Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustywatt 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay over the May bank holiday weekend. Although prices are a bit more expensive, it was well worth it for the facilities.

65 or thereabouts for two adults, two kids and a dog (no gazebo or electric hookup)

We booked in the Aikbeck field as it was the closest to the lake and apparently the quieter part of the campsite which on the whole it was (except for the sheep and new born lambs!)

We opted for a pitch in the corner of the park near the stream. Pitch was rocky under the soil so make sure you take plenty of pegs as some will get bent. Still managed to get pitched OK in the end.

All in all a fantastic stay with plenty to do for the kids. Great little playground, stream for them to wander in and use the nets and a video games area.

Bar was reasonably priced for drinks. Didn't eat in the bar as we cooked by the tent. Handy little takeaway though if you wanted some chips or a pizza.

Toilets and showers were clean and handy to where we pitched on site. 20p for the showers for 6 minutes.

Will definitely return to this site as it's handy for Pooley Bridge and it's amenities. We took the steamer from Pooley Bridge to Glenridding (about an hour) and ate in the local village as well.

Pro's: Lots for kids and adults, reasonably priced, clean facilities

Con's: Noisy sheep

Enjoy

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louisdog 3 reviews from this member

Had a great time at Parkfoot. It is such a nice place with loads of room to pitch. We had a pitch with electric hook up on gravel. You need hardstanding pegs but the gravel seemed to help keep the tent warm.

Nearly forgot we had 2 kids as they were out all the time when we were on site in the play area, on the stepping stones or playing with the other children.

Showers and toilets were spot on, 20p for six minutes.

Pot washing was easy with plenty of sinks and hot water.

Loved the club house great food, good portions and good price 23 for 2 adults and 2 kids teas.

On-site shop sells everything you can think of from morning papers, food, clothes and camping gear all at a good price.

Going to book for August for sure.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClareMew 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic location in our favourite Ullswater valley. This is the largest site in the area by a long way and is very popular. Butlins under canvas sort of sums it up. At busy times the site just expands into the surrounding fields. Services appear in the form of portable showers toilets, which are fine, just not pretty! The club house is very busy and noisy. Fast food and a well stocked camp shop. A well run site but really to loud and brash for us!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickncaz 3 reviews from this member

Had yet another fab week here, this is the 3rd time we have stayed at this site and touch wood we have never had any issues. Toilets and showers are clean, showers are 20p for 6 minutes which is plenty of time and water is lovely and hot, clubhouse was nice, pool tables and games machines to keep kids occupied, 2 parks and tennis courts also available, went for some lovely walks, about 10 /15 minutes walk to Pooley bridge where we had a lovely latte and caramel slice,

Cant wait to return in the summer !

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaxx73 2 reviews from this member

Just on way home from a great three days at park foot. This is a superb site and amenities and staff were excellent throughout. We camped in the lakeside field which had its own toilet shower block and these were spotless and of a really high standard. There were electric points in toilets also which were really handy ! Ten min walk into pooley bridge and some lovely pubs there would recommend the sun inn for food ! Ten mins walk to ferry pier also which we used several times ! Clubhouse on main site was excellent and not over priced, didn't visit shop as were already kitted out ! Fantastic walks to how town and glen ridding and all in all a fab stay - we will certainly be returning in Summer

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week at this site taking in the Easter weekend. The site is easily reached from the M6 and A66 with good roads leading to the site.

The reception area was busy when we arrived and we were given our pitch details via a plan/map of the site. The pitches are a hard standing made of some form of brick/stone filled with gravel, with a gravel area adjacent to park a vehicle on.

We found pitching the awning involved walking from the gravel onto a grass/muddy area, this was not ideal and would be better to gravel the entire area.

The caravan area is at the bottom of the hill away from the club house and other buildings, unfortunately the Elsan point is also at the top of the hill, not ideal.

This site is large with lots af campers as well as caravans, we found at times this was very noisy at night and the 12. 00pm quiet time was not adhered to.

The site has various facilities that are ideal for children and numerous events were held in the clubhouse. The toilet block is large and very clean, 20p is required for the showers, for this you get 6 minutes of hot water.

We had snow on our first day and the toilet block was freezing, as all the windows were kept open, this was the case during our entire stay.

The site has a large, excellent, well stocked shop selling numerous items from groceries to spare parts and prices were acceptable.

