Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sidaho 1 review from this member

Our first ever family camping trip was spent here on a word of mouth recommendation and we were very satisfied with the site.

We booked in advance and stayed in the shop field which was ideally located for most of the facilities. We were checked in without fuss on arrival by one of the many reception staff, and directed to our field where we were able to choose a pitch.

The field was on a very slight slope but was fairly flat, although combination of shiny sleeping bag and shiny airmat meant I didn't wake up in the same place I went to sleep!

The shop sells a wide range of groceries and camping equipment and we were able to top up our basic range of camping gear with some essentials.

Drinking water taps are placed at regular intervals around the site and we found this most convenient. There are also dish washing sinks available which we also found useful. The toilet blocks and showers were of a good standard and the shower cubicles had enough room to change.

On the downside, the midges were biting. Well - they were biting me anyway. The rest of our party was unscathed and I was bitten over a hundred times! Also, we can verify that the local crows are all you will need to get up in the morning - leave your alarm clock at home!. There was a midnight noise curfew which was not observed by a large group camped behind us.

Anyway, as well as the midges, we were all bitten by the camping bug and will be returning next week for another weekend, armed with loads of insect repellent!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JCSD 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience and we were very impressed with the site. We stayed for 2 nights and had a warm and friendly welcome at reception and were on the field near the lake. Pitch was quite level, fantastic scenery the only annoying thing was the sheep at 4am every morning in the nearby field!
The toilet block and shower facilities were immaculate and great that they had electric points in them for me and my teenage daughter to straighten our hair! Our young two year old son loved the lake, ducks and sheep.
The washing up facilities were good and never had to wait around for a sink. The clubhouse was nice and clean, drinks were reasonably priced. The site shop had all the essentials you would need and more, well stocked with camping equipment at fair prices.
The take away was ok 1.40 for chips. People around us were friendly and the tents were spaced out great. Overall very friendly, clean and in a beautiful location.
The only let down for our stay was the 'typical' british weather! it rained and rained and rained and rained and rained some more then to top it off it thundered and lightened! hahaha oh well we had fun anyway and will definitely visit again. Hopefully the weather will be kind to us next time!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markmassey461 3 reviews from this member

Booking in on arrival was easy although we had complicated things ourselves by having an extra person and half our party wanting to stay an extra day, the staff were helpful and very friendly.

We chose to pitch in the field closest to the lake without electric hook up (we have found over the years that this is a waste of time and money as all you need is a cooler box and hire 3 ice blocks per day, on this camp site hire added up to 90p per day).

The bottom field has it's own toilet/shower block and washing up facilities. The amount of toilets / showers / washing stations seems to be adequate, I personally did not have to wait for any but I was not trying to have a shower at peak times (i.E. For a night in the club house).

The water was always hot and the pressure sometimes too high.

We did visit the clubhouse once and found the entertainment very good.

The site shop was very well stocked and sold a fair range of camping equipment as well as food, to be honest I found hardly any difference in the prices at the site shop compared to supermarket prices.

From where we pitched the tent it was about a 2 minute walk to the lake and if the kids had had their way we would have spent the whole week there.

A few times during the week we took a walk into Pooley Bridge along the footpath which runs along the lake, this took about 10 minutes at 3 year old pace.

Once during the week we climbed up to Authurs Pike, this took about 3 hours round trip with a 5 year old. I would recommend taking a walk up there as the view is incredible as it is from the top of Hallin Fell. Which is the hill directly in front of you as viewed from Pooley Bridge and looks like the other end of the lake, but is in fact about half way.

Overall the site is fantastic and very clean, there is enough activities on site to keep the kids amused all week without the boat hire and fantastic surrounding areas.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Papercorn2000 6 reviews from this member

Can't really fault this site. Clean facilities, friendly & helpful staff, excellent kids entertainment at weekends!

Take the boat from Pooley Bridge to the other end of Ullswater for the day. Spend a day on the Fells above the site.

