Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wee T 1 review from this member

Just back from spending Easter weekend here, 2 tents 4 adults 4 kids and 1 dog, what a great site. Was busy but the site is large with plenty of space to pitch.

Dish wash areas dotted about very clean. Shower/toilets very clean need 20p for 6 mins in shower which is long enough.

Great shop well stocked shelves. Kids loved it plenty of room for them to play.

Great area, short walk to the lake and the village of Pooley bridge. Cant wait to visit again asap.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ad1983 3 reviews from this member

Visited the site over bonfire weekend to see the firework display.

Well organised site with good amentities including large shop, bar, play area and good sized dog walk. Plenty of toilets and showers (20p charge for use although you won't be disappointed!)

The pitches are well spaced out but the site is on a hill so if you're at the bottom there is an uphill walk to the showers etc.

The location is good with only a short walk to the lake and Pooley bridge.

Only downside of the trip was an extremely loud group on site who kept everyone awake until 1 - 2am in the morning with loud music and shouting. Even if the site staff spoke to them it did no good as it carried on for both nights.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickiroy 1 review from this member

Just returned from a long weekend here. It was fantastic! we loved it.Good flat ground to pitch on rock pegs needed as the ground is solid in places. Shower and toilet block was very clean and plenty of showers and toilets. Shower is 20p for 6 mins but worth it because they are so clean and modern.

There is a tent field on the site near the club house and reception and another just over the road. We opted for this one as here we got the best of both worlds we went over to the club and when we had enough we returned to a quiet field overlooking the water. Great views too.

The reception was friendly and very helpful. The restaurant was basic but reasonable prices and food was nice and it was warm and clean. Games room was fun. Pool tables, air hockey and a few arcade games too.

There is a well stocked shop on site and laundry facilities. A great play area for the kids (must admit had a little go myself when the kids were not looking) all in all it was fantastic and a place I cant wait to go back too.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JanTiggy 1 review from this member

Just got back from a 2 night stay. We aren't really experienced campers so thought we would to somewhere that seemed to be tried and tested. We camped on EHU pitch. The check in was quick and easy and the pitch easy to find, all EHU are on a hard stand which I didn't really like especially when crawling around pitching the inside of the tent but it wasn't a real issue.

The facilites were great plenty of toilets and showers and they were spotless! The on-site shop was well stocked and had any camping essentials you may have forgotten but it does close at 6:00pm so if you are going of Friday after work be aware.

The club house was nice but it very much caters for families with young children so as a couple in our 40's wasn't really for us but we did think it would be great to go again and take our granddaughter along. The site is quiet from 12:00 midnight and there is a security patrol to enforce it.

The views across the lake are to die for and it is a pleasant walk into Pooley Bridge.

All in all I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Natc 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 5 night stay here and we loved it. The park, we found, was very clean, had a well stocked shop on site, a bar and restaurant and even a take away! We stayed in a trailer tent in the field right next to the shop on the electric side. The shower block and bar/restaurant is not far away from this field. I wouldn't have liked to have been on the field on the opposite side of the road, although there is a Lake view there, I found its just too separate from the site itself, but does have a shower block just as nice and clean as the main one. You can go through this field to have a walk next to the Lake and to get to Pooley Bridge village to the pub!

The area is great as well, as you are away from the hustle and bustle but can walk into Pooley Bridge to the Tea Rooms or Pub and Tourist info, or drive into Penrith for all the shops. From this site we went to Penrith, Keswick and Windermere.

There is Pony trekking at the top of the site and access to the Fell for a nice walk to the top of the 'hill'/little mountain (!) to get a gorgeous view of nearly the whole lake.

We are definitely going back next year, however, no offence to anyone with kids, but we will only be going through the week when the kids are at school! We stayed Monday to Saturday and during the week was blissful, come Thursday, it started to get busier, Friday afternoon was bizarre, people were coming in droves,pitching till nearly dark! Lots of kids, and for us, a young couple, its not what we wanted and was glad we went home on Saturday! However, it would be a place I would bring kids during the holidays if I had kids!Its a great site.

Just a note, we found the staff there quite helpful. We asked one of the bar staff where they would recommend we go round the area, she hadnt a clue! But she did come over to us later with a book of the lakes and its attractions which we could keep, and my partner asked her about an attraction which she apologised for not knowing about it, but then came back 5 mins later with an internet print out about it and directions, all of which we didn't ask her for! But was lovley of her. She also recommended we requested at the reception for a rugby match to be shown on Sky in the bar for a few days later, which they did for us. They also printed off route planner for our journey home (don't ask!)

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jus12345 3 reviews from this member

Spent 5 nights in August at this site and although there were definitely some plus points on the whole, I was dissapointed and would not return.

