Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darthtrainer 5 reviews from this member

I am a recent convert to camping but love it so I thought I would share my experience of Park Foot with you. We booked for two nights over Easter 2009 (Friday and Saturday) and found it to be really expensive, £25 per night for 2 +car. I admit they have good facilities but they are jammed with kids of all types, infer from that what you will.
Essentially the main park facilities are a no go if you donít like kid's. The field we stopped in near the lake was nice but busy, the other campers were nice but there were a significant proportion of late night rocker types who didnít care about anyone but themselves, this did spoil it slightly but the -2c temp calmed them down nicely by 2am :-)
Showers and other facilities were clean and overall I enjoyed my stop. The site management didnít bother anyone, which meant open fires were everywhere and my tent needs some minor repairs but thatís camping for you. I would recommend overall but boo to the price!

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukcopper1top 4 reviews from this member

Great site, views were brilliant. Very clean great time had by all will be back. As it was early in the year it was very quiet but still lots to do children would love it.
Shop on site had everything we needed. Clubhouse meal was lovely and staff brilliant throughout the site. Toilets were always clean and there are loads of them.B
it hilly but then it is the lakes. Pooley Bridge is a lovely place to ramble around and you can get on ferry / boat there

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dougal1999 3 reviews from this member

This is the first time that we have taken the caravan out, so we had a lot to learn. Thankfully, there were lots of people around to help, and even helped to put up the awning. So a very friendly site.

The site itself was good. The shop had everything in from tent pegs to sleeping bags. At reasonable prices. There are shops in a Pooley Bridge - 20 min walk. It has some nice places to eat.

Its a clean site, with lots to do for the kids - pony treking, tennis court and play area. There is a pool in Penrith. If you want a site with everything on - goto Haven. The play areas were good and kept our kids entertained (3, 7 and 13 years).

The food and club house were nice. Prices as expected. There is a small area for kids. I can imagine that in the middle of summer it will be quite busy.

The showers were clean and a lot of them. Didn't seem to be any heating on, but it wasn't really cold in there. 20p for 6 min shower. Perhaps a bit expensive, but I managed a good shower for me and my 3 year old on 20p - including time for her to have a little play.

The only bad thing that we found. The club house restaurant was shut on a Tuesday - 20 mins walk in to the village. Nice walk though.

More expensive than other sites, but worth the money. We will be back there in the summer.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Only1duk 1 review from this member

Not the best weather for my first camping experience but it was a brilliant one none the less.

This was the perfect time of year to come to this site it seems, as there were hardly any guests and we had free reign over the facilities.

We chose to pitch up on a hill right next to the reception and clubhouse, since the lakeside site (aikbeck) was closed off.

We had decent views of the hills and mountains, and had quite a bit of choice as to where we could pitch up because of the lack of other campers.

The facilities were adequate, a large toilet and shower area, about a dozen cubicles (showers & toilets) and four sinks outside to wash up in.

I would imagine, considering the size of the site, these facilities would get really manic in the summer.

Also I thought it was a bit of a low blow having to pay for the shower, 20p for 6 mins and also the tumble drying machine was £2 a go, which was annoying. Both the showers and laundry room were very well kept, just a heads up to bring some change along with you!

The shop had everything you'd need in abundance, and very welcoming, friendly staff who were happy to help us out.

The site itself was located near a small row of shops, close to some amazing places (like the Airia Force Waterfalls, the Redhills, and the Kirkstone Pass) and country roads with some amazing views which provide a pleasurable driving experience.

One thing I'd say would be to stick to the well known brand batteries, as there were some dodgy ones in the shop!

Other than that Park Foot was a very pleasurable experience which I will definitely be visiting again!

10/10 for this time of year!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildhorse5678 4 reviews from this member

Booked for my first camping trip in 30 years. And first time ever to Lake District. Amazingly the weather was brilliant. I had a great pitch - most of the field to myself for a lot of the time. Lovely village with 3 pubs. Busy shop with lots of choice of supplies and basic grub. Site had lots of families and screaming kids - so I avoided the 'Club House' and cycled to the Pub. Plently toilets and showers- but had to PAY 20p. Bit of a rip-off I thought when it cost £25 a night to stay. Very expensive I thought - but understand all the Lake District is a one big rip-off joint unfortunantely. A month later I stayed near Windermere - and actually prefered Park Foot. So if I go back again I will probably go back here despite the very high cost.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Woofs 6 reviews from this member

