Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silly40 4 reviews from this member

Park Foot is a really nice well equipped site, the toilet blocks were kept clean and considering the size of the camp there wasn't any waiting around for the showers/toilets.

We were on a EHU which had ample space but it was on a slight hill, we were with two other families who had 7 children between them, the age range was from 1 - 12years old, there was plenty for them to do, although we didn't use the club house at all. The shop is REALLY well stocked and unlike other comments I didn't think it was that pricey.

The views from the campsite are amazing and there are lots of places around and about to visit.

All in all I liked the site but personally I prefer a smaller site, call me a snob but it felt very Hi-de-Hi, we don't have children so if we return to the Lake District on our own I doubt we would use Park Foot, it is more for families.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hawkeycampers 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August as a family of four. The site is in good location for lake Ullswater, with the lakeside field that we stayed in (although not quite lakeside as there is a field of sheep between the campsite and the lake) offering good views of the lake and surrounding scenery.

The local area was very nice, with a lovely lakeside walk into Pooley Bridge, where there is a nice stream for paddling, and you can hire a small boat and explore the lake. The Lake District was lovely to explore, but everything seemed to be about an hours drive away.

Now for the not so good bits,

It was very busy, as we went in peak season, and we did struggle to find a suitable pitch for our family tent as pitches aren't marked. The children's play area was lovely, but our children couldn't really use it after about six o clock due to teenagers hanging around with cans of lager and some choice language.

The club offered a good disco for young children but got very busy, usually resulting in having to spend time spent there standing up unless we got there for about 5. 30.

There was also a 'quiet' rule from 12. 00am, which we felt was a bit late for a family park, and although everyone was quiet from 12. 00, they made the most of the time they had.

All in all, it was a nice campsite and was a lovely base from which to explore the lake district, but we probably wouldn't go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heath63 13 reviews from this member

This is my second visit with the family. We had two pitches; ehu + non ehu. It is advisable to take groundsheets to protect the underside of the tent, as the pitch has small slate covering. Rock pegs also needed for the ehu, non ehu is grass.

The campsite has expanded since the last visit, by opening up more fields on both sides of the road. There is an additional toilet block to accommodate the extra number of campers. Did not need to wait to use the facilities. It is 20p for 6 minutes for a shower. They are cleaned each day. May not be to standard for some people, if they don't like seeing cobwebs. Didn't check the new block, so cannot comment.

It is a great site for families with lively children, as there are two playgrounds, streams to play in. During the summer, activities are available for a fee. Plus club house with entertainment, and bar. Also provides meals and takeaways. A shop on site which sells magazines, sweets, tinned and fresh food. Also camping equipment. The staff are friendly, always have a smile.

Pooley Bridge is a short walk along the lake. Where there is gift shops, general store, post office, shop which sell outdoor clothes and equipment. As well as a couple of pubs and a tea room. There is a ferry which goes the full length of the lake, to Glenridding. Aira Force is not far by car. Or their is a bus stop if you want to leave the car at the site.

It is hit and miss the type of campers who are there, because the nature of the site. It does quieten down around 12 am. The site is paroled at this time. A police car comes on site, only because it is part of the patrol round.

If your the type of camper who likes quiet, secluded sites, this is not a site for you.

If your looking for site for your children who need to be occupied with swings etc. My son thinks it's fantastic.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mariac 8 reviews from this member

You'll love it or hate it or maybe like me you'll love and hate it. Loved its proximity to Lake Ullswater and the short and pleasant stroll to Pooley Bridge.

Loved the convenience of having the clubhouse on hand to get a fairly-priced meal when the heavens opened over the Bank Hol weekend (fairly rowdy in there but then football was being screened and Man you did beat Arsenal 8-2 so no surprise).

Loved the fact that wardens weren't shushing us up the minute the clock struck 10.

That said, was very glad we weren't on the main part of the site with kids screaming in the park until gone midnight or people traipsing right past the door of your tent to go to the shop or clubhouse.

Hated the fact that we paid 148 for a 4 night stay in a tent and the facilities on the overspill field were woefully inadequate: a Portakabin block of 4 toilets and 2 washing up sinks for the number of tents was a joke.

This field should have its own shower block too. We ended up using our own gas to boil our own water to save queueing to wash up. The toilet block floors were filthy due to a very muddy field and should have been mopped much more frequently.

Would I go again-yes due to the site's great location and relaxed feel. Be warned, if you mind people talking until 3 in the morning and you don't like large groups- stay clear.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheRobinsons11 1 review from this member

I found that Park Foot was well situated site. I cant fault the staff as they were friendly and helpful.

