Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaz02 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from a long weekend.

Situated in a lovely scenic area overlooking the lake. Site kept clean and bins emptied frequently.

Small pitches, felt like sardines because you are so close you can hear people around you, so can be very noisy.

Facilities - There where two playgrounds which looked good for kids and they where away from the camping area which was good. Cannot comment on the toilets or showers as used our own, I will say they were a trek from camping as they where in the centre near the bar and office.

All in all if you have a kids probably a good site for you, but not if you want a get away for some peace.

P.S saw one warden when we arrived then didn't see any for the rest of the stay

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tilly008 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for a week, 1 caravan & 2 tents. First impressions of the site as we arrived were good, however the young girl who booked us in at reception was far from friendly and welcoming - very abrupt bordering on rude, not very good manners for someone dealing with the public on a daily basis!

Had electric tent pitches on gravel, not too level which was ok for the caravan but struggled with the tents, plenty of room though. We had the better pitches further away from the noise of the playground and club, this meant however a long walk to the showers & shop.

Needs more shower / toilet / chemical disposal facilities for such a large site. Beautiful views and very well stocked shop. Small clubhouse for the size of site. Expensive site when you then have to pay for your showers. Lots of dog owners on site. Never saw any wardens or cleaners the whole week we were there.

Pooley bridge very nice, kfc a few miles up the road towards penrith where there is a morrisons supermarket and good shops. Visited carlisle which is a lovely place and great for shopaholics. Boys took dinghy which is great for the on site lake. All in all a good stay and would visit again, just a few small changes would make this a very good site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kahlenb 3 reviews from this member

Having just returned from Parkfoot, it's not a site I would recommend for those with children over 8 years old.

We arrived mid week, and were dealt with by helpful friendly staff at reception. We were in the Aickbeck field, away from the main park, with beautiful views across the lake. The pitch was flat, and as there are no set pitches there was room for our huge tent, however, as people were coming and going through the week, we arrived from a day out to find that two families had pitched either side leaving no room for us to park, or access the tent as they had pitched so close!

Anyway, that being said it was quiet after midnight and the washing facilities were clean, but with only 6 showers the queues were long each morning, and the toilets over crowded. The club house was small for the size of the site, overrun with small children for the whole evening, and to get a seat at all you needed to be in there by 5 at the latest with the disco starting at 7.30. The playground was well maintained, and the field next to the club house looked spacious, although I wouldn't have liked to be pitched there, it was always busy, and bustling with vehicles, and children.

The shop was well stocked, and the takeaway was on site if you needed a night off from cooking.

All in all, a very large,very busy site, which was just too much for us. My son at 13 found the entertainment too young for him, but there was little else for his age group. This is a site for those who enjoy the hustle and bustle of a holiday camp style holiday, with young children, not if you want peace and quiet, and somewhere to get away from it all. The prices were a little high considering most of the facilities could not be enjoyed or used as they had just too many people on site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicholls05 1 review from this member

2nd visit, 9 mums, 21 children.

This is the 2nd year mums and kids have given park foot a visit. 2009 was great, this year just as good. We always pitch in the top field (lake view). A large field with plenty of room for the children to run around in and play ball games and enjoy the outdoor living. It is a bit of a walk to the shop, but there was a portable loo on this top field, which seemed as clean as a portable cabin can be.

The play area was great and kept the children entertained for hours, shop was well stocked and not over expensive. The main shower block was big so always a shower at hand. Yes you do have to pay 20p for 6 min,s. But that did not cause a problem.

A warden came around the site after midnight to keep the noise levels low, which was great as we did not want other campers keeping our little ones awake either.

The site was in walking distance to the lovely little village which always seemed very busy. A steam boat was at hand there for a morning out on the lake. Evening entertainment was ok, but I don't go camping to watch lady gaga or neil diamond. But children loved the disco and the day time children's clubs where there was a charge of 2.50 per child but worth it just to get rid of a child for a few hours while we did more washing up and made butties.

I Would def recommend this site. But pitch on the top field which never seems to be over packed then the other fields where. Would I go back, defo.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RickHough 1 review from this member

We normally go to France for a couple of weeks, but this year the credit crunch has given us a beating so it was time to pack the 20 year old tent, the 30 year old canoe and my boys (Alex 11, James 7) into the car for a series of stay-cation experiences.

Number one was the Lake District and Park Foot. This is a super site for family camping. We were in the field nearest to the lake where the grass was recently cut and the site very tidy and clean.

The toilet blocks were basic but more than adequate and the facilities around the main reception were excellent with lots for the kids to do.

This site seemed very popular with folk from the North East who are great fun and really know how to enjoy themselves. The kids thought they were abroad and soon learnt the local language!

The boat launch area shelves gently and the small beach to the left drops off rapidly into deeper water so young kids need to be careful.

There is plenty to do in and around the well run camp site and it was a hit with my boys. The main attraction is the lake with boat hire, steamer trips and good Trout and Pike fishing. But don't overlook Pooley Bridge with it's pubs, tea rooms and pretty river setting.

