Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Daisies 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one week at the beginning of August, with our three young children.

Site very busy. Serviced pitch was good and we luckily had a nice view across Ullswater lake. Only a few pitches have this.

The bottom field which was alongside us and housed some toilets and wash up facilities was a constant mud bog. I felt sorry for those that had to stay in that field.

An uphill hike to the main toilet block. Toilets and showers ok but not that clean depending upon what time you get there. Shop well stocked and busy - prices reasonable.

Play area next to stream and busy site road. Not safe for young kids to play. I had to keep a close eye on mine - aged 1, 3 and 5. When some older children were playing on the tyre swing we had to leave the play area as the equipment is very close together and I was worried we would get hit by the swing. Girls spent a lot of time in the stream (supervised of course).

On the bright side, it was a lovely private walk to ullswater lake and we spent quite a bit of time there. From there, there is a nice easy walk (with pushchair) on to Pooley Bridge.

Weather not too kind to us, so we had to visit the site clubhouse on some rainy evenings, which took me back to my childhood and pontins etc. Kids loved it, I didn't!

Overall the site was ok. The children, especially my five year old loved it. I wouldn't rule it out but probably wont be in a rush to go back. The prices are quite steep for the services you get.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikethebike1127 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 6 nights . Pitched up near the club house as the lower field was a mud bath, however, up on the hill you need one leg shorter than the other as there a no level pitches. The toilet blocks aren't the cleanest and I think that after paying top dollar for an unserviced pitch, having to put 20p in the shower is a bit cheeky! Inside the club house looks like a early 80's Butlins throw back and the gents toilets were disgusting. And this was at 7 in the evening! A short walk/drive down to the village and you will get a good meal. Well stocked shop on site but expensive. You are probably reading this thinking I'm an old fuddy duddy who moans about everything.You'd be wrong.I'm a young family man who is writing the truth.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamwood 3 reviews from this member

Stayed Bank Holiday weekend, so busy but expected. Main site has great facilities as you can we on their website.

We stayed on the other side of the road close to the lake, in the overflow field. Facilities limited, two washing up sinks and a porto cabin with toilets and sinks. But only as short walk to the better facilities in the stone block with everything in the next field, but this field was more crowded. 20p for a 6min shower.

Loads of space in the overflow field, but a bit soggy near the bottom near the toilets.

Lake very close and only a short 10min walk into Pooley Bridge, which has a few shops and three pubs. All served food and good beer.

The two local shops sell some cold drinks. The site itself does not sell drink in the shop, only over the bar for inside or takeaway, but heard this was expensive.

Boat hire or trips available from pooley Bridge. Plenty to do if you want to do it.

Morrisons supermarket at Penrith only a few miles drive, plus all the take aways if needed.

Yes would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lil_me 2 reviews from this member

Not many reviews for tourers so thought I would add one. We were 'greeted' by a rather abrupt member of staff when we arrived who booked us in by going through a regimented style checklist. I was then stopped by a 'helpful' member of staff outside who'd overheard who showed me where to go properly (nowhere near where the girl in reception told us) and explained where to put the van etc.

Parkfoot is in a great location for visiting Ullswater area of the lakes.

I am a bit disappointed that after paying £31.50 per night what was charged additionally for - the Kids club activities were £2.50 per session (1.5 hours) and showers were charged for, ok it's only 20p but it's the most expensive site we've ever stayed on and for this to be charged additionally for, I find a little cheeky. I think when we are visiting the lakes again we'd go for a cheaper site, the extra cost wasn't worth it for what facilities were there (ok was a lot of facilities but not included in the price)

Tourer pitches are all on a form of hardstanding but was very uncomfortable to walk around in an awning on it, also because of the 'holes' in it the step kept moving which was a bit dangerous. Water and EHU points very close, I think many got away with using a longer waste water pipe instead of a waste carrier.

Showers and toilets definitely were not the cleanest, but there was a lot of rain overnight so was probably a lot of mud.