This is a superb site! We've been a couple of times now and particularly enjoyed our stay in November. The facilities are spotless and plentiful, the views are stunning and there is a great walking route around the lake (not far to walk to the village) - perfect for your little (and big) explorers. The reception was very friendly and there are excellent play areas on site with a small stream for added playtime fun. I want to be selfish and keep this one a secret. We can't wait to go again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cookie24 2 reviews from this member

What a great site this was! Myself, wife and 3 year old boy stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. Weather was awful but that didn't stop the fun, my son played in the stream that we had pitched next to near the entrance and even made me buy a pair of wellies so that I could help him build dams and then knock them down.
The pitch itself was spacious and can get quite muddy in the rain. The noise levels were minimal after 10pm even though some kids were still playing. The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The facilities were spotless (even with the amount of mud that was carried through) every time we used them which is often with a 3 year old, and the showers were warm but not too hot and 20p for 6 mins is worth it, I have been on sites where you pay 60p for 5 mins of cold or luke warm water.
The club house was great and my son loved the children's disco. The take away was no more expensive than my local and the food was good. I have read some reviews about the birds making noise but I think that's part of the camping experience and they were not too bad. Great walks along the lake and a short walk to the ferry. I would definitely stay again and recommend this site to anyone.

Value for money - 8/10, Cleanliness - 9/10 Quality of pitch - 7/10, Overall - 8/10.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tranced 4 reviews from this member

We stayed with you from 23 August 2008 for 10 days and we had the most excellent stay!

Your campsite has everything and more to offer than any other campsite we have been to in our 7 years of camping.

You have an excellently run campsite, from the moment we checked in to very friendly and efficient Receptionists, we found that this continued throughout with the bar staff and restaurant workers.

The campsite is huge with so much to explore. It is so family friendly. Me and my wife stayed with our toddler and baby and the facilities and entertainment was amazing for them. There are ample showers and toilet facilities that were very clean. The security was unlike where we have been before with regular checks on our tents regarding safety and the length of the stays, so nobody could get away with sneaking a free extra night!

The Clubhouse is excellent! They serve alcohol all day from 11am (or was it noon?) until pub closing times. The food is exceptionally supreme. That has to be stressed, it really is top quality food at a very reasonable price. The nearby village of Pooley Bridge is the best village you will probably ever visit in terms of the amount there is available to do. 3 brilliant pubs all child friendly and serving food, but not near as good as the campsite. The Crown Pub we found that the food was very poor but has the best beer garden you will ever see! The Pooley Bridge Inn has good food and like the Crown excellent service. The Sun Jennings Pub has the best food in the village, top class, try the Chilli Con Carne, amazing. Again very friendly staff.

You also have the nearby town of Penrith, bustling with everything you could need with the best leisure complex with swimming pool in the world!

We will be coming back again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dingus 3 reviews from this member

Good site, facilities are good, disappointed having to pay 20p for a shower. Could do with more ehu for tents. Sshop stocks a lot of items, costs are reasonable for a campsite. The take away food kitchen offers good value. Never tried the bar meals on site. The site gets busy at weekends but for a camp this size the noise at night is kept down to a minimum. Overall would book here again .

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peckitt99 2 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights in the field nearest the lake (We being a Couple).

At first impressions were great as it was right by the lake and was quiet (12pm). However as the day went on more people arrived with out of control children and also dogs! Despite the rule of dogs being on leads this was not obeyed to. Not to seem anti-dog friendly as we have dogs ourselves but the owners did not seem to care about their dogs running wild invading other peoples tents!

As most people have commented on the crows we shall further mention that these people are not joking when they wake you up throughout the night!

Another pest was the amount of mosquitos, flies and wasps which seemed to be attracted to the place. Make sure you take citronella candles, insect repellent and killer spray! Also try to keep inner tents closed as much as possible so they dont sneak in.

Facilities on this field were of an excellent standard and much better than we expected. Showers and toilets were busiest at night time especially due to the amount of parents trying to shower their kids and hogging the facilities. So be prepared when you open a slightly open toilet as you may bump into a child using it. Showers 20p for 6 minutes which despite other reviews saying this is a bit out of order due to the money you are already paying to stay at this site, we found this quite cheap compared other sites where we have paid 50p for 3 minutes.

Facilities on the main site were also of an excellent standard. Of the ones we used:

Restaurant/Takeaway - good meals although expensive for what you get

Shop - provides all your needs and essentials although again some things can be overpriced

Reception - friendly, plenty of staff and very helpful

The surrounding area of Pooley Village did not contain as much as we expected with only a few shops and pubs. But did again provide the basic needs and essentials.

Overall this site is mainly for families with dogs rather than couples as well. However we did like the site and enjoyed a pleasant stay despite our criticism.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019