Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

Visited park foot just prior to Easter. It's a big site but seems well run with plenty staff around to help. The shop is very well stocked and reasonably priced. Huge toilet block which was nice and clean 20 p for a shower which was warm but not adjustable. Most touring pitched were level but some aren't so take ramps if you have some. Clubhouse was good and drinks reasonably priced. Approx. A mile from Pooley Bridge which has a couple of nice pubs with good real ales. A good site which I'll use again if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johno17 2 reviews from this member

2nd review of this site as we visited this camp site last year. Staff are fantastic at helping you as best a they can as I had a problem with my car on a Saturday but found a garage that was open and able to help. Was slightly concerned at younger groups arriving and thinking no sleep tonight but come 10pm the site was quite. Shower blocks clean and tidy, site clean and tidy all round a great second visit and will not hesitate to return again next year. Keep up the good work park foot

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moominlinzi 2 reviews from this member

Lovely camping site, I stayed as a family in a tent

I've been back to this site 5 times and always recommend it for camping!

The area is so lovely, the facilities I couldn't fault on either of the grounds by the lake or clubhouse!

The play area is nice and safe, and the kids enjoyed the club in the evening! The shop isnt overly priced and always had the things we forgot to take!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gibson86 2 reviews from this member

Great place to camp. We have visited every year for the last 4 years, usually go non electric and have stayed on both the overflow and shop field, the shop field at the bottom is great, has its own toilet block and the dog walk runs right along the bottom, 2 parks one for the older kids and one for the younger ones, both great condition, shop well stocked and great value as well as the clubhouse, which also served meals, there's a takeout service available as well. 5 minutes walk from the lake and if you walk along the lake to pooley bridge there's a couple of pubs and some tourist shops. Will definitely be back again this year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blackpoolrock 1 review from this member

First trip in out new tent for us, in fact first trip full stop. I booked this on recommendation before I found this site. I read a few negatives and eve thought of cancelling but I'm so glad I didn't !

I'm currently on my last of 6 nights on 'shop top field' judging by the other areas this is the smallest of around 15 large ( largest on the site) gravel pitches with EHU and water tap ( don't know if all sites have own tap each pitch ?)

The site is massive, so I am glad to be on this part of the site, it's maintained to a very high standard, litter pickers can be see through out the day hard at work and there are plenty of bins about. Being the school holidays there are lots of children about but this hasn't bothered me ( I have 3 of my own) and the club house is very accommodating with lots of things for the children, discos, theme nights arcade etc and all the bar drinks seam reasonable to me. The shop is well stocked and I find it to be cheaper than back home ! Lovely fresh bread and pastries hot from the oven in the mornings.

Showers are great, 20p for 6 mins - feels like the longest 6 mins of your life !

I can't comment on price as I have nothing to compare to but I paid about 200 for 6 nights on the biggest pitch with EHU

Above all this is a great site in a great location and ill be back !

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenb108 3 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site that should suit all types of campers whethe you are looking for a quiet field or a buzzing club house with supporting shops/takeaway. I will definitely be going back again.

As we were using the campsite as a base only I can't comment on the cost of food/drinks/shop.

We camped away from the clubhouse as we were not planning to use it, and noise was never a problem.

It only took ten minutes to walk to Pooley Bridge via the footpath by the lake.

Even though we camped in the furthest field there was an excellent portable toilet block which was always clean and always had toilet paper, I did hear someone complaining about the grass on the floor, but camping on a grass field I would expect grass to be brought into the toilets. Showers were only a short walk away in the next field's toilet/shower block (cost 20p for 6 minutes) which was more than enough to shower. There were enough toilets and showers that I never queued in the 5 days we stayed.

There were also plenty of water taps and rubbish bins around the fields.

Penrith is only 6 miles away and we passed a large Go Outdoors, Morrisons and Aldi - the next time we visit this site I will just stock up on foodstuffs in the local supermarket rather than bringing everything with me.