The main problem with the toilets and showers, chemical disposal point, shop, wash up area, clubhouse etc is the distance from the pitches, it's a rather big up hill walk which 2 tired children didn't like one bit. Dragging the chemical toilet all the way up there wasn't on my wishlist but had to be done.

Site shop was well stocked and did a wide variety of items from milk/bread to camping equipment. The people who run the shop were not always 'smiling' but very helpful and honest. I bought an item which was due to be reduced within a few days and he gave me it for the reduction price.

We spent most of our time off site, Ullswater Steamers trip seems expensive (£30.50 family return) but well worth it for us, got the boat over to Glenridding and spent a few hours there then came back. Aira Force is beautiful if you're up to the walk. Eden Ostrich World was my sons favourite day out. Penrith isn't too far away if you need anything inc shopping.

Entertainment on site, there was 2 acts on in the week we stayed in the club house, one called Altered Ego's was very good indeed, the other not so good. Games room a lot didn't work. Table tennis table right next to the smoking shelter so as well as not wanting my children there, I didn't want them hitting people with the ball as I'd seen others do. 2 play parks but a lot of the equipment in need of repair or looking generally shabby.

Club house - Tables were always sticky in the bar, not enough seats for the size of the site and some staff were not very well trained (a beer was an icecream or flat!) . Smoking area outside was very nicely done, not a big bus shelter type afair.

Food was of 'takeaway' standard at restaurant prices. You were given an order number then came back to collect your food so no 'service' involved.

TV signal (inc digital) and Sky signal was both very poor and it's difficult to get a signal on many mobiles.

Other site users - many noisy site users, being a camp site mainly I found it much louder than other sites we usually visit, noise until very late however usually the 12 midnight rule was sort of followed. A lot of unsupervised teenagers. No balls games area really so footballs being bounced about everywhere. People who didn't respect the dogs on lead rules annoyed me as we had one take a leak on our awning and another poop next to our door - nothing was stuck to, no staff about ever to see any of this.

What made the holiday - being in the Lake District which is wonderful.

Thank you to Natalie, one of the members of staff, they're all worked from early morning until late at night but she always had a smile.

The last day someone came to us to say 'everything ok, you'll be off by 11am won't you as we have bookings' then walked off before I had chance to reply.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah_A 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Park Foot. We had a bit of a mixed experience really and the campsite seems to have a split personality between the atmosphere at the weekend and during the week!

Arrived last Thursday and pitched in the Shop Bottom field, nice flat pitches and only about 12 other tents at the time. It was raining quite hard and a couple of other campers came and gave us a hand to pitch after we realised we had the footprint back to front (of course hubby blamed me!). Nice quiet evening on Thursday night, never heard a noise after 10.30pm. Come Friday however a few more tent appeared and we had 2 large groups pitch opposite us. Both groups were made up of about 20 people in all, complete with a gazebo which you could almost hold a wedding reception in, enough booze to fuel all the guests. Thankfully they left on Monday and the rest of the week was really peaceful with quiet respectful families!

There was a fair amount of heavy rain which turned the entrance onto our field into a 1 foot deep mud bath! On Thursday the owner turned up with a JCB and they removed all the mud to reveal a concrete roadway which the owner explained some council official had ordered them to cover over about 10 years ago as it looked “too urban”. This made a huge difference as we had been worried about the car getting stuck in the mud when leaving the campsite!

The shop was well stocked but rather pricey, however there is a Morissons about 6 miles away in Penrith so only used the site shop really for bread, milk etc. Showers were 20p for 6 minutes which I found long enough for myself, also 1 x 20p was long enough to shower my younger 2 one after the other. They were relatively clean and we never had to wait for a shower although getting anywhere near a sink was harder with the amount of beautifying ladies and teens taking over every available plug socket for hairdryers, straighteners etc!

Kids enjoyed the Archery which was only £2.50 each for 1.5 hours. Never went into the club so can’t comment on that. There are a couple of play parks, the one suitable for younger kids was poorly maintained and had a 2 inch screw sticking out of the seat of the swing, the other one is right next to the stream which is more suited to older kids because of it’s proximity to the water. My kids loved spending hours building dams in the stream.

