Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pammike 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Parkfoot and my review to some may be a little surprising as I know there are plenty of good reports, however my overall experience of Parkfoot was not good…. but I will start with the positives.

The site itself is immaculate and well kept, it is without doubt a very pretty site with some lovely surroundings and in close proximity to the pretty little village of Pooley Bridge and there is plenty of walking in the beautiful lake district in easy reach too.

The facilities – are excellent and were always clean, decent showers 20p for 6 minutes.

The shop – excellent, well stocked above and beyond your daily needs.

If you’re thinking of going and can do without an electric hook up then go without, (ladies you can use the electric in the toilet area and the shop loan ice blocks 50p a block) the non electric camping pitches are far more superior and this was our regret.

So my downsides –

The pitch for electric hook up was very poor, small and very sloped – we had our camping table balanced on 2 house bricks! And for £28 a night it is just not acceptable.

Be aware when booking EHU pitches and ask if the pitch is sloped.

The club house had security door staff – I ask you! I’m on a family campsite not in the middle of some town – I appreciate that they are doing it for a reason but it’s that very reason that puts me off! The club house is no way big enough to cope with the size of the site – it was crammed full of kids running around… ok if that’s your thing but we never went back!.

Noise on the sites is allowed til midnight and some carried on their music and noise til that very time and when you have small children on a family site you are early to bed as they are up early so I think this is too late – other sites are 10pm or even 11pm and that’s plenty.

Then the final straw came on the Friday night a family decided to have huge kick off – male drunk and or drugged up causing a riot with his family shouting swearing tops of their voices – punching a person and kicking cars and driving around the campsite during the early hours – both security and Police called – Ok…. So they were kicked off the next morning but even then they blasted there car music out with no shame – I’m sorry this was just an awful experience and my first ever on a family site.

OVERALL - I have to say if you are reading this and are still thinking about staying on the site – my 2 tips: request a flat pitch and visit outside school holidays and midweek if you can. Otherwise a very pretty site that I won’t be revisiting – as I know there are plenty more pretty campsites worth visiting in the UK that offer better pitches and with no need for security staff!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: F0lksinger 1 review from this member

Stayed for one night - 4th July. Very clean - well maintained site. Plenty of room between hard-standing pitches. Staff very helpful. Didn't use the on-site restaurant facility but it certainly looked good. On site social club was very good - real ale available at pub prices - only thing that spoiled it was the continuous loop of advertising on the large projected television screen. Toilet blocks were very clean and there were several of them scattered around the site. (20p for a 6 min shower)

The on site shop was well stocked with essentials a well as an array of camping equipment.

Cash machine in the clubhoues charges £1. 75 to withdraw cash (won't be using that).

15 minute walk along the lakeside to the picturesque village of Pooley Bridge.

On the whole, my wife and I were very satisfied with our Park Foot experience.

I would have given 10 out of 10 but the projected TV and cash machine that charges, force me to deduct 1 point

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracks72 1 review from this member

Overall the campsite is excellent and superbly situated, approximately ten minutes walk to the village via the lakeside path which has relatively easy access, ie for push chairs not in my opinion for wheelchairs.

The toilet blocks are well maintained, clean and tidy and the showers at 20p for six minutes were more than adequate for showering myself and my daughter, although the shower head angle virtually allows the water spray to reach the exterior door of the cubicle; (word to the wise, leave footwear outside the cubicle & to keep clothing dry put in a plastic bag and hang on the door!).

The playgrounds, both of which my children thoroughly enjoyed were well maintained.

The staff were friendly, approachable and professionally presented, however the catering staff in the take away were prone to errors so its advisable to check your order is correct before leaving. Also I found the prices were steep to say the least, the chips were of an unbranded bog standard frozen variety and small portions for £1.85; similarly the pizzas were uninspiring and not worth the money (unfortunately this hasn't changed for 12 years which was the last time we visited).

The clubhouse was clean, tidy and the staff considerate, polite and friendly, although considering the size of the campsite the clubhouse is small and it does in my experience become crowded in peak season. Again the prices were rather steep and I disagree with a previous review that they were 'pub prices' although that is probably relative to the area in which you live, still one pint of strongbow and a large white wine came to £8.25 so if your planning to drink in the clubhouse remember to take extra pennies!