Lake access was great and views amazing.

Shop was pricey but well stocked. Would advise to go into Penrith had lovely sunday dinner there. Food in club house was reasonable Cuppa tea was 1. 20 milk shake was 1. Pint lager was 3 10' pizza 5. Pool table was a 1 if you wanted to play air hockey needed 1 deposit.

Pooley bridge looked busy but didn't get to walk there because of rain.

We were situated in what they called overflow field although it was raining non-stop our car did not get bogged down. Putting our tents up in the rain was horrendous but we all mucked in. Nearest lake access.

The showers although cost 20p for 6 mins were hot and clean. Word of warning if someone is in the next shower your things may get wet!

The toilets in our field were kept clean. Apart from lots of cut grass all over the place, this was soon cleaned up.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Campcritic 4 reviews from this member

This site offered us a cancellation. Although pricey (29 per night just for pitch / electric) we thought it would be good due to location.

Booking in was very slow but staff friendly.

The site pitch was very tight and we had to get two neighbours to move their cars so we could get onto the pitch.

Felt it was a bit much asking 20p for showers at the price. My husband went for a shower and to use the toilets and found a soiled nappy in the cubicle.

2 per hour for wifi is expensive and can only be accessed in the (noisy) bar area.

As TV reception poor, we went to watch Match of the day. Staff hoovered around us then knocked the TV off without warning half way through programme.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catherine81 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a three night stay at Park Foot over the bank holiday weekend.

The location of the site was great, just a short walk by the lake into Pooley Bridge which has some lovely shops and pubs. Staff were also friendly and helpful however, we found the facilities to be very poor.

We were in the overflow field (Eusekrigg) with a toilet block and two dish washing sinks. Given that there were at least 50 family tents on the field, these were very busy and dirty a lot of the time. The closest showers were in the next field and also serviced that field with at least the same number of tents again. We had to queue for 30 minutes to get a shower.

The site itself was kept clean and free of rubbish with plenty of bins but recycling points were a 10 minute walk away - probably far enough to put many people off

Security patrolled on a night which great and made sure noise was kept to a minimum.

We personally felt that what we paid per night (28 no ehu) was too much for the lack of facilities that we had.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Russ84 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a couple of times, each year for the past 4 years with our tent at busy and quiet times of the year. Fantastic location with everything you need. The on site shop is well stocked with everything you could need and reasonably priced. Site is large but can get very busy. We try to get pitched in the lower field over the road from the main site as its much quiter and handy for the lake shore and the short walk to the village. Never used the clubhouse or takaway so could not comment. Since we started going here we have noticed it getting more commercialised and loosing the personal touches. Despite it being a family camping site some clientel spoil it by not adhearing to the rules of no noise between certain hours. The last couple of times we have stayed it seemed more like glastonbury with large groupes drunkenly partying into the night using foul languge and showing no respect for those with small children trying to sleep. If you don't mind rowdy neighbours then there is plenty there for your kids to do. If its peace and quiet your after!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Timetoshine 3 reviews from this member

We spent a long weekend at Park Foot and its gone straight in as one of the best sites we've stayed at.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who directed us to our pitch.

We chose the bottom field to camp in, as we don't require electricity, and found a sunny spot by the sheep's field closest to the Lake. This turned out to be more luck than judgement as all the other pitches next to us were in the shade by 6 o'clock.

The pitches were clean and well maintained plus you can pick your own! The field is large and there's no feeling of being crambed in.

The toilet block looked new and was kept very clean. The showers were always hot. You get 6 minutes for 20p!

The village of Pooley Bridge is 'quaint' with 3 pubs, a tourist information, a few shops and the river running down to Ullswater. We used the Morrisons in Penrith which is approx 10 minutes drive away.

One benefit of this Park over others in the Lakes is that its only 15 minutes from the Motorway so if you want to drive out somewhere it makes the journey a lot more bearable! We drove up to Hadrian's wall for an afternoon walk which I'd recommend.

All in all its a great site, great location and we'll definitely be heading back before too long. This time with a canoe ! !

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bark 1 review from this member

Very good site for kids. Two parks. Well kept. Good facilities. Can get over crowded.

We had noise on the first night but security sorted it. Booked for bank holiday while we where their. Its a little more pricey that the rest but its worth it. Bar and kids disco cool.

Easy to get to. Pooley bridge an easy walk along the lake. The shop sold most things but no beer, very well stocked. Views great from Lark view field.

More EHU needed this is a big site but gets booked up very quickly, due to it having everything for the kids.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3664 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019