Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Binarybloke 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Park Foot and boy was it busy! If you're looking for a full-on, buzzing atmosphere this summer holiday then this is the perfect place.

The site itself has a beautiful setting and easy access to the lake. Facilities were generally good, although there were no showers in the toilet block in the field we were in, which was disappointing given the amount of people using the site. The shop was well-stocked and staff were well organized. The playgrounds seemed a little small in comparison to other sites we've visited, although our eldest son had a great time building dams in the stream with the other kids.

But a word of warning! If you like your family camping a little more sedate and relaxing, without the feeling that you've inadvertently pitched in the middle of a music festival, then look avoid this place in the school holidays, or look elsewhere. The wonderful views only work up to a point.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rebeccah809 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at this site. We are a couple with a 9 year old son. We stayed in the 'overflow' aickbeck field which is near the lake.

The setting is idyllic, the views fantastic and the lake and the village of Pooley Bridge is just a small walk away. It's great to have your own choice of pitch and to choose wherever is best for you. The clubhouse is a nice clean bar / restaurant with good cheap hearty food and although we only visited it once, seemed very nice. The shop is also very well stocked with everything you could possibly need.

Our disappointment with this site was the fact we were kept awake by very thoughtless people shouting, playing music, arguing, playing games into the early hours. There didn't seem to be any monitoring of this kind of situation at all which I can only believe that is due to the fact that this field is so far away from the main site. (which is over the road).

There are 2 'lakeside' fields - the main field has a toilet and shower block with around 4 showers and 6 toilets and about 4 sink cubicles in both the ladies and gents. Incidentally, the showers are of the most ridiculous design meaning that your clothes and towel get wet whilst you are showering and there is nothing you can do about it! In the other field there is just a toilet block (with washing up facilities on the side), with about 5 toilets in both the ladies and gents. We found ourselves waiting for both the toilet and shower regardless of the time you went - even at 6.00am in the morning

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa6373 11 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site after what can only be described as a mixed bag of weather conditions. We had opted for an electric pitch which was ideal for those extra comforts if there is such a thing whilst camping.

The site can be hilly in places and rather muddy after a lot of rain but we found the ground did hold up well - after all people on a campsite in Keswick were evacuated from their tents due to flooding whilst we were in the area. There is a small stream which runs through the site which the kids love to play in, 2 play areas which kept my 2 children entertained, entertainment if you wanted it and plenty of toilets and showers. The showers were 20p for 6 minutes but were always warm and clean. There was also a very reasonably priced take away on site - fish and chips £3.70,sausage and chips £3 and for that you got 2 jumbo sausages and a portion of chips. There was also a well stocked shop on site which was open 8am-8pm. There were security guards on site at night and they ensured the no noise after midnight policy was adhered to. There was also a pony treking centre at the top of the site which was excellent £20 per our and you went right up onto Barton Fell - the views were amazing.

Aira Force was well worth a visit and also the Ullswater Steamers offered a nice trip to take in the scenery.

On rainy days a visit to the Cumberland Pencil museum is worth a visit in Keswick. All in all a very well maintained site and I would go back to do some walking in the area.If only the weather could be guaranteed.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thumper62 3 reviews from this member

My family have been camping for only 3 years but of all the camp sites that we have visited park foot is the best! toilets and showers are clean 20p for a 6 minute shower which is plenty of time. Plugs for hairdryers and most important for my daughter hair straighteners. You could also charge up your phone.

The shop had everything you could think of, camping clothes and equipment, toys, papers, food.

There is a tennis court which you have to book but we had no trouble getting a time that suited us. Pony treking at the top of the site, this was £20.00 each for an hour.

We had to pitch our tent in the overspill field which was above the reception building and about 3 minutes walk from centre of the site. View was great, you could see the lake and the mountains. They had mobile toilets which were clean, they came everyday to clean them.

Also you could hire out mountain bikes,table tennis and they had other activities like archery, quizes, treasure hunts and football which you could do all day.

Only regret is we left too soon to move to another camp site in Keswick were it rained and didn't stop till it was time to go home.

Pooley Bridge was 5 minutes in car if that. Lovely little village with 3 pubs.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woods614 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the end of July. Upon arrival at the site, we pitched our tent and went over to reception to pay. The receptionist was annoyed that we had already pitched our tent. She said the top field was fully booked - even though there was a large area of empty space around where we had pitched. Eventually, she allowed us to stay were we where. The area remained empty around our pitch for the next few days!

The campsite as a whole, is kept clean by the owners while any rubbish that is around is left by scruffy individuals. The shop is very well stocked with any items that you may require and the washing facilities are kept clean and tidy.

The only real bad points about this site is the type of person this site seems to attract with foul language coming from the children's play area and the complete lack of respect for others during the day (and night) with loud music booming from individuals cars' with their doors wide open.

