Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jesteroo 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping experience and despite setting up in the rain we really enjoyed this campsite.We were 2 families and had a gazebo in between the two, the site was plenty big enough to allow this.

There are many places to set up but we were shown to the 'Field with a view'. It was away from the clubhouse, shop and shower block but with 4 children between us felt this was fine as a trip to the showers was a walk away and an adventure for them too! (plus we were a bit more spaced out in the field so weren't disturbed by others)

The pitches nearer to the lake and around the clubhouse appeared cramped but it was a Bank Holiday weekend and the friends we went with had been before and said it was much busier than usual.

I didn't like the look of the electric hook up pitches on the 'gravel' and some were very close to the children's play areas and clubhouse.

There are 2 play areas, one for younger children which was fine for ours, the other for older children but was full of roudy teenagers when we went, it seemed the place to be whilst parents were in the clubhouse!

The shop sold everything you could imagine, we got milk, bread etc plus bits we needed for camping including extra tent pegs, they also have freezer blocks for a small fee.

The showers (run on a 20p coin for 6 minutes) were always hot, usually no queue and clean enough, maybe could be a bit cleaner and more space to put clothes once in the cubicle.

There were no hairdryers but plenty of plugs, mirrors and a hand drier which my young daughter dried her hair under!

This is a huge site with statics and log cabins too, the on site pony treking appealed but at 24 and hour for the kids seemed very expensive!

We used the pizza takeaway once, not cheap but very hot and nice.

The bar was expensive but only went once when we arrived, the nearest supermarket a short car ride away was fine for our food and alcohol needs!

Our one field only had 2 toilets for ladies and same for me but even when the field was full they were never too busy, clean and tidy. There are plenty of drinking water taps dotted around. The field we stayed in was on a hill (hence with a view!) but we found a flat pitch and were glad to be away from the main action as it was quite noisy, again, it was a Bank Holiday and very warm so lots of BBQs and music!

Pooley Bridge is lovely and a short walk away, a lovely river for the kids to paddle in and catch the small fish.You can also get the Ullswater Steamer from there, the highlight of our visit!

We were only a short walk from the lakeside where the pitches were flat but some of the site is quite hilly, especially around the shop and static caravans.

There are pot washing facilities which always seemed clean, a washing machine and iron etc all based again, around the clubhouse, a walk away from the field we were in but this was not a problem to us.

All in all a good site, good for children and we would go again.

Overall, we found it a good first start, no problems on site and would recommend it to anyone with children

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sticks11 5 reviews from this member

Myself, wife and 3 year old daughter arrived on Bank Holiday Monday, (31st May) to pitch as bank holiday-ers left!

We got lucky and had a fantastic pitch right at the bottom of the main field with views through the trees to the lake.

Had read about 'noisy' reviews but we had a terrific experience at Park Foot. We clearly had one of the quieter pitches but could not complain about any aspect of the site.

Toilet facilities ample and clean, showers (although 20p) very spacious and always available. My wife thought they were a long way away, but that was only because we pitched well away from reception area due to reading reviews about noise near main facilities!

Amazed at reasonable prices in both the bar and the shop. Our daughter loved the youngsters playground. We also loved the walk to Pooley Bridge where we found good beer, food and playgrounds for the little'un. Terrific access onto fells to the East of Ullswater too.

Electric pitches looked to be right by the noisy bit and also noticed the 'hard' surface, so I was pleased to be on main field without electric. Big drainage work has obviously been carried out, leaving channels through field, but they were worth it as it rained a lot the day after we arrived and it didn't even dampen the ground underfoot.

I would certainly re-visit with my family but would endeavour to pitch in the same 'quiet' area of the site. The field by the lake certainly seemed rowdier! Maybe not a site for people searching for tranquillity or a 'back to nature' experience, but excellent value for families.