There is a lovely walk into Pooley Bridge which you can take by cutting through the bottom camping field (across the road from the main site) and head towards the boat launch. There is an area there the kids loved paddling in and it was a really lovely walk to the village following the path.

All in all I would never stay again over the weekend as the site is rowdy with large groups out for a cheap weekend! I would only stay Monday to Thursday night if we ever decide to go again, however it is not on our top list of sites!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heather + phil 9 reviews from this member

The field we pitched on was the one nearest to the lake. There wasn't any marked pitches, so it felt a little 'free for all'. We found a spot that wasn't too muddy and set up camp. The first night was spoilt by some drunken yobs. I can only assume that the security were very busy elsewhere, as it was a Saturday night. The rest of the week was fine.

There were only three toilets in the mens, which I thought was way too small for all the tents. I used the ones in the main block, which had bags more. Slightly disappointed that we had to pay 20p for the showers, as we felt that we had already paid enough for the facilities.

The site has good playgrounds for children. Climbing frames, swings, see-saws, slides etc. The favourite seems to be the huge rubber tyre and the river running through the middle of the site. There is a club house too, that is very geared up for them.

The on site shop had reasonable prices and a very wide selection of goods available.

We found the walk along the lake into Pooley Bridge to be very pleasant. The pubs were all very nice and friendly.

This is a good site that would be great if the roads were properly surfaced in the lower field and the plots were marked out with a hard standing parking place, so you don't have to drive on the grass, making it more sludgy.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosie03 1 review from this member

Just come back from 7 nights at this site. Despite torrential rain the whole time the site was busy. Shower & toilet facilities were excellent. The club house was good with pretty decent food on offer. But I have two complaints.

The laundry - As I have said above it rained for the whole of the week so the laundry was busy from opening until closing. But three washing machines (and slow ones at that - surely in this day and age commercial washing machines could wash a bit faster) was not enough for a site this size. They really need to increase the number of washing machines. With four small children in tow I spent a lot of time queueing for a machine.

The play areas - There are two but they are both a bit tatty and were occupied by teenagers all the time. A separate play area for toddlers and small children is an essential on this site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TartanMel 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on the thursday and was given a pitch in the Lake View field. Fabulous views and loads of space, came back friday teatime and was totally hemmed in on both sides by other tents, lucky if there was 2 ft between us and our new noisy neighbours, we were not impressed but we'd paid our money and was determined to stick it out. Luckily noise was kept to a minimum after midnight so it wasn't so bad after all even though we felt like eavesdroppers being so close to other tents.

Facilities were great, though quite a distance from our field even though we had a portacabin with loo's and sinks in our field, which had huge queues most of the weekend.We felt the trek to use the showers, wash the dishes etc etc were a bit much considering we paid over 20 quid a night for 3 nights.

But everyone else seemed to be having a great time even though the rain was terrible, maybe it was just us being a couple with no kids and was looking forward to some peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairechris 13 reviews from this member

Super for families not so much for 35 year olds wanting romantic break! great facilities you could lose kids all day. Great to see so many parents putting kids first on this site playing in stream, playground and on lake. Very busy and tents half metre apart on shop field. Would advise lower field as more space, I will try again down there.
Noise until 11pm it was loud but stopped completely until 830am thanks to strict rules on this. Great location for Pooley Bridge village and Ullswater walks. Showers clean and mod. Huge in fact, sockets for hairdryers too. Lively clubhouse child orientated.Shop very reasonable and super stock. Only stayed one night ]as too busy for us.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linrob 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here in July - in the rain!

A lovely site, well organised and efficient staff with the best shower facilities I have come across so far.

Only one small, minor criticism of the play area near to the club house - it was a bit shabby.

Beautiful surrounding area but no need to go to far - the kids loved the site and walking to the lake.

Would definitely visit again.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019