The prices for on-site food and services are very good - 3.80 for Cod and Chips for example (August 2010) is comparable to the chippy in nearby Penrith, so there is no sign of profiteering.

The price was 22 per night which is fairly pricey but reflects the additional facilities available. We paid about 10 a night more for a mobile home in the Vendee last year by comparison, so 22 for a few square metres of a field in Cumbria seems expensive.

Having said that we'll definitely go again (with a bigger tent to get our money's worth!) and I would advise you to book in advance.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smithy1510 1 review from this member

Just retuned from a 5 night stay at park foot, me, wife, 3yr old son, 9yr old and 14yr old nephew and have to say we had an excellent time. After arriving at a very organised reception and being swiftly looked after we found a perfect spot on the 'shop field' which was perfect for the play ground, shop toilets and showers and surprisingly not noisy at all.

The pitch was reasonably flat and there was loads of room for our tent and car. Despite other reviews we could not hear the clubhouse at all. Prices in the shop were very reasonable and well stocked for everything from newspapers and food through to camping equipment and toys for the kids.

The clubhouse was a bit much when entertainment was on but not too pricey and the kids enjoyed the disco and gamesroom.

All in all excellent site and facilities, we will be booking again!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trudifisher 1 review from this member

My husband, 2 young kids and I stayed with our parents in the touring caravan, it was over-crowded, but surprisingly quiet.

Plus points-

-10 minute walk from Pooley Bridge-nice village and the Pooley Bridge Inn does good ale and food.

-Hot showers and lots of them.

-Shop prices OK and it's open 'til 8pm!

-Onsite restaurant with 2 bars, games room and a takeaway!

-2 playparks, one for older kids, one for under 8's.

Down points-

-Closest toilet block was small, needed to be cleaned more than once a day with so many people on site, some of whom were not supervising young kids in there.

-Showers long walk away and cost 20p.

-Restaurant food tastes a bit like like school dinners.

-Pricey laundry 2 pound to wash and 2 pound to dry.

-Kids activities put on in holidays, but only for over 5's.

-Kids disco didn't start til 7:30pm, my kids were getting ready for bed at that time. Kids were taking over the bars all night, running round the dancefloor til 11pm when they shut-there should be rules about that.

For us there were too many down points. We were disappointed with this site and won't be going back again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fe9427 11 reviews from this member

Having booked this site over the phone, didn't get a receipt for the deposit or official confirmation of the charge for the stay which we had booked.

I didn't get a very nice welcome at the reception, then was told that the balance which I thought was left to pay was more, click click click went the reception with her calculator telling me what she was charging me was correct 31 pn.

Pitches were hard and I personally felt not roomy at all.

After pitching up, I investigated the site, seemed a good walk up to the facilities. Shop, yes well equipped, seemed to have a very good selection of camping needs. Then the shock came, after paying 31 pn, we were expected to pay 20p for 6 minutes for the shower, well I know some sites do charge for showers but generally the charge per night at these sites are lower.

Off I went to the reception to complain as I was not happy, the booking form doesn't state there is a charge for showers and neither does the website, I noticed a sign saying you can not 'feed' the meter on the showers, so you need to come out of the shower to put in another 20p.

Firstly I pointed out my overcharge, and then the showers, eventually I decided to stay 1 night and got a refund for the rest of the original booking.

Personally I feel 31 per night is very high especially when you can get the likes of a travelodge for around that price.

I found this site very commercial, obviously banking in on the need for basic facilities.

At the time of our visit there was quite a lot of small fun bikes, which were quite noisy.

Sometimes its best to go to the smaller sites which generally are more friendly and personal.

The children's play area appeared to be well kept and cared for.

Other than the 'Modern shower & toilet blocks, there was a small portable cabin which had a few toilet. An uncovered / outside dish washing facility.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

We spent two nights at this campsite meeting up with friends. We were in the bottom field as we require EHU. Unfortunately all EHU pitches are on hard standing gravel which is not ideal to pitch a tent on. We ended up using the gravel pitch to put the car on and part gravel / grass to pitch. It seemed most people did this and nobody said anything.

The site itself was extremely busy and did feel overcrowded. This is one of the biggest campsites we have ever been to. The facilities were adequate but toilets/showers a bit of a walk away.

We walked into Pooley Bridge a few times. What a lovely little village with good pubs which were family friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie5208 3 reviews from this member

Arrived on the Thursday where there was ample of road. Pitched up in the lower field close to the water. It was a bit of a walk to the shop/ bar/ playground but that was through choice not pitching closer.

Weekend got very busy with a majority of the space taken, toilet and shower block got busy in lower field and due to the bad weather got very muddy.

Bar and shop very good, friendly staff and good prices.The playground area got very busy.

Only down point of this great camp site was it got very noisy late on in the late evening. Also a few light fingered people whom took umbrellas which were left on the side while visiting the toilet.

A good camp site with plenty of activities, walking, boating and cycling

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019