Plus points - very well stocked shop which is reasonably priced, games room & parks to keep the kids amused, situated on the lakeside allowing the possibility to launch boats and excellent horse-riding centre. (Horse riding was the best part of the trip as the views over the fells and Ullswater were superb).

Negative points - Unhelpful staff, tents too crammed in together. I had a small campervan & small awning on a pitch with electric hook-up, and was dissappointed to see that on either side of my pitch were enormous tents which crammed me in on either side. This was made worse when the staff insisted that I pay an extra £4 per night for my tiny beachshelter which the children played in, bringing the total cost of my stay to over £35 per night for one adult and 2 young children. I was disgusted as my total set up was half the size of the tents next door yet much more expensive.

The bar was too noisy and the Lady Gaga impersonator's language was not at all appropriate for a family-friendly campsite. Teenagers played in the park until midnight and whilst there were two parks, I only felt that my children would be safe in one. Again their colourful language could be heard by my children from inside our campervan. Too many childrent in both parks - I saw two accidents requiring trips to hospital during the 5 days we stayed.

Toilet facilities too few for number of campers and too far away, having to cross a busy carpark in the dark isn't safe for young children.

In summary, whilst the lake and horse-riding are fantastic, overall I would not stay at this site again. There is a much nicer site nearby and you could still use the lake and Parkfoot's horseriding facilities.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

Park Foot Caravan & Camping Park – lovely location, huge site. Great if you are with kids, like LOTS of noise, enjoy cramped spaces, and want a retro camping with one main toilet block (also HUGE), and on site pub/club house.

Site is spread over two sides of road. Main site does not have direct access to lake. Secondary camping field with smaller toilet block does have.

Expensive site, very commercial. Think - 60’s Butlins site but without tannoy. Encourages large groups of very very loud people and kids. Not recommended if you want to experience the tranquillity of Ullswater.

Upside – location – brilliant.

Downside – everything else. Won’t be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sanddancer75 1 review from this member

We (2 adults & 2 children - 5 & 1 year olds) arrived on a Sunday afternoon for a few days & was allowed to choose where we wanted to pitch out tent in the barely half full main field. We chose a space fairly close to the clubhouse & despite what others have said couldn't hear any noise from it. There was noise from teenagers in the older kids playground until quite late, it would be nice to see this closed from about 10PM. Failing that some parental supervision might have been nice.

We forgot a few items & found the shop to be very well stocked & the prices pretty reasonable. Prices in the clubhouse & take away were better then I expected too. The toilet & shower block was quite large & never busy. I didn't have a problem paying 20p for a shower. I'm guessing this helps keep people moving when the place is busy & ensures plenty of hot water. The are plenty of sinks for washing dishes dotted around the site too. Reception were very helpful & had lots of information (& discounts) on local attractions. We went shopping on Penrith, to Ostrich World, on the Ullswater Steamers (which was quite expensive I thought) & my 5 year old daughter went on a pony trek. Pooley Bridge is just a short walk along the lake too.

This was my first time camping in about 20 years & we loved it. We had 1 day of constant rain which was the only letdown on the whole trip. Without rain you won't have lakes though. The cheesey music in the kiddie disco would have driven me crazy if we'd stayed any longer though. It's a beautiful place with fantastic scenery. I'd recommend it it you have kids, there looked to be lots of quieter fields further away from the centre if that's more your thing. I can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tina K-H 1 review from this member

This complex is fantastic, we went in August last year, for the 1st time. My girls age 3 and 7 really enjoyed it, that much so my eldest cried because she didn't want to leave. The facilities are exceptional, always clean.

There were all plenty of children playing on the playing area, even though we didn't try it out. We went out sight seeing. The shop on site is always well stocked, no need to take your own food unless its special dietary requirements.

Never went to the club because my girls were tired after all the fresh air and all the other activities we did. But sounded really good, maybe this year we might get to it (can't wait).

Staff are really friendly, which helps make your stay that bit better. We stayed on the middle field, brilliant what a sight of the lake, it was breath taking.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbins 9 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site but unfortunately we made a mistake by coming over a bank holiday weekend.

The first couple of days were fine as we were pitched up in their top field, which only has a mobile toilet but was clean and also only has two sinks for dish washing, but the shower block was only a short walk into the next field.

The problems were evident at the start of the weekend when the site was full; the facilities are not adequate enough to cope with the volume of people on site.

The site is very pricey for what is on offer (they put the price up for the bank holiday) and I was disappointed that site rules were not being enforced, noise after mid-night, barbecues burning the grass and litter left blowing around.

Due to the issues I have mentioned, we cut our break short by a couple of days and headed home.

I probably would visit this site again but never over a public holiday weekend.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019