One final note: we had a flat tyre when departing and the staff couldn't do enough for us. They re-filled it for us using their tractor equipment and told us where to find the garage in Penrith!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandkim 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights - Thursday June 10th and Friday June 11th. We used an electric hook-up and have a pricey Cabanon tent still under warranty - the significance of this will become apparent later.

Shop OK. Toilets OK but very long walk to get there. Staff OK and site fairly clean but extremely noisy. Some clientele were a problem with vehicles designed to emit maximum noise. There was also a horrendous dogfight.

However, in one respect this site is quite bizarre. The tent sites with electric hook-up requires that tents are pitched on quite sharp gravel. This does not apply to sites without electric (which gives the lie to the alleged reason for pitching on gravel) It is clear that these 'tent' pitches were originally intended for caravans although the staff insisted it was an anti-mud system. Maybe it did inhibit mud during rain but it would was also 100% guaranteed to invalidate the Cabanon tent warranty since damage to the zip-in groundsheet was certain.

We declined to put our tent on this 'camping gravel' (yes that's what they called it) and put our tent on the grass instead. The staff accepted this OK - maybe they were just following orders. However, other site users accepted this astonishing arrangement. Walking within there tents in bare feet would have been rather uncomfortable and many would damage their groundsheets. A geordie couple with two little children confirmed our our concerns - they had complied with the requirement and had slight damage to their tent (but it was not an expensive tent)

Because of the 'camping gravel' this site failed our KUMBAK test - we would not return to it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michele34 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from spending 2 nights at park, nice site. So many places to choose from to pitch tent. Kids loved the stream going all the way through the park.

Shop was good not overpriced. Lots of toilets a bit far to walk but they were very clean. I would recommend this site for familys, club house prices were 2.90 for pint of fosters and 3.20 for a bottle of blue wkd. Not to bad. There is a takeaway which sells frozen chips, pizza and burgers.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Niki0000 3 reviews from this member

Me and my family including husband, 2 yr old and 11 yr old just come back from long weekend at park foot and really enjoyed it, apart from one from thing, the crows, if you have elec hook up then expect the sound of screeching crows as soon as sun light appears and they don't give up, if you have young ones avoid this area.

Apart from that its a very nice place.

The lake is beautiful and do recommend a trip out on lake.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petenjoan 1 review from this member

We Have been to this site many times and cannot fault it, it is clean well maintained and the staff are polite friendly and always helpful and go out there way for you. But if its Silence your looking for like us, don't go on a bank holiday weekend and I've read a few say how expensive it is, ie 20p for a shower it was that price four years ago

We were there 24th may to 28 may and escaped as the bank holiday lot were arriving and to be honest it was the cheapest weeks holiday accommodation we have ever had, as we don't have a car and not being a bank holiday it only cost 16 a night (mid season price)

There was only 6 tents in the main field beside the main entrance to the site, we even had ducks and rabbits coming up to the tent, that's how peaceful the site was. We went into the Clubhouse on two nights and there was about 12 people in loved it. Prices in clubhouse are cheaper than most pubs and not a bad pint either

But the takeaway is ok only if you like cardboard pizza and cooked frozen chips and you pay over the top,

Shop is well stocked and it is cheaper than the shops in pooley bridge

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris101 2 reviews from this member

Booked for 2 nights at the end of June. Not the cheapest of pitch prices, but at least you can book and reserve a pitch in advance, unlike some National Trust sites in this area.

Pretty good views of the lake, however it gets very busy, and many of our fellow campers were the sort of people who like to have the car radio blasting out all day, and into the evening. Also some campers seemed to think it ok to let their dog 'relieve themself' in the middle of one of the camping fields, between the tents, the owner did not clean up the mess.

On the 2nd day we returned to our tent to find some idiot had pitched their tent right up against our tent entrance, ignoring the 3m (or is it 6m?) minimum distance between tents. Lots of pretty rough people who don't like peace and quiet and are happy to chuck their litter anywhere other than a bin.