This site is in a great location near the lake and is ideal for families, if you are looking for a quiet site this is definitely not one to choose.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kemp09 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this campsite a number of times this year and absolutely love it. There are 2 playgrounds, one for the little ones and one for the older kids. My son loves them especially the zip slide. We visited this campsite on our first camping trip and have not yet found another we like more.

The shower block is always clean and has plugs for the straighteners which is a bonus. One criticism about the shower block is that the floor can be very cold. A cheap pair of crogs would be a good thing to take with you.

The views that greet you on a morning never disappoint. There are a number of things to do on site including a tennis court and games room. The bar serves very nice food at a reasonable price. We got 2 adult meals and 2 children's meals for less than 25.

Pooley bridge is only a short walk away with some lovely shops and local pubs.

All of our experiences at this site have been enjoyable and I feel that some of this has been due to other campers respecting each other. This campsite is a great base for exploring the lakes and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shellyb76 3 reviews from this member

My 7 year old son & I have stayed at this site several times. Once with caravan which was fine & this year (2011) in tents. We were there in march which was practically empty so had a total choice of where to pitch. We chose near the little play area on main site. There was no noise as there weren't many people there so we had a lovely time.

We went again in August & took two pitches on

Hard standing with ehu. The ground is very tough despite the lady telling us it's just a gravel covering & we wouldn't need hard ground pegs!

There was a slight slope. We were at the side near trees so

It was noisy on a night but quietened after midnight.

Shop is reasonably priced we thought & well stocked.

Bar is busy on a night with kids disco & cheesy entertainment but was fun. Takeaway food was horrid.

Showers 20p for 6 minutes & very very hot! Too hot for some of us & no way to control temperature.

We had 6 kids with us in total ranging from 1-10 years & they all found something to do. The stream is great for them.

There is a very nice walk to pooley bridge via the site across the road & round the lake. It only took

Us 15 minutes.

10 minute drive to supermarket.

25 mins to Keswick.

We did some horse riding on site for 25 per hour. Went over fells which had nice views.

Would go back but not in the height of the season. I found weekends during school term are best.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyneman 2 reviews from this member

We arrived in our tourer and were given out pitch. There must have been quite some rain and I got stuck in the grass. This can happen anywhere but I couldn't help thinking that there should have been a little more space to reverse the van.

Neighbouring vans seemed very close, a group of lads next door even though there is a sign at the entrance telling you 'NO MALE/FEMALE ONLY GROUPS'. For a family site, the midnight noise rule seems a bit late.

For 27 a night, I would have expected a bit of a view, which just can't be had in 'our street'!

Now don't get me wrong, if you like large 'industrial' sites with everything laid on for the kids, great shop for adults (we didn't use any of the other facilities) then this site is for you !

As for us, we'll not be bothering coming back to that site

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheelsy 29 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site with my girlfriend and her 4 year old daughter. It was our first time camping together so we were looking for a site which would keep the 4 year old happy.

We arrived quite late and checked in at reception, where we were directed to pitch up anywhere in the main field. There were a lot of tents around but it didn't feel too crowded.

The facilities at the site were just what we were looking for really. There was a shop and two play areas for kids, although as mentioned in a previous post one of these seemed to get commandeered by teenagers in the early evening who were shouting and swearing as teenagers do. A lot of children seemed to be being kept occupied by the shallow stream running through the centre of the site.

There was a clubhouse with a bar, restaurant and take away. There was a kids' disco in the clubhouse at about 7. 30pm and there were different shows on after that on each night of the week. The site had a no noise after midnight policy, which is probably the latest I've seen, and people definitely made best use of this time. I'd guess it is one of the noisiest campsites I've stayed on. We made the mistake of pitching up near the entrance and were woken up by noisy groups of people returning to their tents in the field across the road at about 11. 30pm when the clubhouse shut.

There were two toilet and shower blocks in the main area, with another block in the field across the road. The block we used in the main area looked brand new and was very clean and tidy. For some reason they didn't have mirrors in the sink cubicles, which made having a shave difficult. The showers took a 20p coin which gave 6 minutes of hot water.

It was a short drive or walk down the road to Pooley Bridge, and Penrith was about 15 minutes drive away. It probably took about 30 minutes to drive into Keswick, so the site is not ideally located if you a looking to explore the whole of the Lake District.

All in all we were happy with our stay on the site, but I would definitely avoid it if you were looking for somewhere for some peace and quiet.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019