The Ullswater Steamers sail from just outside Pooley Bridge. A few weeks beforehand I switched 7. 50 of Tesco Clubcard Vouchers for 30 of Tesco Tokens and used these for day passes on the Steamers (2 adults & 1 child)- well worth the 3 extra I paid in cash.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arranmam 3 reviews from this member

We have visited Park Foot for the last 5 years, this year in our touring caravan and previously in our family tent. This year was the first time I have been disappointed with our holiday.

Usually we stay midweek on the Aikbeck field but this time we opted for a weekend on the main site. I found the site to be noisy despite the midnight noise rules which wasn't great for having non grumpy children in the morning.

The site is obviously much busier on a weekend which meant children getting bored waiting for turns in the playpark (a complaint that they've never had before).

Customer service was as good as ever and the shop was good value and well stocked. The toilet and showers were clean although the angle of the shower head did result in more water hitting the door than me.

We probably will visit again but not on a week-end and hopefully my faith in this site can be restored.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Iss. 2 reviews from this member

Spot on site. Great facilities, toilet block always clean. Great children's play area. No complaints at all. Will be back

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katiekenneth 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from our 7th visit to parkfoot, we love it more and more. We stayed on the field closest to the lake for easy access for our fishing boat. Our view was amazing. The showers were as always well kept and never had to queue once. The on site shop was well stocked as ever and just as I thought they definitely wouldn't stock hair bobbles for my little girl I was pleasantly supplied when the owner said yes we have them and they are on sale 50 pence only. The noise restriction was enforced which is always good, particularly at this time of the year. My only gripe is the clubhouse which is lovely and my kids use the arcade and pool table and mini disco but then I think children shouldn't be allowed after a certain time because some people don't know how to behave around children whilst inebriated and a fight erupted between 2 women on the dancefloor, albeit the security were prompt to attention but this behaviour is not acceptable around children. This has not put me off parkfoot and we will visit once or twice a year still. Overall a stunning location and fabulous facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ems1976 17 reviews from this member

We recently spent a weekend at Park Foot Holiday Park in the lake District and had a lovely time. My husband and I stayed with our 4 yr old son, my mum and her partner and we all enjoyed ourselves, despite the typical British rain. We stayed in the lower field by the lake (it has a specific name but I forget what it is now). The field was a great size and the pitches were plenty big enough. The facilities on the lower field were great and being next to the lake meant we had some great views. There is a path that walks along the lake that takes you to Pooley Bridge in under 10 mins and is a very pleasant walk. We went across the road to the main site on the Saturday evening to have a drink and see what entertainment was on as they offer a full entertainment package. It was the first weekend of the school holidays and as such as extremely busy, we kind of expected it but I think the rain had driven everyone indoors and for a campsite of this size, the indoor pub wasn't really big enough. They have a great dance floor which the kids loved but after 2 quick drinks we headed back, too busy and noisy for us. On the main site they have possibly the best stocked campshop I have ever seen, it really was fantastic a little camping treasure trove and reasonably priced too. They also had 2 kids play areas a younger kids and an older kids which I thought was a great idea. Unfortunately there was no kids play area on the lower field which was a shame. I think if we stayed again I would stay in the main site although when we had a walk around the site the camping fields here looked to be largely on a slope. We did lots of walking in the area, Aira Force on the road to Glenridding is a lovely day out and we stopped off in Glenridding for lunch and a pint. On the lower field we camped near the road, the main reason being that it looked as if the sun was shining on this area in the evening and not the morning (when you can pick your own pitch we looked for these things, my son doesn't need any more excuses to get up earlier than he already does!), the downside to this is that what looks to be a pretty country lane is quite busy and we could hear road noise all night. I'd imagine if you stayed on the other side of the field it would be much quieter but if the weather is good you might get the sun quite early. The main site seems to have a lot of statics for hire as well which might explain the quantity of people on the Saturday night. The main site when it was busy was a bit like a Haven for campers. Although we had a great time and would probably stay again with friends, there are a lot of great sites in the area so it wouldn't be our first choice. Having said that, if you have a family and are looking for something in the area for a week, I would recommend it, although you'd have to weigh up if a sloping pitch nearer play areas and facilities is better than a flat pitch in a quieter but beautiful field.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4190 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019