The site has 2 play areas for the children, which were ok but full of litter. Showers are good, wash facilities good, main toilet block good, but avoid the portable cabin toilets in the overspill field, where the electric comes on and off at random, leaving you in the dark with no hot water.

Because of the noise, litter, dog mess and idiots I would not recommend this site to friends, but mainly because it seems to attract the 'wrong type' of camper. Other than that its in a nice location with a lake side walk to the nearest village & pub.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike meakin 3 reviews from this member

Arrived at the campsite on the sunday 30th of may bank holiday weekend.

All in all a very good campsite for families,

Our pitch was number 6 with electric right next to the 2 parks and shop which was ideal for my 2 children age 11 and 6 to play whilst keeping an eye on them. I initially found it too noisy and that is not me being a prude as i'm usually in a party which is asked to try and keep the noise down at night, but if you want a tranquil relaxing weekend do not go bank holiday. The noise was only from kids playing in the parks but if you want to a bit of quiet you would be better asking to park away from the shop club house and shops. The field next to the lake looked nice but did not have electric. After the bank holiday mayhem it quietened down a bit. Dont let me put you off unless unless you want peace and quiet because the site was really good. Ref plus and minus points below:

Good points

. Great location

. Good reasonable food in restaurant

. 10 mins walk to pooley bridge

. Parks great for kids

. Shops very reasonable not top price as per normal camp sites and well stocked.

. Good kids entertainment

. Good showers toilets and washinfg facilities

. Beers in club at reasonable price

. Parks great for kids.

. Great for kids to meet new friends.

. Family orientated campsite

. Take away food good and cheap

. Views looking towards Glenriding returning back to pooley bridge were breathtaking on the boat trip cost of 29 for 2 adults 2 children with 10% off voucher at park foot reception.

. Reception staff very helpful

.very clean well maintained site

Negative points

. Can very noisy if near the main facilities ie park shops club house

. One of the more expensive sights at 30 per night for electric tent pitch

. Do not serve alcohol in site shop

. Teenage kids can congregate till midnight near the bigger park/playground

. Expect to be woken before 7.30 if pitched near the park the lake

. Flys problem near tent pitches by the lake.

. Food not the best in the pooley bridge pubs.

. Electric pitches on the small side more room on non electric pitches. Pick your own non electric pitch anywhere pitches not marked.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Specialk22 1 review from this member

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children aged 2 and 7 years. It was very busy as expected so we were allocated to the overflow field which we actually preferred as it was quieter and more spacious.

Great location near to the lake district.

Liked the fact they had security guards walking round as you never know what might happen! Gives you a feeling of satefy.

I think this is a fantastic camp site with a reasonably priced shop and adequate facilities.

However my only criticism would be that there are 2 parks - one for over 8s and one for under 8s so naturally I took my 2 year old to the latter park but it was totally unsuitable for him with no baby swings & the climbing frame a hazard for his age.

Just a shame they didn't seem to cater for the younger ones. Especially as we paid 24.50 per night.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LOLA09 7 reviews from this member

We spent Bank holiday weekend here with a group of friends.

We were quite lucky to get the bottom field which meant we were able to pitch together and away from the busier main part of the site and the playground.

There was a great rope swing that the kids enjoyed playing on.

It was very busy which is what you get at this time of year but this meant we didn't use the pub / club house as it was packed out.

The shop was great and very reasonably priced.

The showers were clean but very busy with queues for over half an hour for showers. 6 minutes is more than adequate for shower.

Plenty of sockets for dryers etc.

The playgrounds were both very good and well used by our children.

There are a couple of good camping shops in Pooley Bridge and we visited the farmers market there on the Sunday.

We also had a meal in one of the few pubs there which was nice.

We saw the security a few times over the weekend and didn't feel that it was too noisy for the amount of people on site although this could be because of where we were pitched.

I do feel that it is very expensive at 28 a night for non electric and probably for that reason we won't return to this site.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019