There is security laid on by the campsite, both on the club house and around the site which is a good measure taken by the site staff

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johngilchrist 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Parkfoot in July and it is a lovely site with beautiful scenery and free access to Lake Ullswater.We had pre-booked a electric hook up but be warned these are hard standing and the ground was rock hard.

We had torrential rain for 3 of the 4 nights we stayed but have to say the ground stood up well.

The facilities were excellent plenty to keep kids amused they made plenty friends and had a great time.The club was lovely although we were there midweek so it was not too busy and there was no disco crowd to listen to after closing time so night times were pretty peaceful and the 12-8 keep quiet was pretty much adhered too.The toilet/shower block was clean and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.The shop deserves a mention as it must be the most stocked up shop for its size anywhere.

The surrounding area of Pooley Bridge is lovely and our trips to Penrith and Keswick were very enjoyable trips.We took the Ullswater steamer trip from Pooley Bridge to Glenridding and although the weather was not great it was a lovely trip up the lake with some wonderful scenery to view.

All in all a great site for families and we will return in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pagar 6 reviews from this member

This is a large campsite set over a number of fields. The campsite facilities are mainly centred on the reception building and include a shop, bar and enormous shower / toilet block where showers are charged at 20p for 6 mins. There are other toilet facilities spread across the site which are generally a portacabin type arrangement. The location of the site is excellent being close to the lake and a 10min walk into Pooley Bridge which has a number of pubs and small shops (The Sun Inn is really nice). However, overall I was very disappointed with the site, for a number of reasons:

Firstly, the campsite is overcrowded; We couldnít even park our car next to our tent (seriously) despite paying £30/night for a pitch. This leaves no room for the kids to play aside from the designated play area, which is actually a good facility. I'm not anti social but the level of overcrowding completely spoilt what has the potential to be a really good site.

Secondly, the distance from the pitch to the toilet block is unacceptable in my opinion. Now I love walking, but a nigh time navigation hike uphill on unlit paths between the hordes of packed in tents (if youíve been to a festival you can picture the scene) at 3am to get to the loo is not great.

Thirdly the pitch size, somewhat related to my first point, but the individual pitches are in general far too small, albeit I did notice some larger ones. Unfortunately not ours which necessitated pitching on a base of rough gravel with the front door of the tent opening directly onto a gravel vehicle track!

All in all a great disappointment, I have camped all over the UK and never experienced camping on such an industrial scale. In Chicken terms this would be 'Battery Camping'.Not for me thanks I wont be rushing back!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnymidd 2 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed our weekend stay here. We booked in advance and chose the overflow field through a friendís recommendation, you pitch where you want! To be honest, I wouldnít have had it any other way, massive field with great views of the surrounding hills. Great atmosphere, despite the bit of rain we got! Leaving the main reception block after booking in you cross over the approach road and through the field with electric hook ups. This seemed to lack a bit of atmosphere, donít get me wrong, still very well kept, but maybe a bit crammed in a bit for our liking. The overflow field is the one I would recommend. Reminded me of Glastonbury looking from our tent to the lake. This is not a criticism, we felt very safe, and campers are a very friendly bunch.

Toilets on our field were portacabin style, lacked showers, and were to be honest struggling to cope with the crowds, but the two other units on the site looked a lot better. Canít comment on the site pub, as we didnít try it. We did however use the on site Take Away, everyday. Pooley Bridge is a very short walk from the camp alongside Lake Ullswater and is well worth the effort. By the side of the river, Pooley Bridge has three pubs, which are children and dog friendly, a few shops and a church.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mel Camper 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here when all other sites in the area were full. The site is really big and has caravans and tents on the main entrance side of the road and then 2 fields of camping on the other side of the road.

We were in the overflow field which started off quiet and filled up during our stay, there is no pattern to where to pitch and we ended up with a couple of tents rather close to us when it wasn't necessary. I think they were trying to get the flatter ground as we were at the top of a raised mound.

We didn't go to the club house as it wasn't our scene, the takeaway was closed at breakfast time so we bought bacon from the site shop and cooked that. The site shop looked well equipped with food and other stuff.

There was toilets in our overflow field and then toilets and showers in the other field. As well as a large toilet block over the road on the main site. The showers were 20p for 6 minutes which was ok. The toilets seemed clean enough, I didn't queue for the shower as went early but others were around 10am.

A good base to stay, can see the potential for loud noise etc but we didn't spend much time on site. Pooley bridge easy to walk to round the lake, good breakfast cafe in village too.

The price was £42 for 2 nights so bit pricey compared to other campsites.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JBSP 1 review from this member

Nice location, nice views from the caravan small section. Nice enough park, good if you want to go for walks, but if you after quiet time this isnít the place for you in my opinion, Quiet time isnít till midnight and even then there was noise till past 1 on the 2 night we stayed.

To big, too much noise, good for kids for sure as there were loads off them, the shop was far too expensive

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019