The children enjoyed the slush drinks from the take away £2 50 initial charge then £1.25 for a refill and they got too keep the cups!

One other slight bug bear; owners of dogs not keeping their dogs on the lead and generally allowing their dogs to wander around the camp field. Granted this is dog owner ignorance and site rules apply to everyone not just a few. I have two dogs myself and when exercising the dogs in public places at home or away they are kept on the lead; extendible leads used when appropriate. Dog owners should realise that the rules are there for the safety and enjoyment of all campers, dog owners or otherwise and not only applicable to a select few!

The shop is amazing and a veritable Bizarre of goods and products ranging from the 'I cant believe I forgot that' to the sublime and all at reasonable prices, which in my experience is unusual for a campsite shop. However the shop is not an Off Licence which is understandable considering the site has a licensed clubhouse!

Despite my griping about the prices and ignorant dog owners I would return to Parkfoot and plan too in the near future so all in all an overall rating of 7 out of 10 for myself and my family.

Oh and in peak season the noise doesn't stop at Midnight so be prepared, this is not a site for the early to bed and early to rise!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Section33 5 reviews from this member

We paid to Stay at this site for over a week having stayed in and around the Ullswater valley many times for many years. Think it was on the second night when the young lad in the unit next to us had his bike stolen when we began to get a bit concerned about the site, or maybe it was the day after when the police were on site because of thefts from tents/awnings? Shrugging off our misgivings we went for a

Picnic to the site's lakeside area on the third day - nothing like empty cans of fosters floating on the lake while a dog attacks a duck with her chicks (to the amusement of the owners) accompanied by drum & bass thumping from a portable sound station (I'm not making this up - was like a scene from Trigger Happy TV and yes, these were guests on the site) to give you a sense of peace & tranquillity (the park does have signs staring no all male/female groups but you need to read the small print where it defines groups as more than gangs of 15!). We made our way back to our pitch on the lakeside path through discarded cans, bottles, nappies, human faeces, folks having fires in gazebos and relieving themselves against fences in full view of everyone -one bloke was actually pulling the hedgerow down to burn on said gazebo fire- & we quickly packed up & left!

I know I sound like an old fart writing this (I'm not by the way) and I've no problem with this kind of site in Newquay or Margate but its not what we go to the lakes for. Although the site itself was clean and is well situated it was simply let down by an all night party atmosphere and lack of respect between fellow campers that we've never encountered before. Most mornings of our stay I spoke to tired looking folk whilst washing dishes who had been kept awake by noisy parties and who been verbally abused if/when they tried to intervene. The site is simply too big for the few security staff to manage this & the usual respect between campers just didn't seem to apply. Maybe we simply stayed during a particularly rowdy time, I don't know??

So overall, if you're looking for Blackpool, in the Lake District, go to Park Foot. If not, steer well clear; we certainly will!

Positive: Reception staff were happy & helpful & the shop was good!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Briffster 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 nights at Park Foot for £34!. It was our first camping trip with our two little girls (aged 3 & 1) We all thought it was the perfect introduction to camping. Only 40 miles from home yet felt a lot further.

The shop was well stocked and pretty reasonable price (only gripe is not being able to re-freeze your own blocks, they hire them out at £1. 50 each then 50p for re-freezing) decided it would be cheaper to buy bacon and milk fresh each morning. Used bucket of water to keep wine and beers cold.

We were there on Hot rod weekend but the cars were never a problem.

They had a kids disco on friday night which was a good excuse to pop to the clubhouse.

Showers were lovely and clean. 20p for 6 minutes was very good value.

All in all, a fantastic time and lovely site. The weather was very hot too which made the time even better.

We asked our 3 year old if she had a good time and she wants to come back next week. Success!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmatobin 8 reviews from this member

We absolutely loved this site! One of the best we have been to yet!

Paid £44 for 2 nights with electric hookup.

We went to park foot for 2 nights (fri & sat) after looking for a site that was not too far from home. (I live in blackpool and site is only 1. 5 hours drive) we arrived about 6pm on the friday, easy to find and reception were very friendly and welcoming.

