noise deposit of 10 per head if there is a large group of you.

Anyway, truely excellent site, excellent value, excellent facilities. Well worth going. Even better it's only 1hr 45 minutes from newcastle, thats pulling a trailer too. So you could knock 20 minutes or so off that if you were making safe steady progress! Enjoy

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Manager 2 reviews from this member

Simply one of the best sites that we have been to, showers, toilets facilities were all excellent. The kids facilities are excellent too, including the play area, fishing in the stream. They will get wet lol.

The only small issues are the shop on site does not sell beer, so make sure you take plenty and make sure you take a bucket load of midge repelant cos you will be eaten!

To be fair though the midge problem might be season related and the shop sells virtually everything else.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melly mel 1 review from this member

Stopped here for the Bank holiday weekend, it was our first time camping so didnt really know what to expect. The place is great, everyone friendly, well run site. We stayed in the overflow field which was brill. Right near Lake Ullswater and a walk through the woods in to Pooley Bridge. Club house great with kids disco on the weekend. Toilets and showers great really clean 20p for 6 minutes which doesnt seem a lot but it really is! It was really busy but there was still plenty of room for everyone. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CJCH 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from Park foot. We spent two nights there in our tent. We were pitched on the electirc hook up run just down the hill from the site shop. This shop was amazing, you only needed to turn up with your tent, you could buy everything else from the shop. At similar prices to the big out door shops.

The site was huge, it went on for ever. I think we counted 7 fields and that is not including the statics and self catering. They packed the non-electic tents in tight, I couldn't believe how close they all were. The EHU plots were more spaced out, thankfully.

Toilet blocks were clean and plenty of toilets, sinks, mirrors, dryers, plug sockets (free) for hairdyers/straighteners and showers. We never had to queue. They were clean and cleaned regularly. One disapointing thing there was only three toilet blocks, so it was a long walk, all up hill for us, not good in the middle of the night.

There were two play areas for the children, one for smaller children and a bigger one for older kids. Our children in our group were 2 to 13 and all used them.

On the whole this was a great site. The down side was it was half term and packed. A lot of the children were unsupervised therefore getting up to alsorts including very bad behaviour and language. The children and adults were all going full swing right up to the 12mn curfew, some continued for another hour! And one morning there were some loud mouthed children in the park at 6am screaming and shouting, the noise curfew was till 8am!

My last critiscm was the crows! I know camping is about getting back to nature etc but at 3am when you're woken by the racket created by the crows all I could think about was a shot gun!

We have had a fab weekend as we did keep ourselves to ourselves in our small group. The scenery is amazing.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arwenb 1 review from this member

Myself, partner and our 6 year old son stayed at Park Foot for 1 night during the school holiday,(testing out the new tent before any longer stays!)
After phoning the site to book I was advised to just turn up and there would be no problem in finding a pitch- there wasn't! The site is huge, lots of spaces for pitching tents and touring caravans. Some of the fields in use were closing at the end of May, but guess they open in peak times. We opted for one of the terraced pitches just above the clubhouse and toilet/shower block. It was nice and fairly quiet and had plenty of room. Near to play areas were busiest and noisy but there is plenty of space by the lake on a separate field if you want quiet.

Showers 20p for 6 mins, very clean as were the main toilets. Clubhouse great for kids but take plenty of money! Pool tables, air hockey, various video games and fruit machines. Restaurant and take-away serve limited menu but food good value. On site shop has everything you could need should you forget something and plenty of groceries.

Overall a great place to stay with your family. Friendly staff, lots to do on site, we will be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan1964 1 review from this member

Had a three night stay, very good facilities for families. Couples might find it tiring as curfew hours are midnight to 8 am so children and youths milling about upto that time and beyond. But hey, great location and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Super site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggersgirl 2 reviews from this member

Love it. Absolutely love it. My husband, 3 children and I have stayed at parkfoot on about 5 occassions now since our first visit last year. We were not campers who went to the same site time after time we liked to try different areas, that was until we stayed at parkfoot, we think this park is the best that we have stayed at.
The facilities are excellent, the toilet and shower block was always clean and fresh smelling and even though there's plenty of cubicles you may have to queue for a shower when you step into that nice hot water, it's well worth it
The takeaway serves hot tasty food as does the restaurant inside, we had a meal there and for 5 people it was very reasonably priced. The site shop has everything you could need at reasonable prices too, I bought a camp kitchen stand from there because it was cheaper than the exact same one I had seen in Argos.
The staff are always friendly and very helpful. The views you get from different areas of this site are outstanding.
Near to the site you have the village of pooley bridge and its a nice walk either along the road or by the lakeside to get to the village and the little coffee shop near the bridge sells lovely icecream.
My husband is a keen angler so having the lake just a 10 minute (if that) walk away was ideal for him and my 2 boys.
The play areas for the children are really good and keep them amused for hours on end there is also bike hire and pony trekking.
We couldnt stay at parkfoot during the end of may bank holiday because they were fully booked and I was so disappointed so next time I'll be sure to book plenty in advance. We stayed for 10 days during the summer holidays last year and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are looking to do the same again this year.
I have read some of the other reviews with quibbles and complaints about this site and all I can say is keep up the good work parkfoot you are doing everything right.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zephyr55 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights in August and found the site to be busy but there was still no crowding(summer 07 was very wet mind). Facilities were clean and tidy, shop had all essentials in, the bar and entertainment is there if you like that sort of thing and there is food and a take away.

Also playground with small burn runnning through and games room (expect constant requests for money if children find it and weathers too bad to play out)

Really enjoyed stay and would definitely return although it is more 'holiday park ' than the sites we prefer this can be handy with just one parent.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3951 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019