Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bear6 1 review from this member

Our first visit to Park Foot. We spent three nights ( Sat – Tues ) and our first impressions of the site were that it was big and very busy! A last minute booking which meant we were located in Lake View. A mainly sloping field up behind reception with just a small portable toilet block and water taps. A good 5 minute walk down to the main facilities, from our location. At the prices paid, the field would have benefited from either improved access to the main facilities, via a shotcut, or wash facilities added to the field. Easier access would have reduced the 'shower trips' using cars that some people seemed to be making. The touring / electric pitches (hard standing for tents) had access to a portable wash facility and across at the Aikbeck Field (nearest lake) a purpose built wash facility was available. The Park Foot website would benefit from showing a campsite map so as to enable better choice and understanding of the layout of this large site.

Central facilities were good with showers, toilets, dish wash, laundry, shop, bar, take-away (prices reasonable) and play areas. There were plenty of activities on-site such as pony trekking, archery, tennis to name but a few. Good walking direct from the site, especially to the fells behind the site - take care as the route behind the site has suffered from erosion and there is a very narrow section with a big drop on one side. Pooley Bridge and its amenities were within easy walking distance giving access to its facilities and the lake steamer. The A66 and M6 were a short drive away giving easy access to other parts of the Lakes or further a field if required. We had a nice drive down Ullswater Lake to Windermere via the scenic Kirkstone Pass.

We will return however would probably choose a quieter time, i.E. Midweek, choosing also a better location on site. Unfortunately on the Saturday night there were a number of inconsiderate groups on site, one in particular going ‘til 3am. I’m no killjoy however was disappointed that the so called midnight to 8am “Quiet Time”, which was well signed, was not better enforced. Fortunately Sunday brought an exodus of the noisy groups and relative harmony was restored. This is a busy site so if it’s quiet you’re after a smaller site may better suit. This is a good family site and the kids will enjoy it, mine did!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The brett Family 3 reviews from this member

We have visited Park foot twice in the last two months, May the weather was fantastic, July was a mixture but both visits were very enjoyable. The park has a large reception that were very friendly, a club house that is very good (prices are a little high but the service was very good).

The shop is very well stocked and prices are inexpensive. The shower and toilet blocks are ample and very clean. Some other reviews have stated about noise from the club but it ceased at 11pm and we found most people were quiet during 12-8, but must agree with the crows they are the loudest things ever.

The site is situated in stunning surroundings Pooley Bridge is lovely village and the lake is stunning.

The only thing we found bad during july visit, was despite claims of no same sex parties there was a group of men with what one can only say are children motorcycles making a almighty noise which was every morning between 9am and 10am.

It was the only blot of the stay.

I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KrisnPhil 1 review from this member

First time camping with our 3 year old and our new tent. A group of us stayed for two nights.

We arrived during a torrential downpour but that didn't put us off. The staff were friendly and helpful and directed us to the field we were booked in (Aikbeck).

The facilities are excellent - large toilet/shower block - 20p for 6mins shower. They were clean and had plenty of loo roll. Power sockets were useful for hairdryers etc but could get busy.

Adequate dish washing facilities. On site shop stocked the essentials and cash point on site.

We walked to Howtown which is about 3 - 4 miles with out 3 yr old and then got a steamer to Pooley Bridge. A short stroll along Ullswater took us back to the campsite.

There are a number of pubs in Pooley Bridge, which offer good food and real ales. Craft shops are inexpensive and stock an array of goods.

Just one word of warning there is no cash point in Pooley Bridge and although the post office does cash back it doesn't except all cards. The shop does but charges £1.

The campsite has a silence period between 12 and 8am, which was adhered to in the evening as wardens patrolled but we were awoken to at 6am on the first morning by people arriving.

All in all a great campsite and surrounding area. Would go back and definitely recommend but stay away from the main field as it was extremely busy.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SusieP 4 reviews from this member

This has been our sixth annual stay at this lovely site. Years one and two were spent under canvas, year three in a caravan, four and five saw us relaxing in our classic VW camper and now we have just returned from our motorhome's 'maiden voyage' so with the exception of self-catering we have all round experience of Park Foot.