We had an electric pitch (on fine gravel) so its advisable to take a groundsheet or footprint with you. Pitch was nice and big, we were right near the play area (didn't have daughter with us) but this didn't bother us at all. The drinking water tap was literally right next to our pitch and litter bins were just across from us.

There is a shop on site which is actually quite big and stocks everything you could need - including camping equipment, they had fresh croissants in the morning too! The on site clubhouse is very handy and there's even a takeaway that opens 5-10pm (the pizza, chips and curry sauce were lovely) quite reasonably priced too.

The toilet and shower block on site was very clean, showers were 20p for 6 mins - you cant put 40p in and have 12 minutes. You need to wait until your first 6 mins are up until you can add the next 20p (a little annoying when you washing your face as I was) but hot and clean showers.

Surrounding area is fantastic - 10 minute walk to pooley bridge where there are 3 pubs (the sun inn, the crown inn - this has a huge beer garden out the back that sits on the estuary and the pooley bridge inn - gorgeous food here!

There is a cafe / souvenir shop in pooley bridge and they do a lovely breakfast/ scones and ice cream. The only point I would make when walking from the campsite into pooley bridge is that there is no footpath so you are walking down a country lane for half of it (just in case you have small children its good to be aware of)

A fantastic site with great, clean facilities, lots to do for the kids ( 2 play areas and a stream to play in) There is also direct access to the lake. We are already planning to return in a few weeks with my daughter and some friends :-)

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vikkee 3 reviews from this member

Just arrived back after 4 days at Park Foot on a electric tent pitch. Really lovely site, staff great very friendly, kids loved it lots to see and do. Visited the Abbott's Lodge dairy farm in Clifton had lots of lovely ice cream and shopped in Penrith only 6 mile away.

Toilets were very clean and the shop very well stocked (fresh croissants and crusty bread everyday, get there early!). Entertainment spot on and a film for the kids one night. Two parks on site and the lake was beautiful the kids splashed in there for hours.

All in all lovely break and definitely will return. Just one downfall the electric pitch behind the shop could do with a toilet block, bit of a trek up the hill for us.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewd39 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights. Tent with EHU in the field over the road from the lake.

Cannot fault the site for its location, the entertainment provided for the children, the state of the pitches and the facilities (these were spotless, 20p for the shower). There is a well stocked shop on site, prices seemed to be reasonable, and the food/drink offered both in the clubhouse and from the takeaway was also ok. The lakeside access is also a bonus.

Easy to book online, and we paid the balance on arrival.

There is noise from the clubhouse, and regardless of the midnight noise cut off there was plenty going on (radios, TV's and shouting well after the midnight cut off) there was little evidence of any site warden asking for at least a 'reduction' in the volume. There was, though, plenty of evidence of a visit at 8. 30 am Sat morning by an employee waking us up arguing we hadn't paid for 2 cars - when it was pointed out we had, and there was an error on the printout, there was no apology offered for either getting us up, or the way we were spoken to.

All in all this is a nice site in a great location. Although I do feel the site owners would be better suited putting more energy into stopping the noise in the early morning, rather than waking people up arguing over a £7 charge for an extra car that had clearly already been paid for.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alspark660 2 reviews from this member

Arrived around 5pm on the bank holiday Friday and reception was very quick and friendly. We made our way to the pitch and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the pitch. The site was very clean, showers ample but a 20p charge for 6 mins, the shop was great and fully stocked with lots of choices. We were there for 3 nights and not much sleep was got, noisy parties all 3 nights and no chance of a lie in as kids up and down the road on scooters or bouncing balls at 7, 30am. W complained to reception and security did come down to speak to the people involved but as soon as they went the music was turned back up and shouting and singing continued. Will not be returning even though the site was lovely.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jayntaf 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site with views all around whichever way you turn, we had lovely views of the water to the front and behind the fells (which were slightly snow capped.

The hard standing pitches are the most level as these are on lower level, the site is sloping which to me is where most of the tent pitches are, there is a field across the road where tents are but i'm not really sure if this belongs to the same people or not. Please check first. The grass is well kept as is the site.

You can walk to pooley bridge along the waters edge but not really for wheelchairs though.

The toilets were kept very clean.

There is a restaurant and take away, the food is great value, and they have a nice clubroom too.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019