Great place for a holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LJSLLOYD 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at park mid may not bad weather.We were very impressed with site, toilet and shower blocks were very clean.The club house was nice with food to eat in or take away not bad prices either. We camped on electric pitch for the first time and will never look back.
The only problem we found with the site was the crows that would wake you up early morning! Our daughter loved the 2 parks and the brook to fish in. Shop was full with everything you will need prices not bad either. Pooley Bridge is only 10 minutes walk along the lake lovely pubs and the river is great to paddle in. Will be going back next year!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dianne01 2 reviews from this member

We have been to Park Foot on several occasions including bank holidays, each time we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This year on the May bank holiday I found the site very overcrowded. We were booked into a field named Lakeview which was quite a distance from the amenities; a porta cabin was provided but was not very nice to use as the toilets very rarely flushed. I love Ullswater but I think these overflow fields should be charged at a discounted rate to the main site, as we paid for facilities we were too far away to use

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slinger 3 reviews from this member

We have been staying at Parkfoot on and off for the past 14 years and still love it every time we go. We have just returned from a week there and whilst the weather wasnt that great, the fields held up tremendously to it there was no mud to be seen! The facilities are amongst the best we have experienced and the on site shop sells everything, and at reasonable prices unlike other sites. Be warned though, they don't sell beer!

We prefer the bottom field by the lake as its more spread out, level, and being near the lake is perfect for at night where you can have a nice walk into the village. The midges can be a nuisance though and if there is one thing this site should supply you with it is a gun, those god damn crows are no laughing matter at 4am in the morning, least of all when they decide to poo on your head like happened to me! *#%'!

A great site, but from past experience we tend to stay away at BH weekends as its gets full !

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnny_robinson 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site.

Staff where brilliant and very friendly. Regular security patrols where carried out which gave peace of mind, even the security man was very nice to speak to.

There is a take away on site and also a shop which sells a large amount of things which are not badly priced.

Toilets and showers where immaculate, in the showers there was a little changing area also before actually entering the shower which was very good.

Showers cost 20p for 6 minutes but is worth it, no instances of cold water at all.

Will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here last weekend after reading the reviews which were all pretty good. We arrived friday night about 8.00pm and the site was fairly busy but we managed to get a spot not too far from the lake.
The site itself is very big and well organised, the showers and toilet block were very clean. Our only criticism was the noise on the friday night. Other reviews said it was lights out at 12.00 midnight and there were a lot of signs up around the park confirming this, however there were some large family groups and also large groups of single males and they were still shouting and swearing right up to about 2.00am in the morning which did spoil our stay a little. Whether this is the norm or not, i'm not too sure but there were a lot of people complaining about it the next morning so it may have been a one off scenario. Would we go back? Yes we would - the location is perfect and the village of pooley bridge is a 10 minute walk away with a few nice pubs.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flashmanxx 2 reviews from this member

Great site. Stayed six nights and although the weather let us down on the last couple of nights the days stayed sunny (it is the lakes after all). The site was well looked after with staff walking around and cleaning the area (picking up litter after some people couldn't be bothered to pick up after them selves). The toilet blocks very clean and numerous so there was no waiting to use the facilities.

Arrived friday night and it was quite busy with large groups but as we had pre booked there was absolutely no problem with the pitch (electric hook up. The no noise rule was respected by most but a few stayed up late 02.30am and decided to make themselves heard. When my kids woke up at 7.00 and I cooked breakfast I made sure they heard me but swings and round abouts. Hee hee.

I was surprised with the size of the site and have already made arrangements to go back. The walk south to the end of Ulswater and return by ferry to pooley bridge was great and put the entire day in.On the rest day the kids loved fishing in the small stream and made the day for them when they caught a fish. If your out and about Whin latter forest visitor center is a must as the forest walks (free) Go ape site (payment required) and visitor center with cafe is excellent value for money and again we put the entire day in.

We stayed mid week and took the kids out of school as this was our main holiday every one there was very friendly and made our stay very welcome.

The only gripe is that we don't have a dog. Every one respected the site and put their dogs on leads cleaned up after themselves but the owners golden Lab / Retriever is allowed to wander and tried to help itself to dinner at our tent. Will definitely be going back not the cheapest but level electric pitches and slightly sloping normal pitches but huge choice

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019