By any standards Park Foot is in an idyllic location with stunning views, free access to Lake Ullswater and all it has to offer and just a pleasant waterside walk away from the villsge of Pooley Bridge which offers three pubs/inns that between them cater for all tastes.

There is a large licenced clubhouse offering food and occasional entertainment, a wooden gazebo style construction covering outside seating and a nice children's' play area with a very popular 'zip wire'(shame it's just for the kids!).

Campsites can be judged on their toilet facilities and Park Foot does not disappoint. There is a large block attached to the club house and another smaller one on Aikbeck Field, both well maintained and clean but having never stayed in the peak summer holiday season I am unable to comment on how they cope with the increased number of visitors.

The camp shop seems to cram in more stock each year and as well as local produce, general foodstuffs and magazines it carries a selection of camping essentials, clothing and gadgets.

The one thing that for us sets Park Foot apart from many sites is the wonderfully laid back approach of the Bell family who own and run the business. With the exception of caravans which must stay on the licenced hard stands you have the freedom to camp wherever suits you and your needs. Within the usual Health & Safty requirements you can literally place your unit wherever you please giving a mix of tents, campers and motorhomes happily rubbing shoulders with each other in a glorious unregimented abandon.

Park Foot is a place where children and adults alike can relax and have fun. It is also dog friendly with a designated 'dog walk' provided.

Last year we saw a Golden Eagle come down in a field not far from the camp site which just added to the magic of the place.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gibb Family 3 reviews from this member

My wife and two kids aged 12 and 7 arrived on the Friday for two nights stay to a friendly reception while booking in, we were given our pre booked electric pitch number which when we drove around to below shop camping field, we noticed that the pitch was hard standing gravel.:(, we were not advised that this was going to be the case however we decided to carry on as normal and start to assemble our camping gear. We were attempting to secure separate ground sheet(I would recommend as stones will pierce through your tent ground sheet) but the ground was very hard and the pegs were beginning to bend, this was the case as well with the tent and tent extension.We went for chips from take way which was realy nice and would recommend you try:). As the day/night went on the park started to get really really busy and lots of teenagers in groups drinking and smoking within the park/play areas as they waited for the disco in the main building to start.Our kids (and I.LOL) spent most of the day playing at the well maintained parks with swings and zip slides. At night time it got really noisy as the disco was finishing and all the adults (very intoxicated) were playing in the kiddies parks into the early hours of the morning and making loads of noise, no way am I a victor meldrew as I enjoy a good laugh and carry on too but this was too much.The following day one of the parks employees was attaching chains to parts in the park so I am assuming there was complaints by other park visitors about the noise and they were going to padlock the play area zip slides etc up. Be aware of the crows as they like to get you up nice and early with there noise too:(. The wee shop was well stocked with everything you need and the toilets/showers were very clean and tidy and there is loads to do for the kids:).

I would recommend the boating hire on lake Ullswater, we hired the luxury boat for one hour (£35) but well worth it as it was a beautiful day and the scenery was spectacular.

Overall I would visit again as our kids made good friends with other kids from Sunderland who visit this park a lot as they have a static caravan, but I definitely were ear plugs as this is a very lively park.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah.p 1 review from this member

We visited park foot for one night for our very first camping trip. We really enjoyed the whole experience.

The facilities were great, the play areas for the children were lovely and our 2 young boys really enjoyed it.

We also had food from the take away and was pleasantly surprised!, the pizza was very yummy!

We pitched our tent quite close to all the amenities which was a bit of a mistake as it was very noisy in the evening, as there were still children playing on the park at 11 at night.

There was also supposed to be no noise after midnight, but some inconsiderate people took no notice and were still playing loud music a 1am.

This is my only gripe though, and I think there should be wardens taking care of this issue.

The showers and toilets were clean and although it is 20p for six mins we found this plenty of time to wash 1 adult and 2 children.

Will definitely be going again xx

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fizz35 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights over the Spring bank holiday. We were situated in a field near the lake Ullswater, which although was a trek to the loos, was more private and picturesque. The toilets and showers were very clean.

We didn't use the clubhouse, however they advertised evening entertainment. The shop was very well stocked.

The setting is fantastic, you have 10 mins walk around the lake to get into Pooley Bridge, where there are about 3 pubs, shops and tearoom. You can also walk abit further round the lake and have a trip on the Ullswater Steamer.

We will definitely go back here it's a great site all round!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferga2 11 reviews from this member

A nice park in a beautiful setting offering excellent facilities. There were plenty of activities for the kids and the staff were friendly. The Bar / club / restaurant were moderately priced and the kids disco dancing competition was popular.

The shop is well stocked and we ordered the freshly baked croissants everday.

Unfortunately the weather let us down and there were flood warnings alerted within the area. This is always the gamble taken when caravanning in the lake district.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

After reading the previous reviews I was disappointed with this site and it didn't live up to my expectations, below are the following reasons:-

On arrival the staff were un-helpful and not at all friendly

The touring pitches are in the minority and the grass areas were un kept.

The site is huge and has a main toilet/shower block near the reception area, the touring pitches are at the bottom near the road and it is a long way to go for a shower to find out you have to pay for them! 20p for 6 mins, when you pay nearly 30 quid a night for the site fees!

There is another porta cabin style toilet block on the rally field near the touring pitches, this was dirty

I have two young children so I chose this site for the disco at night, the clubroom is so small you would never get a seat during busy times and the restaurant had lots of seats that were empty!

The lakeside pitches are on another field across the main road

The noise curfew at night isnt monitored, I didn't see any security whatsoever during my weekend there and there were lots of groups making lots of noise, don't come here for a quiet weekend because you wont get it!

We got a knock on our caravan door early in the morning to remind us that we had to leave by 11am! not impressed when we were trying to have a relaxing Sunday in bed, this was 9am! we know we have to leave and don't need to be reminded!

Positives:-

Considering the size of the site it is kept clean in most areas, the two kids play areas are good and my girls loved the stream running through the site, that's all they wanted to do!

The location is stunning, the Lake is beautiful and nearby Pooley Bridge is lovely.

It is good for bike riding around the lake.

I wouldn't rush back to this site as its just too busy for our liking and too big, its very commercial and full of large groups, it is a family site with lots of children

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northernman 4 reviews from this member

We chose to stay at Park Foot as I was competing in the Half Ironman Triathlon that was based at the camp-site that weekend.

It was also the first test (pre-France)for the Vango Diablo 900XP that we got recently and overall I have to say that we had a fantastic time.

We booked miles in advance cos we wanted EHU and we were on one of the electric pitches just down from the shop and playground. It would seem that this bit is the more quieter part of the park. The pitches are part grass part hard-standing but spacious and very well set out.

Our tent is huge, but there was still loads of space all around us to relax, so no cramming in on this part of the site.

The shop was very well stocked with everything you would need and not too badly priced either which was nice.

The site was extremely busy, but never seemed over-run at all and the facilities - toilets, washing areas etc were superbly clean, warm and tidy with no issues whatsoever.

The site has a quiet rule from 12pm-8am and I have to say that although the other side of the site was noisy during the day/evening it seemed to settle down well before the midnight curfew time. All good.

You always get one pitch who thinks that a holiday with a family is getting the deck chairs out and seeing how much ale you can drink and how many cigs you can smoke until you pass out and we had a small issue with that just a bit down and across from us with the language getting a bit loud in the mid-afternoon, but they seemed to settle down later (or pass out) and that was the only minor point of what was an excellent three night stay.

The site is extremely well looked after, very tidy, very safe for the kids and very clean. We went at a real busy time and didn't feel hassled at all.And the views and the lake are just simply WOW !

We will re-visit at some point this year.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4619 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019